Hypocritical PNP vs 'fraidy-fraidy' JLP gov't

Originally posted by wbvs View Post
    The JLP are doing it , they have allocated funds to fight crime + getting help from europe in criminology , and are back with the IMF (cheaper loans ) ...things will improve , those 2 things give us hopes .
    Naive...very naive.

Musical Chairs ??

If you were paying attention to history.. the PNP has occupied the chair for 6 Terms since 1972..

Is only a likkle snap election save Eddie mek him buy some time to stabilize tings.. oddah dan dat.. is what Musical chairs yuh talking bout ??

LOL !
      Your type of flunky partisan thinking is part of the problem...not the solution.

Seaga's approach is NOT the answer for Jamaica either.....perhaps it may be the answer for you & yours....but Jamaica firmly rejected that.

A new paradigm is required....nothing less. The old one is dead and should be buried.

Mark doesn't see himself as providing the answers and nothing is wrong with that. He know he is not capable, our leaders should be.
        I see. Apparantly you know him better than I do.

However ANSWERS are what Jamaica needs...not bellyaching.

The Idolatry of Bruce

Calm down Jawge.. everyting chris..

Bruce ride out di 'Great Depression 2'.. putting di house in ordah.. win another term maybe 2 and JA will be on a track of REAL recovery..

Meantime what you might want to do is focus on fixing up di PNP suh dat when dem claim back dem country dem will have some iota of a clue of how to run it...

Manley came and half-buried us... PJ came and 3/4 Bury us.. hopefully the country does not need anymore lessons about the PNP and wi can have bout 10 years of uninterrupted development.. wi really need 20 but mek wi keep wi fingah cross dat yuh will shape up yuh party...

Mi si Bruce mek a mastah stroke and give Omar dem likkle say-so inna di committee dem.. mek dem indict demselves and talk di talk dat dem couldn talk inna power.. but mi tink Omar going overboard now.. talk to him fi mi...

Past time that you grow up Rear Admiral.
          Last edited by Don1; October 8, 2009, 04:19 PM.

cold war freeze, and economic recession will do that to you

Jawge;192609]I’m tired of the lies about JA and its politics. The truth is that we are the ones that destroyed Ja and its
              Future. How? Well because of our selfishness and adhering to a system of slavery. Prior to 1972 (mark will not say this) Majority of Jakans were illiterate, uneducated and without opportunities. I can tell you this: In Mobay (60s on down) majority of blacks did not own a home (no access to banks and mortage) in the town , they had to rent or work then go back to the hills.
              Very true.

Joshua came and made some revolutionary changes: Adult education, free education for secondary and tertiary institutes, free health care, soft loans for small business, housing trust, Training programmes, cooperatives for farmers and fishermen and a host of other social services.

More truth.

What went wrong was this: We did not have to run with the local currency (hence depleting the reserves) buth those who thought they were privileged could not stand to see the majority getting a piece of the pie (PLAIN GOD TRUTH). They ran (with the local money; which was equal to the US dollar at the time) under the guise that communism was coming to JA . We did not have to put guns in the hands of the poor and illiterate (which we cannot remove to this day). The ballot would have taken care of Joshua with his leftist flirtations (as was proven by the election in 1980).

Here you mix truth with naivete.

Yes backward elements led by the JLP, CIA/US Govt. and the Jamaican elites conspired to destabilize Manley and thereby the ccountry...

BUT

It is the job of the leader to create prosperity & security...in the context of the conditions of the country.
              Manley...knowing that his policies had these powerful forces arrayed against him, should have curbed his ambitions and adopted a more moderate approach with MUCH LESS COUNTERPRODUCTIVE SOCIALIST RHETORIC.
              Instead he continued the divisive approach...as if the PNP and its supporters were the only game in town.

Stupid, destructive and naive adventurism. Who is to blame but Manley?

