• Great Groups of the 1960s

MEMORY LANE: JAMAICAN GROUPS OF THE 1960S
    Compiled by Historian

The following is a list of outstanding Jamaican singing groups and bands of the 1960s that I compiled. I have also included one major hit from the period 1960 - 1969 by each group with the hope that this will stir your memory .

All input, including the names of groups left out, will be appreciated.

Byron Lee and the Dragonaires (“Jamaican Ska”)
    Carlos Malcolm and the Afro-Jamaican Rhythms (“Bonanza”)
    Derrick and Patsy (“Housewives’ Choice”)
    Desmond Dekker and the Aces (“Poor Me Israelite”)
    Jimmy James and the Vagabonds (“Come To Me Softly”)
    Justin Hinds and the Dominoes (“Carry Go Bring Come”)
    Keith and Enid (“Worried Over You”)
    Keith and Tex (“Don’t Look Back”)
    Larry and Alvin (“Nanny Goat”)
    Stranger and Patsy (“When You Call My Name”)

The Blues Busters (“Wide Awake In A Dream”)
    The Beltones (“No More Heartache”)
    The Cables (“Baby Why”)
    Carlton and His Shoes (“Love Me Forever”)
    The Clarendonians (“You Won’t See Me”)
    The Ethiopians (“Everything Crash”)
    The Federals (“Penny For Your Song”)
    The Folkes Brothers (“Oh Carolina”)
    The Gaylads (“ABC Rocksteady”)
    The Gaylettes (“Zippa De Do Da”)
    The Gladiators (“Hello Carol”)
    The Heptones (“Why Did You Leave”)
    The Hippy Boys (“Dr No Go”)
    The Jamaicans (“Things You Say You Love”)
    The Jiving Juniors (“Over The River”)
    The Kingstonians (“Winey Winey”)
    The Maytals (“Never You Change”)
    The Maytones (“Loving Reggae”)
    The Melodians (“Little Nut Tree”)
    The Paragons (“On The Beach”)
    The Pioneers (“Long Shot Kick The Bucket”)
    The Rhythm Aces
    The Skatalites (“Eastern Standard Time”)
    The Soulettes (“One More Chance”)
    The Sound Dimension (“More Scorcher”)
    The Techniques (“Queen Majesty”)
    The Tennors (“Ride Me Donkey”)
    The Uniques (“Watch This Sound”)
    The Wailers (“Simmer Down”)

Originally posted by Historian View Post
    MEMORY LANE: JAMAICAN GROUPS OF THE 1960S
    Compiled by Historian

I have always wanted to know who did that one.
    Jamaica you mite get a Petroleum well with
    United Oil by 1.31.26;You also has a NNPC option with the Abuja accord from 2022.What
    happens then I don't know.A Petrol Well is
    Probably forthcoming...

Quick comment , after watching the british documentary and the struggle of our music to be accepted by our own , its ironic that SKA has no place in this Air Jamaica Jazz blues festival .The artist in the documentary stated SKA was a bad word , a music for the poor, it couldnt be played uptown.Jazz was the accepted music, so here we are in 09 with this classism.

We should also note Don Drummond was a freelance Trombonist that was a member of the skatallites , alot of these hits that we hear it was his horns in the back ground,another genius Rico Rodriques was his apprentice at Alpha .

I make no apologies that when I hear his tunes I get lost in his madness.GENIUS !

The Genius had two top 10 in the U.K chart before his passing, one of the 1st SKA hits or should I say Jamaican hits in the U.K

In the Fall of 1965, Don Drummond's composition, "Man In The Street", enters the Top 10 in the UK. Trombonist Drummond is not only the Skatalites busiest composer, but the most prolific in all of Ska, with at least 200 tunes to his name by 1965. Later, in 1967, his adaptation of "The Guns of Navarone" netted Drummond another top 10 UK hit.

His peers and colleagues felt that Drummond was one of the top trombonists in the world.

3 classics by the genius , Don Drummond

1) Confucious
      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A2xZsd6dWmQ

2)Silver dollar

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IvQF-uInivw&feature=related

3)Police woman ...(Kids will love this).

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GjUG0jcQkpk

Of course you have many more but these are my favourites from the GENIUS ! Range , Tone and composition from a Trombonist is nothing but Genius

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Historian, when you make posts like these, I must say that I am one of, if not your biggest fan. As I am typing, I am listening and learning. These are music that I grew up on, and so far, my biggest revelation is to know that Jimmy James and the Vagabonds (“Come To Me Softly”), was a Jamaican group. I always thought that they were an American group. Thanks.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

One thing that comes at me -- is the sensible names these artists call themselves.

Little wonder that their music and songs transcend time it's listening appeal.

In contrast, the current (especially dance hall artist) refer to themselves using the most stupid names possible..........

Little wonder the latter music and songs have limited shelf-life... and won't become classics.

