Hypocritical PNP vs 'fraidy-fraidy' JLP gov't

I’m tired of the lies about JA and its politics. The truth is that we are the ones that destroyed Ja and its
    Future. How? Well because of our selfishness and adhering to a system of slavery. Prior to 1972 (mark will not say this) Majority of Jakans were illiterate, uneducated and without opportunities. I can tell you this: In Mobay (60s on down) majority of blacks did not own a home (no access to banks and mortage) in the town , they had to rent or work then go back to the hills. Joshua came and made some revolutionary changes: Adult education, free education for secondary and tertiary institutes, free health care, soft loans for small business, housing trust, Training programmes, cooperatives for farmers and fishermen and a host of other social services. What went wrong was this: We did not have to run with the local currency (hence depleting the reserves) buth those who thought they were privileged could not stand to see the majority getting a piece of the pie (PLAIN GOD TRUTH). They ran (with the local money; which was equal to the US dollar at the time) under the guise that communism was coming to JA . We did not have to put guns in the hands of the poor and illiterate (which we cannot remove to this day). The ballot would have taken care of Joshua with his leftist flirtations (as was proven by the election in 1980).

A few like to speak of Singapore and Lee kwan hu or Lu (whatever) Ja with Joshua (who was ahead of his time) was on the same path. What screwed Ja was Joshua’s meddling into regional politics; which drew the wrath of the US (to the delight of those angered by the new opportunities for the populace), hence our failure to be a productive nation.At least Lee Kwan didn’t offer gambling, art and craft as a way forward. Mark should speak of how many of us that ran away when Joshua sent them to school abroad so that they could return and help Ja. Talk about them because today Ja can produce very little in today’s market. The IMF rep on the documentary “Life and debt” summed it nicely: JA is a small nation that doesn’t Produce much goods and services.

If I didn’t migrate to the US, I would think that shipping drugs abroad and reaping the material rewards is the way to go. Why? Well all around me the “reputable” people were doing it. What we have is that we are now mired in crime of all sorts because we were lazy. Joshua said one of his biggest mistake was to attend “Buckie marshall’s “ funeral. Yes we promote the underworld activity and now we gasp at it. JA is now one or two notches above Afghanistan (a fourteenth century society, where feudal lords control various regions with little regard for central govt.)

I didn’t know that I would live to see the day when the JLP campaign on the same issues that the PNP campaigned on in 72 (time for a change, free education , free healthcare) and the present PNP looking almost befuddled and acting as the JLP back then. What are we living in, a time warp? It only goes to show that we lack understanding of our history and our society is undereducated.

When will we say enough? When will we stop promoting lawlessness, gunman and badness? (seen mark praising a garrison and its armed thugs about their discipline). When will we promote education, when will we promote hard work, when will we laud the young boy for his science experiment in all media? When will we move to loosen the ties that prevent the populace from making any headways in our core industries? Time is running out for JA in this new info age. High time we stop the blame game because there is enough to go around for all Jamaicans.
    Last edited by Jawge; October 8, 2009, 01:36 PM.

Mark doesn't see himself as providing the answers and nothing is wrong with that. He know he is not capable, our leaders should be.

Calm down Jawge.. everyting chris..

Bruce ride out di 'Great Depression 2'.. putting di house in ordah.. win another term maybe 2 and JA will be on a track of REAL recovery..

Meantime what you might want to do is focus on fixing up di PNP suh dat when dem claim back dem country dem will have some iota of a clue of how to run it...

Manley came and half-buried us... PJ came and 3/4 Bury us.. hopefully the country does not need anymore lessons about the PNP and wi can have bout 10 years of uninterrupted development.. wi really need 20 but mek wi keep wi fingah cross dat yuh will shape up yuh party...

Mi si Bruce mek a mastah stroke and give Omar dem likkle say-so inna di committee dem.. mek dem indict demselves and talk di talk dat dem couldn talk inna power.. but mi tink Omar going overboard now.. talk to him fi mi...

Calm down Jawge.. everyting chris..

Bruce ride out di 'Great Depression 2'.. putting di house in ordah.. win another term maybe 2 and JA will be on a track of REAL recovery..