A few like to speak of Singapore and Lee kwan hu or Lu (whatever) Ja with Joshua (who was ahead of his time) was on the same path. What screwed Ja was Joshua’s meddling into regional politics; which drew the wrath of the US (to the delight of those angered by the new opportunities for the populace), hence our failure to be a productive nation.At least Lee Kwan didn’t offer gambling, art and craft as a way forward. Mark should speak of how many of us that ran away when Joshua sent them to school abroad so that they could return and help Ja. Talk about them because today Ja can produce very little in today’s market. The IMF rep on the documentary “Life and debt” summed it nicely: JA is a small nation that doesn’t Produce much goods and services.

If I didn’t migrate to the US, I would think that shipping drugs abroad and reaping the material rewards is the way to go. Why? Well all around me the “reputable” people were doing it. What we have is that we are now mired in crime of all sorts because we were lazy. Joshua said one of his biggest mistake was to attend “Buckie marshall’s “ funeral. Yes we promote the underworld activity and now we gasp at it. JA is now one or two notches above Afghanistan (a fourteenth century society, where feudal lords control various regions with little regard for central govt.)

I didn’t know that I would live to see the day when the JLP campaign on the same issues that the PNP campaigned on in 72 (time for a change, free education , free healthcare) and the present PNP looking almost befuddled and acting as the JLP back then. What are we living in, a time warp? It only goes to show that we lack understanding of our history and our society is undereducated.

When will we say enough? When will we stop promoting lawlessness, gunman and badness? (seen mark praising a garrison and its armed thugs about their discipline). When will we promote education, when will we promote hard work, when will we laud the young boy for his science experiment in all media? When will we move to loosen the ties that prevent the populace from making any headways in our core industries? Time is running out for JA in this new info age. High time we stop the blame game because there is enough to go around for all Jamaicans.
              A return to sense.

The biggest issue for Jamaica is to cease the silly blame game as you say but then to rapidly chart a new way forward. This has been my mantra for years....while the backward like to speak of their fovourite tribe.

Neither party has what it takes individually to transform Jamaica. They both need to fess up to this obvious reality.

If Seaga was the most efficient...he was the most efficient from a very poor lot...and he was not on a transformative path.
              Which is why he was kicked out....so another Seaga is not the answer.

A New Leadership Model is required for Jamaica to progress.

Unfortunately JLP & PNP politicians are still too stupid to build that.
              Last edited by Don1; October 8, 2009, 04:46 PM.

You don't need 1 million people providing answers. We need more people to work hard. I certainly don't don't know him.

People are paid to provide the answers and if they can't then fire them. Mark is not obligated to provide answers but to assess the solution provided.

You don't need 1 million people providing answers. We need more people to work hard. I certainly don't don't know him.

People are paid to provide the answers and if they can't then fire them. Mark is not obligated to provide answers but to assess the solution provided.
                  No one is speaking of an obligation.

You may be satisfied with a guy merely bellyaching... ah you dat.

For me to take someone as a serious analyst...merely describing a situation is insufficient.... I like to focus on solutions.

Ah mi dat.

A

Not everybody have a solution but everybody can feel that thing not right.

It is wise if some people just buy into a solution more than try to do what they can't. Too many times I have seen these journalist try to put forward solution that doesn't make a sense.

They need to keep the pressure on and make the leaders know we are asking them to lead and perform as we expect. After all when they were looking our votes they had all the answers.

here lies the paradox:

"A New Leadership Model is required for Jamaica to progress.

Unfortunately JLP & PNP politicians are still too stupid to build that."

True but we have only two parties and technically Ja is a one party system (some like to fool themselves and say it's Eddie why the JLP was out to pasture). After 1980 the PNP soul searched and came remodelled (away with the lftism). Now it seems as if the populace are depending on the PNP to come remodelled again.

Why is the JLP not broken? Why is the JLP there with the same core philosophy of the 50s down? (well when you have simpletons like wignall talking about growth and hiding the facts from the young, what else to expect).

You look through the papers and you get the sense of "ah a brown man time now" In this modern age of internet and computers. I don't think the people unnderstand where the world is heading. The US has its issues but it is dragging its minority (brithers, hate groups, Limbaughs et al) kicking and screaming along.