Re: Queen Majesty

Originally posted by wbvs View Post
            I have always wanted to know who did that one.
            “Queen Majesty” was a Curtis Mayfield composition which he originally recorded with the Impressions as “Minstrel and Queen.” The Techniques did the very popular rock steady version for the great producer, the perfectionist himself Mr. Duke Reid (lol). This recording by the Techniques is my favorite version of “Queen Majesty.”

The lead singer on the Techniques’ “Queen Majesty” is Pat Kelly, one of the most truly beautiful male voices that Jamaica has produced. I think Pat is trying to make a comeback today. Also, do you know that Lloyd Parkes was also a backup singer with this outstanding Jamaican group?

By the way, Wbvs, one of my favorite recordings of the entire 1960s is the beautiful “Things You Say You Love” by Tommy Cowan and his group the Jamaicans (the group that also won the second Festival Song competition in 1967 with “Ba Ba Boom”).

This list above of Great Jamaican Groups of the 1960s is by no means complete, as I belatedly realized that groups such as Tomorrow’s Children (a group which included both Ken Lazarus and Pluto Shervington), Zap Pow (a progressive reggae group that gave us hits such as “Mystic Moods” and which had Beres Hammond as its original lead singer), and others were left out.

Re: The Skatalites

Quick comment , after watching the british documentary and the struggle of our music to be accepted by our own , its ironic that SKA has no place in this Air Jamaica Jazz blues festival .The artist in the documentary stated SKA was a bad word , a music for the poor, it couldnt be played uptown.Jazz was the accepted music, so here we are in 09 with this classism.

We should also note Don Drummond was a freelance Trombonist that was a member of the skatallites , alot of these hits that we hear it was his horns in the back ground,another genius Rico Rodriques was his apprentice at Alpha .

I make no apologies that when I hear his tunes I get lost in his madness.GENIUS !
              X, great post!! I’ve read your comments before on the absence of Ska from the Air Jamaica music festival, and I fully agree with your sentiments. There can be no powerful rational explanation for such an absence from the festival, particularly when one considers the impact that Ska has had in Europe, and to some extent is still having.

Ska, despite the shortness of its existence as a force in Jamaica, made the world realize that Jamaica is a musical force, and to this day there are white Ska groups in parts of Europe! Also, our first major international hit was a Ska recording produced by Chris Blackwell. I’m referring here to, of course, Millie Small and her massive hit, “My Boy Lollipop.”

I also fully share your views on the genius of the eccentric Don Drummond.

There’s only one thing that I think you might be mistaken in, and it’s the statement that Ska “couldn’t be played uptown.” In fact, Byron Lee and the Dragonaires, Carlos Malcolm and the Afro-Jamaica Rhythms, and a few others were uptown bands that played Ska uptown to the elite of Jamaican society, particularly after independence.

By the way, the Skatalites lasted for less than two years as a group (1963-1965); in fact, a mere 18 months or so!! This is incredible when one considers the magnitude of the output from that aggregation of superstars. There are some observers and music fans who consider the Skatalites as the greatest group ever formed in Jamaica. Certainly when one looks at the individual abilities of those Alpha Boys School past students, one has to certainly take seriously this argument that the Skatalites were the greatest Jamaican band ever. Interestingly, during their short time as a group the Skatalites were seemingly never the most popular band in Jamaica.

It’s a pity that the group had so many inner conflicts. In another post soon, I’ll elaborate some more on Don Drummond, Tommy McCook and their great band, the Skatalites.

Re: Jimmy James and the Vagabonds

Historian, when you make posts like these, I must say that I am one of, if not your biggest fan. As I am typing, I am listening and learning. These are music that I grew up on, and so far, my biggest revelation is to know that Jimmy James and the Vagabonds (“Come To Me Softly”), was a Jamaican group. I always thought that they were an American group. Thanks.
                Thank you for your very, very kind comments, Jangle .

Jimmy James was born in Jamaica and started his recording career in Kingston. He along with the Vagabonds later migrated to England. My favorite recording by the group is “Come To Me Softly.”

Jimmy is a very important part of Jamaican musical history, but this probably has been overshadowed by the fact that his most important work was done while he lived in Europe.

I can easily understand why you mistook Jimmy James and the Vagabonds for an American group. Growing up, I too used to think that they were an American R&B group until one day while listening to either RJR or JBC, I learnt from the radio announcer that the group is Jamaican.

Like our jazz guitar genius Ernie Ranglin, Jimmy James is an old man today, but thankfully (like Ranglin) he’s still strong enough to perform on stage at venues in Europe.

a di way of the world HL. You hear the names of the current rappers and rockers?

It is a way of drawing attention to themselves. The question is after the hype can they stand up and be counted? Jay Z did, Beenie Man did and Maryln Mason too

Ah Ah Ah, Boss that was a two side hit, get a hold of "Bewildered" on the flip.

For the younger folks like myself, I will go one step further to enhance this informative post by Historian and attach a Youtube link to bring these group and their music to life.

