• Age is just a number for 97-y-o Mum

<DIV id=printReady>

Age is just a number for 97-y-o Mum
    published: Thursday | November 30, 2006
    <DIV class=KonaBody Rjuf6="true">

Mum makes a stern point. - Norman Grindley /Deputy Chief <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 700; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">Photographer</SPAN>

In a small, quiet community called Pero in the hills of St. Thomas, a short, plump woman wearing a black cap and thick-framed spectacles is bent over a pink tub in her backyard scrubbing <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 700; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">clothes</SPAN> with a small brush.

She shouts to someone inside the house. "Maizie! Tun off di pot!" She looks around and sees photographer Norman Grindley and me approaching. She lets the brush drop into the tub of water with a splash, and smiles. "Is who this come to look for me now. How unnu do?" she asks, wiping her hands dry on the front of her dress.

Little does the woman realise that we are being led by her granddaughter, who only now appears from behind a bush. "Is me bring dem, Mum. Is long time a tell you dat somebody should come hear fi you story dem," the woman's granddaughter, Daisy says.

Mum chuckles. "Aye mi gyal. You know say you shoulda tell mi mek mi fix up and put pot pan fiyah. But is alright, unnu come," she gestures for us to come closer. Mum then disappears into the house and returns carrying two plastic chairs. She puts them down under a large mango <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">tree</SPAN> and tells us to make ourselves comfortable. The ease with which the woman carries the <A class=kLink oncontextmenu="return false;" id=KonaLink3 &#111;nmouseover=adlinkMouseOver(event,this,3); style="POSITION: static; TEXT-DECORATION: underline! important" &#111;nclick=adlinkMouseClick(event,this,3); &#111;nmouseout=adlinkMouseOut(event,this,3); href="http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20061130/news/news1.html#" target=_new><FONT style="FONT

RE: Age is just a number for 97-y-o Mum

Bwoy is dem ting deh me like

man like me like luv go yaad tek pictha an talk to peeple like mum. :P