• Drop in Tourism

Tourism taking a hit - Visitor spending down, occupancy at 40 per cent

Published: Wednesday | October 7, 2009

Janet Silvera, Senior Gleaner Writer

Cummings
    WESTERN BUREAU:
    Visitor spending is at an all-time low and occupancy levels are now at 40 per cent across the board, says president of the Jamaica Hotel and Tourist Association (JHTA), Wayne Cummings.
    Jamaica's robust tourist industry has taken a U-turn, causing the JHTA president to describe the fall season as just that.
    "This fall has fallen, the chicken has come home to roost in many ways and we are not seeing the business at all," Cummings said yesterday.
    His comments were cemented by area chair of the JHTA Negril Chapter, Evelyn Smith, who revealed that occupancy levels in the 'Capital of Casual' were at 30 per cent, with some resorts reporting 10 and 15 per cent bookings, and unable to close their doors.
    Staff rotations
    However, many of them have started staff rotations with the hope that the winter season will be their saving grace.
    It is not unusual for September and October, tagged 'shoulder months', to be slower than the others in relation to the island's tourism sector, but both Cummings and Smith concur that this same time last year the country was doing much better.
    "Even though the world was on the decline, Jamaica was doing well with its arrivals into the hotels," argued Cummings. He said the island was just now feeling the pinch of the recession.
    And this is evident in the closure of two hotels so far, the 320-room Iberostar Rose Hall and Sandals Inn in Montego Bay. Sandals Whitehouse, closed its doors earlier this year. A number of duty-free merchents are also facing closure, as their business

have nosedived, taking a 70 per cent hit in the process, while shops located in the hotels are reporting serious drops in business. So are the attractions.
    The turn comes at a time when Minister of Tourism Edmund Bartlett is reporting a 3.4 per growth in arrivals into the Sangster International Airport, but the JHTA president said many of the travellers coming in are not necessarily tourists.
    Familiarisation trips
    "A large number of returning residents visiting their families and droves of travel agents who have been coming in on familiarisation trips are part of the statistics," he noted.
    Stating that he was extremely concerned about the situation, particularly for the winter, Cummings, however, admitted that he was not disillusioned "because we have done the work that we are supposed to, both private and public sector, in terms of advertising and marketing".
    He added: "Air seats have been secured, and the JTB's destination marketing goes back on the air next week, while the private sector was on the road working with tour operators and travel agencies this past month". janet.silvera@gleanerjm.com

How does this fit with the previous announcements on 'booming' vsitor arrivals...OK? ...no loss in visitor arrivals but a modest uptick unlike the other world destinations including our Caribbean brothers?

Been asking that from long time but experts Assassin and Lazy sey me nuh have no sense...

I know many ppl who have been laid off frorm hotels a d tour comln aies and ppp, who drive JUTA busess and they tell me that 'Nutten nah gwaan": but no two men who live far away and depend on the Minister's propaganda to argue with me, the same Minister who told us we have nothing to wory about during the global depression and that we will actually see increased earnings from tourism.

Been asking that from long time but experts Assassin and Lazy sey me nuh have no sense...

I know many ppl who have been laid off frorm hotels a d tour comln aies and ppp, who drive JUTA busess and they tell me that 'Nutten nah gwaan": but no two men who live far away and depend on the Minister's propaganda to argue with me, the same Minister who told us we have nothing to wory about during the global depression and that we will actually see increased earnings from tourism.
        Haven't there been reports indicating that Jamaica's tourism is doing better than other destination in the region? Believe what you wish. Major players in the industry have supported the argument, so people with ulterior motives can continue with their act.

"Haven't there been reports indicating that Jamaica's tourism is doing better than other destination in the region"

What that mean? If we lose only 40% and them lose 50, we need to celebrate?

and who was talking about percentages here or comparisons with others...see how you try to twist things...focus on what we are talking about here man...

"Haven't there been reports indicating that Jamaica's tourism is doing better than other destination in the region"

What that mean? If we lose only 40% and them lose 50, we need to celebrate?

and who was talking about percentages here or comparisons with others...see how you try to twist things...focus on what we are talking about here man...
            Did anybody say anything about celebrating? No wait ... you did. Isn't it obvious what the agenda is when y'all are quick to dispute numbers that don't fit in with unuh hopes? Mi stop explaining to who want to play like dem head tuff. Dispute the numbers wid the CTO.

http://www.onecaribbean.org/content/...18Lattab09.pdf

Haven't there been reports indicating that Jamaica's tourism is doing better than other destination in the region? Believe what you wish. Major players in the industry have supported the argument, so people with ulterior motives can continue with their act.

If you read the article clearly you will understand. You claim Bartlett making up numbers so, so all I can do is say it as it is.

The rest of countries have been feeling it for a year now, but there are something you have to understand.

1) October is normally a very slow month, althought may not as slow as this one.

2) The hoteliers say base on bookings they will have a better tourist season than last year.

3) Jamaica has added 70, 000 additional seats from Europe and other places for the winter tourist season.

4) although we have more tourist over last year the spending is less than before as expected in a recession.

Can you imagine if we had a 20 percent drop as places like Bahamas, Barbados, and Cayman Island?

The fact is we have a very pro active Minister of Tourism and Director of Tourism and the JTB ads will be hitting the airwaves within a week or two.
                Regardless of infrastructure the industry including and the minister have to be proactive in selling or you woulda see what it mean to have 20% drop off in arrivals year to date.

Gwaan spin man...who is your manager I will get you a commercial for Twist

Sickko - what yuh implying (that Sass join the "Weaving Club" now?)

Not Sass as much as Lazie...he is the president for life

I have no problem with that bredren. You accuse the minister of fudging numbers, even when major players in the sector was supporting his point. Well, an independent entity has now supported the Minister, yet you want to accuse me of spinning? Talk bout can't handling the truth.