Ja is still tied up in this class issue (master/slave,uptown/downtown, east/west, town/country, front/back, sideways and any other non progressive divisive issue) In order for Ja to progress we have to invest heavily in the development of the human resources of the island. As we speak some of Ja's best minds are walking the streets selling mangoes,trinkets or busy shooting,looting and pillaging.

I get the sense that a small group is well satisfied with what is described above. I seriously doubt if JA will make it. Our mindset is that of the 16th century. Another sad thing is that most of the so called educated on the island is unteachable. Their argument is that they know and have everything; it's only becuase the cow jump over the moon and other jack ass story. NO! "you think you have it all but you don't have it at all" (shabba on the Kette drum ) How are you gonna see change? Not gonna happen. Somalia here we come.

" Paul Chen-Youn, if I am not mistaken claimed he was ready to appear before the JLP any committee established to look into why his businesses disappeared. Where is Mr. Paul Chen-Young? The committee has publicly stated its disappointment over non-appearance of those who claimed 'PNP fault' for their failures."

Yet you're one of those quick to call ppl liad?

FINSAC enquiry postponed

2009-09-22 13:13:28 | (0 Comments)
                        The Commission of Enquiry into the operations of the Financial Sector Adjustment Company (FINSAC) has been postponed until November 03.

The enquiry was scheduled to begin this morning at the Jamaica Pegasus Hotel in Kingston.

Former Solicitor General Michael Hylton told the Gleaner Power 106 News that the enquiry was put off because his client, Bank of Jamaica (BOJ) Governor Derrick Lattibeaudierre did not show up.

Mr. Lattibeaudiere should have been the first witness.

However, he’s among a five-member team on a visit to Washington to hold talks with officials of the IMF.

Meanwhile, Chairman of the Association of Finsac'd Entrepreneurs, Neville Boxe, says he’s disappointed about what he called a bad start to the enquiry.

He believes the government’s failure to address the issue sooner has contributed to the delays.

The FINSAC enquiry is seeking to examine the circumstances that led to the collapse of Jamaica’s financial institutions in the 1990’s.

Retired high court judge Boyd Carey is presiding over the Commission of Enquiry.
                        When was that committee put together? ...and has there been any sittings? ...and if there where, who were those who turned up to give evidence?

Lazie: Do your home work?

btw -

On a serious note, however, anyone who has any idea of the story behind the story knows that there are very good reasons to not have a commission of inquiry into FINSAC. I guarantee you that it won't be Omar who is embarrassed by such an inquiry but some surprising others who not one of us of any political allegiance would wish to humiliate.

- Don Robotham, Sunday April 27, 2008
                        ...and...

Kingston (JIS) The Commission appointed by the Government to review the 1990s financial sector collapse, which led to the creation of the Financial Sector Adjustment Company(FINSAC), will start meeting on July 1.

Minister of Finance and the Public Service Hon. Audley Shaw, made the announcement today (Wednesday May 6) as he closed the 2009/2010 Budget debate at Gordon House.

Source - http://www.japarliament.gov.jm/index...:news&Itemid=8
                        Last edited by Karl; October 8, 2009, 08:39 PM.

When was that committee put together? ...and has there been any sittings? ...and if there where, who were those who turned up to give evidence?

Lazie: Do your home work?

btw -

...and...
                          KArl, what you said previously was completely incorrect. You tried to give the impression people were refusing to testify. Simply admit you were wrong and move on.

Finsac date elusive

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean...business2.html

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean...business6.html

KArl, what you said previously was completely incorrect. You tried to give the impression people were refusing to testify. Simply admit you were wrong and move on.
                              List the people who have come forward? Let us have the numbers?!

It should be a disappointment to you that the number is...
                              Last edited by Karl; October 8, 2009, 09:33 PM.

List the people who have come forward? Let us have the numbers?!

It should be a disappointment to you that the numbers...
                                Obviously you quoted a post you didn't read. The first witness should be the BOJ Gov and since he was involved with the IMF negotiations the hearings was postponed until Nov. Again, just tek time walk out of the room.