Unsung Jamaican Reggae singers

• Unsung Jamaican Reggae singers

Historian, I always like your posts as you always take the time to make posts of some substance. Your two musical posts have inspired me to start a list of some our unsung reggae artiste who generally slip under the radar when our music is being discussed. Many of these artistes have only managed to produce one or two hits that became true gems in the annals of reggae music but never got the worldwide recognition that they deserve. Some of these gems showcased the range of our music; the melodies, and the songwriting abilities of these artistes. So here goes my limited knowledge. Please feel free to add your annecdotes and names to the list.

Jimmy Riley

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AsKGPaEvA2I&feature=fvw

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a6j9R...eature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nv5of...eature=related

Tyrone Taylor

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nv5of...eature=related

Cornell Campbell

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L3aFn...eature=related

Cocoa Tea

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ncKHJ...eature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5vX4K...eature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_I3Cu...eature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dqRQB...eature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k-7cf...eature=related

Everton Blender

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TfyvSM-6c14

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=avlXvb9sBXI&NR=1
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Re: Unsung Reggae Artistes

Historian, I always like your posts as you always take the time to make posts of some substance. Your two musical posts have inspired me to start a list of some our unsung reggae artiste who generally slip under the radar when our music is being discussed. Many of these artistes have only managed to produce one or two hits that became true gems in the annals of reggae music but never got the worldwide recognition that they deserve. Some of these gems showcased the range of our music; the melodies, and the songwriting abilities of these artistes. So here goes my limited knowledge. Please feel free to add your annecdotes and names to the list.
    This is actually a very good post you’ve made, Jangle, and I like the fact that you included YouTube links for us to enjoy. In my case, these guys are really “Unsung Reggae Artistes” in the truest sense, as they were good singers who today are hardly remembered (save for Coco Tea and, maybe, Jimmy Riley)!

But there are so many of these forgotten artists that litter the Jamaican musical landscape! How many fans and musicologists today, for example, remember first-class recording artists like:
    - The late Peter Scarlett (original lead singer with Fab Five Inc.);
    - The late John Jones (one of Jamaica’s greatest voices ever);
    - The late Vic Taylor (former lead singer with Byron Lee & the Dragonaires);
    - Junior Tucker (now a Christian);
    - The recording group Casual-T (four medical doctors);
    - Mallory Williams (son of bandleader Luther Williams and a first-class keyboardist);
    - Freddie McKay;
    and many more!!

Looking at your list, back in the 1980s, I must surely have been among the biggest Tyrone Taylor fans anywhere in the world!! The guy had a first class voice and he could really use it! “Cottage In Negril” and his remake of “Members Only” have to be among the all-time classic reggae love songs! It’s a pity that along the way he took the wrong turn and ended up specializing in the drinking of White Rum constantly for many years. When I read the news of his death a few years ago, I was devastated.

Coco Tea, like Half Pint, Beres Hammond and a few others, occupies what I see as a very interesting middle ground between being a mainstream reggae singer and a dancehall performer. But this man, who has no really “big” hits to his name, has to be among the most unsung of Jamaican recording stars. This is sad considering the fact that he’s spent some 30 or so years (I believe Coco Tea came to the fore in the early 1980s) in the industry with one obvious purpose, to make recordings with a positive message!

It’s interesting that you mention both Cornell Campbell and Jimmy Riley in the same post, as both were members of a 1960s performing group, the Sensations. Jimmy Riley has never achieved anything near the greatness that his son Tarrus has.

Also, thanks once again for your very kind words, Jangle .

Yeah John Jones was a wicked voice but I don't think he was too keen on recording.

I think Junior tucker first recorded Mr. Telephone Man which was later done by a now famous group New Edition. Junior Tucker recording days was short as he went on to work with people such as the R&B Singer Ray Parker. In Ja he was our Micheal Jackson. He later came back and did some good recording for his cousin Handel Tucker. Check out "Love of a Lifetime". he then became a christian and still doing some stuff.

Linval Thompson wasn't a bad singer.

Ruddy Thomas was a good singer as well but never really like the limelight.

Freddy Mckay could have been as big as any singer in Ja. He had a good voice, timing and delivery. Errol Dunkley was another young promising singer as well.

I will have to put a few more names but later.

Did Jimmy Riely had a hit called "My Misssion is Impossible" about 1974 or so? There was a wassy instrumental to this chune.

I understand that Grace Jones and Jo Jones were sisters, that been the case, there grandfaterh a Mr Williams was big bands man back in the time of Lord Fly( see colony club).

The Viceroys, I am sure this is not it - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PK9Fyi7Mmxw

Jangle - Much Thanks (Other Thread)!

Historian, I always like your posts as you always take the time to make posts of some substance. Your two musical posts have inspired me to start a list of some our unsung reggae artiste who generally slip under the radar when our music is being discussed.
            Jangle, thanks for taking the time to research and post the YouTube videos of the 1960s recordings I listed in my post yesterday (that is, the other thread on groups of the 1960s). I watched/listened to those YouTube videos between last night and this morning, and the memories those original songs brought back were very pleasant ones.

