• Top 10 Hits: 1985 - 1987

Top 10 Records of the Year
    1985 - 1987
    (Based on JBC’s charts)

I sincerely hope that this 1980s list, based on the charts of the Jamaica Broadcasting Corporation (JBC) will bring back some great memories of the “good old days” of “good quality” Jamaican music. This is the fourth in a list of postings I’ve made of chart toppers, as previously I’ve posted the “Top 10 Records of the Year: 1982– 1984”; “Top 6 Records of the Year: 1978 – 1981”; “Top 10 Records of the Year: 1967 – 1974”.

1. “Girlie Girlie”: Sophia George
    2. “What One Dance Can Do”: Beres Hammond
    3. “Shock We A Shock”: Horace Martin
    4. “Groovy Little Thing”: Beres Hammond
    5. “Tiney Winey”: Byron Lee and the Dragonaires
    6. “Budy Bye”: Johnny Osbourne
    7. “Checking Out”: Derrick Harriott
    8. “Ring The Alarm”: Tenor Saw
    9. “Under Mi Sleng Teng”: Wayne Smith
    10. “You Safe”: Fabulous Five

Other Hits of the Year 1985 include “Solidarity” by Black Uhuru at #12, “Wheely Wheely” by Early B at #13, “Every Posse Get flat” by Paul Blake and Blood Fire Posse at #15, “Here I Am” by Barrington Levy at #18, and “Sense Of Purpose” by Third World at #21.

1. “What The Hell”: Echo Minott
    2. “Greetings”: Half Pint
    3. “Mini Bus”: General Trees
    4. “Boops”: Super Cat
    5. “Revival Time”: Chalice
    6. “She Boom”: Mallory Williams
    7. “Cost Of Living”: Half Pint
    8. “I Wanna Wake Up With You”: Boris Gardiner
    9. “She Loves Me Now”: Beres Hammond
    10. “Government Boops”: Lovindeer

Other Hits of the Year 1986 include “Push Come To Shove” by Freddie McGregor at #11, “Jah Send Me Come” by Dignitary Stylish at #12, “Babylon Boops” by Lovindeer at #14, and “Members Only” by Tyrone Taylor at #18,

1. “Punany”: Admiral Bailey
    2. “No Wanga Gut”: Tiger
    3. “Big Belly Man”: Admiral Bailey
    4. “Two Year Old”: Admiral Bailey
    5. “Don’t Hurt My Feelings”: Freddie McGregor
    6. “Wear Yu Size”: Lt. Stitchie
    7. “Love Tonight”: Leroy Smart
    8. “No Mama”: Screwdriver
    9. “Blueberry Hill”: Yellow Man
    10. “Talk Of The Town”: Leroy Smart

Other Hits of the Year 1987 include “Hol A Fresh” by Red Dragon at #11, “Push Come To Shove” by Freddie McGregor at #13, “Jamaican Woman” by Fabulous Five at #14, “Level The Vibes” by Half Pint at #16, “Healthy Body” by Admiral Bailey at #17, and “Bigger Boss” by Shirley McLean and Brother Dee at #19

Originally posted by Historian View Post
    Top 10 Records of the Year
    1985 - 1987
    (Based on JBC’s charts)

I sincerely hope that this 1980s list, based on the charts of the Jamaica Broadcasting Corporation (JBC) will bring back some great memories of the “good old days” of “good quality” Jamaican music. This is the fourth in a list of postings I’ve made of chart toppers, as previously I’ve posted the “Top 10 Records of the Year: 1982– 1984”; “Top 6 Records of the Year: 1978 – 1981”; “Top 10 Records of the Year: 1967 – 1974”.

1. “Girlie Girlie”: Sophia George
    2. “What One Dance Can Do”: Beres Hammond
    3. “Shock We A Shock”: Horace Martin
    4. “Groovy Little Thing”: Beres Hammond
    5. “Tiney Winey”: Byron Lee and the Dragonaires
    6. “Budy Bye”: Johnny Osbourne
    7. “Checking Out”: Derrick Harriott
    8. “Ring The Alarm”: Tenor Saw
    9. “Under Mi Sleng Teng”: Wayne Smith
    10. “You Safe”: Fabulous Five

Other Hits of the Year 1985 include “Solidarity” by Black Uhuru at #12, “Wheely Wheely” by Early B at #13, “Every Posse Get flat” by Paul Blake and Blood Fire Posse at #15, “Here I Am” by Barrington Levy at #18, and “Sense Of Purpose” by Third World at #21.

1. “What The Hell”: Echo Minott
    2. “Greetings”: Half Pint
    3. “Mini Bus”: General Trees
    4. “Boops”: Super Cat
    5. “Revival Time”: Chalice
    6. “She Boom”: Mallory Williams
    7. “Cost Of Living”: Half Pint
    8. “I Wanna Wake Up With You”: Boris Gardiner
    9. “She Loves Me Now”: Beres Hammond
    10. “Government Boops”: Lovindeer

Other Hits of the Year 1986 include “Push Come To Shove” by Freddie McGregor at #11, “Jah Send Me Come” by Dignitary Stylish at #12, “Babylon Boops” by Lovindeer at #14, and “Members Only” by Tyrone Taylor at #18,

1. “Punany”: Admiral Bailey
    2. “No Wanga Gut”: Tiger
    3. “Big Belly Man”: Admiral Bailey
    4. “Two Year Old”: Admiral Bailey
    5. “Don’t Hurt My Feelings”: Freddie McGregor
    6. “Wear Yu Size”: Lt. Stitchie
    7. “Love Tonight”: Leroy Smart
    8. “No Mama”: Screwdriver
    9. “Blueberry Hill”: Yellow Man
    10. “Talk Of The Town”: Leroy Smart

