• Did Buju Banto meet with gays? $$$$$$$

http://miamiherald.typepad.com/gayso...francisco.html

Controversial reggae singer Buju Banton meets with gay leaders during stop in San Francisco

BY STEVE ROTHAUS, srothaus@MiamiHerald.com
    Facing a string of canceled concerts and protests by angry gay activists, Jamaican reggae star Buju Banton met with several gay leaders during a tour stop Monday in San Francisco.
    "We didn't expect any concrete promises," California AIDS and gay-rights advocate Michael Petrelis says. "We thought all we were going to get was a meeting, which was a good start. [We got] a promise to keep some dialogue going."
    San Francisco Supervisor Bevan Dufty set up the 40-minute meeting with Banton, whose 1988 song Boom Bye Bye advocates shooting gays in the head and setting them on fire.
    "You don't make progress unless you talk to people," said Dufty, who is running for mayor.
    Dufty says Banton felt pressured to meet the group because three-fourths of his U.S. stops on this tour have been called off.
    "The reason why he met, it comes down to five letters: M-O-N-E-Y," says Petrelis, a nationally known blogger. "You have to make peace with your adversaries."
    Hours after Monday's meeting in San Francisco, about 15 gay activists protested outside a Banton concert.
    "That is just what we need. Dialogue and public pressure," Petrelis said.
    Banton is set to play Miami's city-owned James L. Knight Center on Oct. 31.
    "We're reaching out to the Buju Banton people," says gay activist Nadine Smith of Equality Florida. "We haven't called for a direct protest yet. We're hopeful the venue will cancel or we'll get to a place where we can celebrate progress."
    Caption: Front row, Michael Petrelis and Buju Banton. Back row, concert promoter Jonathan Mack, San Francisco Supervisor Bevan Dufty, Andrea Shorter, Supervisor Eric Mar, Rebecca Rolfe, Tracii McGregor. (Photo from The Petrelis Files blog used with permission of Michael Petrelis.)

75% of his tour stops cancelled? If that is true it must be a SERIOUS blow to the tour finances.

Originally posted by Time View Post
      http://miamiherald.typepad.com/gayso...francisco.html

Controversial reggae singer Buju Banton meets with gay leaders during stop in San Francisco

BY STEVE ROTHAUS, srothaus@MiamiHerald.com
      Facing a string of canceled concerts and protests by angry gay activists, Jamaican reggae star Buju Banton met with several gay leaders during a tour stop Monday in San Francisco.
      "We didn't expect any concrete promises," California AIDS and gay-rights advocate Michael Petrelis says. "We thought all we were going to get was a meeting, which was a good start. [We got] a promise to keep some dialogue going."
      San Francisco Supervisor Bevan Dufty set up the 40-minute meeting with Banton, whose 1988 song Boom Bye Bye advocates shooting gays in the head and setting them on fire.
      "You don't make progress unless you talk to people," said Dufty, who is running for mayor.
      Dufty says Banton felt pressured to meet the group because three-fourths of his U.S. stops on this tour have been called off.
      "The reason why he met, it comes down to five letters: M-O-N-E-Y," says Petrelis, a nationally known blogger. "You have to make peace with your adversaries."
      Hours after Monday's meeting in San Francisco, about 15 gay activists protested outside a Banton concert.
      "That is just what we need. Dialogue and public pressure," Petrelis said.
      Banton is set to play Miami's city-owned James L. Knight Center on Oct. 31.
      "We're reaching out to the Buju Banton people," says gay activist Nadine Smith of Equality Florida. "We haven't called for a direct protest yet. We're hopeful the venue will cancel or we'll get to a place where we can celebrate progress."
      Caption: Front row, Michael Petrelis and Buju Banton. Back row, concert promoter Jonathan Mack, San Francisco Supervisor Bevan Dufty, Andrea Shorter, Supervisor Eric Mar, Rebecca Rolfe, Tracii McGregor. (Photo from The Petrelis Files blog used with permission of Michael Petrelis.)

Buju meets with gays??...He doesn't look too happy.

On another note....Is the Rear Admiral in the picture??

Mek mi tek anedda look......

Buju on di road to Damascus..

Him name soon tun to Buji...

LOL !!

How di song go again?

Dem bow, dem bow, dem bow, dem bow!

When yuh si a pile of money pon di ground.. how yuh ah guh pick it up ?

Yuh nuh muss bow.

The sooner the hypocrisy ends the better..

From October 14 thru November 1, Buju had ten concerts lined up, and 50% of those shows have been canceled.

Bend your knees.

HahahahahaH.

Yuh a tek this thing too serious.

Would love to see his welcoming party at NMIA when he returns!

A wonder if him ago trim before or after him land back a JA cause him cant come back yahso and call himself ras.

lol !! Woiiiiiiee !

we have to grow past this. .who cares.

I think you ask too much of the average Jamaican male....

Originally posted by OJ View Post
                            we have to grow past this. .who cares.
                            Reggae Music is an important industry..lots of jobs and income depend on it.

Whoever doesn't care about the health of this industry is very myopic.

even more myopic would be your interpretation of OJ Statement...