What I should have done in the first place is attach links for those YouTube videos when I posted the list, but thankfully you stepped in and did so, thus making my post an even more pleasant experience!

Thanks once again, my friend .

Looking Forward to Your List

Assasin, I share your views here on each of the six singers in your post (Jones, Tucker, Thompson, Thomas, McKay and Dunkley). Very relevant comments, boss!

By the way, I too got the impression that John Jones was not particularly into recording, and I’ve wondered in the past if this was because of the exploitation which was a feature of studio life until recent times. I also recall, as I type now, a Welsh singer who recorded with the group Father Richard HoLung & Friends. I cannot remember this guy’s name, but he had a very distinctive voice.

Someone should sit down one day and make a list of ALL the recording artists that Jamaica has produced before and after independence! I say this because as I thought about your very good post above, and thought about the fact that nobody even mentions the late, very talented singer John Jones anymore, a song popped into my mind. I’m referring here to the song “John Jones” by the singer Rudy Mills. I completely forgot to include Rudy Mills in the other thread yesterday, but this guy probably fits in here with Jangle’s list although I cannot remember whether or not Mills was really popular!

There are others from the 1960s, such as the tragic Slim Smith. Then there are the once promising guys of the 1990s who never made it, such as the talented singer Fahrenheit.

Sometime in the future we music lovers should rank our all-time favorite Jamaican singers. I can tell you that this would be a very difficult task !!

Yeah John Jones was a wicked voice but I don't think he was too keen on recording.

I think Junior tucker first recorded Mr. Telephone Man which was later done by a now famous group New Edition. Junior Tucker recording days was short as he went on to work with people such as the R&B Singer Ray Parker. In Ja he was our Micheal Jackson. He later came back and did some good recording for his cousin Handel Tucker. Check out "Love of a Lifetime". he then became a christian and still doing some stuff.

Linval Thompson wasn't a bad singer.

Ruddy Thomas was a good singer as well but never really like the limelight.

Freddy Mckay could have been as big as any singer in Ja. He had a good voice, timing and delivery. Errol Dunkley was another young promising singer as well.

I will have to put a few more names but later.

Rudy Mills (John Jones) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qc7DcAMyMkg

Slim Smith (If it don't work out) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aZirM...eature=related

Garnet Silk (It's growing) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ycIZ8ddCyRw

Dobby Dobson (Muriel) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Ip_p...eature=related

Derrick "Chariot" Harriott (What Can I do)http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JY-nBLJpeRU
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                  This is actually a very good post you’ve made, Jangle, and I like the fact that you included YouTube links for us to enjoy. In my case, these guys are really “Unsung Reggae Artistes” in the truest sense, as they were good singers who today are hardly remembered (save for Coco Tea and, maybe, Jimmy Riley)!

But there are so many of these forgotten artists that litter the Jamaican musical landscape! How many fans and musicologists today, for example, remember first-class recording artists like:
                  - The late Peter Scarlett (original lead singer with Fab Five Inc.);
                  - The late John Jones (one of Jamaica’s greatest voices ever);
                  - The late Vic Taylor (former lead singer with Byron Lee & the Dragonaires);
                  - Junior Tucker (now a Christian);
                  - The recording group Casual-T (four medical doctors);
                  - Mallory Williams (son of bandleader Luther Williams and a first-class keyboardist);
                  - Freddie McKay;
                  and many more!!

Looking at your list, back in the 1980s, I must surely have been among the biggest Tyrone Taylor fans anywhere in the world!! The guy had a first class voice and he could really use it! “Cottage In Negril” and his remake of “Members Only” have to be among the all-time classic reggae love songs! It’s a pity that along the way he took the wrong turn and ended up specializing in the drinking of White Rum constantly for many years. When I read the news of his death a few years ago, I was devastated.

Coco Tea, like Half Pint, Beres Hammond and a few others, occupies what I see as a very interesting middle ground between being a mainstream reggae singer and a dancehall performer. But this man, who has no really “big” hits to his name, has to be among the most unsung of Jamaican recording stars. This is sad considering the fact that he’s spent some 30 or so years (I believe Coco Tea came to the fore in the early 1980s) in the industry with one obvious purpose, to make recordings with a positive message!

It’s interesting that you mention both Cornell Campbell and Jimmy Riley in the same post, as both were members of a 1960s performing group, the Sensations. Jimmy Riley has never achieved anything near the greatness that his son Tarrus has.

Also, thanks once again for your very kind words, Jangle .
                  Historian am lerning so much from you .
                  Jamaica you mite get a Petroleum well with
                  United Oil by 1.31.26;You also has a NNPC option with the Abuja accord from 2022.What
                  happens then I don't know.A Petrol Well is
                  Probably forthcoming...