Byron Lee and the Dragonaires (“Jamaican Ska”)
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XhLjOgUXut8

Carlos Malcolm and the Afro-Jamaican Rhythms (“Bonanza”)
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_pEvAtKyhRg

Derrick and Patsy (“Housewives’ Choice”)
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZXYIzGnserI

Desmond Dekker and the Aces (“Poor Me Israelite”)
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r5JHGi0awgc&NR=1
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1e2aR...eature=related

Jimmy James and the Vagabonds (“Come To Me Softly”)
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9dKxv...eature=related

Justin Hinds and the Dominoes (“Carry Go Bring Come”)
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qqn-BJc1I2c&feature=fvw

Keith and Enid (“Worried Over You”)
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lXTOV1aQZNk

Keith and Tex (“Don’t Look Back”)
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6_gsfhIj5Tg

Larry and Alvin (“Nanny Goat”)
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u4Vhl-YRlM8

Stranger and Patsy (“When You Call My Name”)
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0walg...om=PL&index=49

The Blues Busters (“Wide Awake In A Dream”)
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rhozK...om=PL&index=80

The Beltones (“No More Heartache”)
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=br4cp1-HeB0

The Cables (“Baby Why”)
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Eg0WAq0O04E

Carlton and His Shoes (“Love Me Forever”)
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dv1st-2_7-0

The Clarendonians (“You Won’t See Me”)
                      I couldn't find the above, here's another oldies but goodies from the Clarendonians
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GByGwRUxKoQ

The Ethiopians (“Everything Crash”)
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EPrVK...eature=related

The Federals (“Penny For Your Song”)
                      I couldn't find the above but here's another version by Scotty
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=86ilg5uqyFc

The Folkes Brothers (“Oh Carolina”)
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b81f9lkadss

The Gaylads (“ABC Rocksteady”)
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wd3OCpshjq4
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yknim...eature=related
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TRKL2...eature=related
                      I had to throw in two more

The Gaylettes (“Zippa De Do Da”)
                      No luck on the above but enjoy this one
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OVdp4VKyGG4

The Gladiators (“Hello Carol”)
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_dehBJJCNcw
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uvA8G...eature=related

The Heptones (“Why Did You Leave”)
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f2pFId9x79g

The Hippy Boys (“Dr No Go”)
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=unI-df26LgA

The Jamaicans (“Things You Say You Love”)
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7_e87KJLouA

The Jiving Juniors (“Over The River”)
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cISWEJheoqc

The Kingstonians (“Winey Winey”)
                      I couldn't find the above but this is the next best.
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dQHIl...eature=related

The Maytals (“Never You Change”)
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pNY8giKCv_A
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aXML5...eature=related

The Maytones (“Loving Reggae”)
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5NJUSyU5M1c

The Melodians (“Little Nut Tree”)
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9MuMOZKMyxg

The Paragons (“On The Beach”)
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CJ4kmpy3r6Q
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WwoRM...eature=related

The Pioneers (“Long Shot Kick The Bucket”)
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nyeG5Vp5j00

The Rhythm Aces
                      Nada/nothing

The Skatalites (“Eastern Standard Time”)
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fV2pE...eature=related

The Soulettes (“One More Chance”)
                      I couldn't find the above but....
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hVuZq...eature=related
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yIhZz...eature=related

The Sound Dimension (“More Scorcher”)
                      nothing on the above but I found this
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eKBdNos51vQ
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-oK9P...om=PL&index=55

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pDmQ8HtIUq0

The Tennors (“Ride Me Donkey”)
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kAukugCiEwo

The Uniques (“Watch This Sound”)
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m2tntsjiqc0

The Wailers (“Simmer Down”)
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qHYe_ULBLHk
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mOrLM...eature=related
                      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Re: "Bewildered"

Originally posted by TDowl View Post
                        Ah Ah Ah, Boss that was a two side hit, get a hold of "Bewildered" on the flip.
                        TDowl, I was wondering when I would be getting an input from you, boss (lol)!! You are a greater historian of Jamaican music than most posters here probably recognize, and so I was hoping all along that you would add your voice to this thread .

I cannot recall the song “Bewildered,” but I’ve been often amused at the errors of judgement made by many producers whenever I used to come across these two-sided hits. I will try my best to hear this song, starting with an online search.

Aaah historian as a student of our music the documentary did point out that post independence it was accepted everywhere.I believe it was Ranglin himself that said so among others.

Did you see the documentary I posted , beautifull piece .

Another point that you missed , SKA is not only big in europe but S.America esp in Argentinia and Japan, the blindness of Jamaica not recognising that tourist market using SKA as an instrument says alot about our so called tourism promo, its lacking.

They have a group in Argentinia called dancing mood , that plays SKA and JAZZ to sold out crowds.

Ridiculous ! Why we cannot have a SKA/JAZZ BLUES FESTIVAL ?
                          Last edited by Sir X; October 10, 2009, 04:53 PM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Tunnnneeeeeeee !!!!!

The skatallites were the main backing band behind the wailers and the paragons.

Simmer Down is claimed by the skatallites as thier own.