Meantime what you might want to do is focus on fixing up di PNP suh dat when dem claim back dem country dem will have some iota of a clue of how to run it...

Manley came and half-buried us... PJ came and 3/4 Bury us.. hopefully the country does not need anymore lessons about the PNP and wi can have bout 10 years of uninterrupted development.. wi really need 20 but mek wi keep wi fingah cross dat yuh will shape up yuh party...

Mi si Bruce mek a mastah stroke and give Omar dem likkle say-so inna di committee dem.. mek dem indict demselves and talk di talk dat dem couldn talk inna power.. but mi tink Omar going overboard now.. talk to him fi mi...
          yuh knoo something ben , the 1960s were our most productive years
          when seaga was Finance Minister , again we had far better growth rate
          in the 1980s under the JLP ...
          PNP always come wid dem phansy philosophy an nutten else
          Jamaica you mite get a Petroleum well with
          United Oil by 1.31.26;You also has a NNPC option with the Abuja accord from 2022.What
          happens then I don't know.A Petrol Well is
          Probably forthcoming...

Productive years for whom? Were you born in the 50s to be raised in the 60s. Do you know what life was like for most Jakans in the 60s.

If it was so good , why did PNP win by a landslide in 1972? The slavery mentality is what is really killing us. Continue clinging to the tribal politics, be not surprised when you find yourself in Somalia's arms. Ja's best step forward was in the 70s, it's the lack of vsison ,colonial mentality and intellectual insight that made the better of us.

Why not the growth rate now? Oh it's the global recession. How many millions did the US pump in aid to Ja when Eddie come to power? The sad part is that you guys can beasily fooled because you won't go dig and do some research; Mark wignall will suffice.

jawge...don't go there because there was another landslide in 80...

the paradigm shift was the pnp staying power for 18 years because of seaga. before that 2 terms and then out....

many of the things you have said are correct, others are conjecture supposition and not a little emotion.

we are where we are today, not because of any one party or the other but because of the unhealthy symbiosis between the parties and EVERYTHING is an offshoot off that...corruption, violence.....POWER, they fight for it to help who they can and if the country can benefit.....

i think manley's "Freed education" ploy has been exposed for what it really was, populist preening and bruce's is not much different.

i have seen you move from the party platform to a more ideolgical approach. kudos to you on that.

i have seen you move from the party platform to a more ideological approach. kudos to you on that.
                agree ! farin do dat to some of us .
                United Oil by 1.31.26;You also has a NNPC option with the Abuja accord from 2022.What
                Probably forthcoming...

Gamma, ask Westman: from the first site, Westman/otown would ask me about Joshua, we would agree that Joshua's untimely meddling in regional politics cost us dearly.

As I said though we are the ones that did it, question is: can we fix it?

Point out the conjecture and supposition. I welcome constructive critique.

i agree with you

well the free education was not really as free as that across the board (grant aided schools) and it was not done in the interest of the people but only for straight popularity .... there is more than enough literature on that.

"Mark should speak of how many of us that ran away when Joshua sent them to school abroad so that they could return and help Ja." how many of them came back to help JA? no different from the flight of capital you referred to.

that is the 2 main ones

Jawge, one of your better posts to date. respect fi dat.

we would agree that Joshua's untimely meddling in regional politics cost us dearly.
                          Yep !. das why we import almost 400 million USD from Caricom and export
                          less dan 40 million USD . Joshua manley den sign whole heap a deal in the
                          seventies example ... di guyanese rice issue weh wi nyam people bad rice
                          cause we signaturize agreement decades aguh fi it .
                          Probably forthcoming...

Thank you boss. More time di truth haffi juss buss out. Truth will set us free.

Thanks. Quote: "to thine own self be true"

ok so how do you explain the cumalative 3% growth under Omar.. if that segement was thriving (in your fevered imaginings)

Do you understand the concept of debt in running a business ??
                                The matter of low rates of growth and the present conundrum we find ourselves in is a debate that deserves its own thread. Only the polarizing party faithful wish to limit the discussion to the reign of one party or the other.

btw - I am just not in the mood to rehash what I have been saying repeatedly before this forum was in existence and continuining since just about when this forum came alive.