Other Hits of the Year 1987 include “Hol A Fresh” by Red Dragon at #11, “Push Come To Shove” by Freddie McGregor at #13, “Jamaican Woman” by Fabulous Five at #14, “Level The Vibes” by Half Pint at #16, “Healthy Body” by Admiral Bailey at #17, and “Bigger Boss” by Shirley McLean and Brother Dee at #19

Thanks again historian , 1987 was the year our music start getting nasty
    with admiral bailey. if I remember correctly , Admiral Baily got dj of the year in jamaica but LT Stitchie earned it in England ...I rather stiche not juss because it was rumoured about him been a teacher but is lyrics were cleaner ...
    Jamaica you mite get a Petroleum well with
    United Oil by 1.31.26;You also has a NNPC option with the Abuja accord from 2022.What
    happens then I don't know.A Petrol Well is
    Probably forthcoming...

by the way historian , PnP mash up JBC eehe ? , it was a good institution
      both TV and Radio .... see the JBC archive was raided around a year ago .
      Jamaica you mite get a Petroleum well with
      United Oil by 1.31.26;You also has a NNPC option with the Abuja accord from 2022.What
      happens then I don't know.A Petrol Well is
      Probably forthcoming...

historian. who sings the song about "stepp(ing) (it) in ballet"?

Re: Song ("Ballet&quot

historian. who sings the song about "stepp(ing) (it) in ballet"?
          Gamma, I think the popular 1980s recording “Step It In Ballet” was recorded by Hugh Griffiths.

Any additional information on Griffiths will be much appreciated .

Thanks again, boss

Originally posted by wbvs View Post
            Thanks again historian , 1987 was the year our music start getting nasty
            with admiral bailey. if I remember correctly , Admiral Baily got dj of the year in jamaica but LT Stitchie earned it in England ...I rather stiche not juss because it was rumoured about him been a teacher but is lyrics were cleaner ...
            Thanks again also, Wbvs, for taking the time to read and comment on my music postings.

You stated that “1987 was the year our music start getting nasty,” and I will comment some more on this soon. And yes, despite the antics of Yellowman back in the 1970s, Admiral Bailey took things to a new low in the 1980s. Of course, there were always the bad boys from back in the 1960s, and I’m referring to the occasional explicit slackers like Prince Buster, Clancy Eccles, Max Romeo, and so on, but the not-fit-for-airplay stuff they produced were rare and so in effect the exception rather than the rule.

Nevertheless, boss, I’m a bit surprised at your public comment about the music “getting nasty”, as just recently you supported another poster in his condemnation of the Trinidad government for denying a particularly nasty dancehall artist entry into that country .

Switching subject slightly, a rap group that I enjoy very much is the 1980s American (Compton, California) rap group ********************z With Attitude (NWA). Ice Cube, Dr. Dre, Eazy E (RIP), and company made a most relevant impact in the 1980s and early 1990s. I mention this because as I type this reply I’m listening to Dr. Dre’s groundbreaking album, “The Chronic.” This album, in my opinion (along with NWA’s stuff), is among the greatest rap recordings ever.

yeah Hugh Griffiths made the popular one.

Fourth? I missed the other three (I've been busy of late). Nice post Histy. I remember in those days I used to look forward to the Top 100 (I think) songs at the end of the year. It used to amaze me howLeroy Smart used to win the top vocalist every year. His lyrical/songwriting abilities were that of a 12 year old. Outside of the one about Up Park Camp, there were few of his songs which melodious or well written. Back then also, the DJ of the year title was well coveted. Today, it means nothing. There were also annual awards for, Top Backing Band (which Saggitaurus band dominated), Best Stage Show, Best Sound System etc.

Nice trip down memory lane Historian.
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Thanks, Assasin

yeah Hugh Griffiths made the popular one.
                  Thanks for the confirmation, Assasin.

Surprisingly, this late 1980s recording by Hugh Griffiths never made any of JBC’s annual Top 10 charts.

Thanks, Jangle

Fourth? I missed the other three (I've been busy of late). Nice post Histy. I remember in those days I used to look forward to the Top 100 (I think) songs at the end of the year. It used to amaze me howLeroy Smart used to win the top vocalist every year. His lyrical/songwriting abilities were that of a 12 year old. Outside of the one about Up Park Camp, there were few of his songs which melodious or well written. Back then also, the DJ of the year title was well coveted. Today, it means nothing. There were also annual awards for, Top Backing Band (which Saggitaurus band dominated), Best Stage Show, Best Sound System etc.

Nice trip down memory lane Historian.
                    Thanks, Jangle. From time to time I’ll be posting more Top Ten Hits from JBC’s charts of the past.

Your comment about Leroy Smart made me laugh just now (“His lyrical/songwriting abilities were those of a twelve year old”). I, too, could not understand that guy’s claim to greatness!

Sagittarius was a fine band, although the most outstanding member, in my view, was the leader and bass player Derrick Barnett (or was it Bennett?). He was an excellent bass player and a very charismatic on-stage personality.

he did more "marketing"

Derrick Barnett. That was a truly talented entertainer.

Whether is his making riddims for Saxon sound in England or even playing riddims for Ninja man in the late 80's, there was just this extra vibe to his playing.

Derrick Barnett now?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wCmmH...eature=related

Histy, here's your friend Leroy:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X3a4x...eature=related
                          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015