Obama wins 2009 Nobel Peace Prize

• Obama wins 2009 Nobel Peace Prize

a wonder if di pessimist dem ago attack him like how him attack Bolt?

Obama Wins Nobel Peace Prize

Associated Press

President Barack Obama won the 2009 Nobel Peace Prize on Friday for "his extraordinary efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and cooperation between peoples," the Norwegian Nobel Committee said, citing his outreach to the Muslim world and attempts to curb nuclear proliferation.

View Full Image

AFP/Getty Images

More
    Nobel statement on Obama
    Iain Martin: Obama Wins. For What?
    Journal Topics: Obama
    Earlier This Week
    Literature: Herta Müller Wins for Tales of Tyranny
    Chemistry: Three Win for Ribosome Studies
    Physics: 'Masters of Light' Get Nobel
    Medicine: U.S. Biologists Win Nobel

The stunning choice made President Obama the third sitting U.S. president to win the Nobel Peace Prize and shocked Nobel observers because Obama took office less than two weeks before the Feb. 1 nomination deadline. President Obama's name had been mentioned in speculation before the award but many Nobel watchers believed it was too early to award the president.

"Only very rarely has a person to the same extent as Obama captured the world's attention and given its people hope for a better future," the committee said. "His diplomacy is founded in the concept that those who are to lead the world must do so on the basis of values and attitudes that are shared by the majority of the world's population."

The committee said it attached special importance to President Obama's vision of, and work for, a world without nuclear weapons.

"Obama has as president created a new climate in international politics. Multilateral diplomacy has regained a central position, with emphasis on the role that the United Nations and other international institutions can play," the committee said.

Theodore Roosevelt won the award in 1906 and Woodrow Wilson won in 1919. Former President Jimmy Carter won the award in 2002, while former Vice President Al Gore shared the 2007 prize with the U.N. panel on climate change.
    Recent Winners

2009 -- U.S. President Barack Obama for efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and cooperation.

2008 -- Former Finnish President Martti Ahtisaari for peace work from Namibia to Kosovo.

2007 -- Former U.S. Vice President Al Gore and the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change.

2006 -- Muhammad Yunus and Bangladesh's Grameen Bank for work to end poverty.

2005 -- The International Atomic Energy Agency and its head, Mohamed ElBaradei.

The Nobel committee received a record 205 nominations for this year's prize.

In his 1895 will, Alfred Nobel stipulated that the peace prize should go "to the person who shall have done the most or the best work for fraternity between the nations and the abolition or reduction of standing armies and the formation and spreading of peace congresses."

Unlike the other Nobel Prizes, which are awarded by Swedish institutions, he said the peace prize should be given out by a five-member committee elected by the Norwegian Parliament. Sweden and Norway were united under the same crown at the time of Nobel's death.

The committee has taken a wide interpretation of Nobel's guidelines, expanding the prize beyond peace mediation to include efforts to combat poverty, disease and climate change.

Copyright © 2009 Associated Press
    Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
    Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

anyway, no roadblocks round ere!

This is interesting, the 9 months of his efforts are great enough to receive such a prestigious award.

i think they have watered it down. Dem tek a cue from Bruce and Bolt's premature awards.

di otha membahs of u're cabal soon join yo choir.

that said, i agree about it being watered down, afterall Kissinger also won the award. Those damn Norwegean socialist!
          Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
          Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

Joke business.

Well wasn't Bush nominated for one?
              Maybe by just wining the election from the neo cons make him qualify.

You k now that the Nominations for the Award closed on February 1, two weeks after Obama took office?

What would he have done ion two weeks to earn this prestigious award, genius?

The release said he got it for his stated intent for world peace, do you know what stated intent means...I have a stated intent to have wild monkey sex with Serena and her sister...how closer to it am I?

Actually he won the award after just two weeks in office...the nominations closed on February 1, when did he get sworn in again?

You k now that the Nominations for the Award closed on February 1, two weeks after Obama took office?

What would he have done ion two weeks to earn this prestigious award, genius?

The release said he got it for his stated intent for world peace, do you know what stated intent means...I have a stated intent to have wild monkey sex with Serena and her sister...how closer to it am I?
                    wild monkey sex?? what's that pray tell??

Can you win the Nobel Prize for biology for that?

LoL

At least dem caan seh that Bolt never accomplished something first!

yuh nuh. LOL

Them couldn't find another tree lady?