• And to think 34 years ago their leader come

here to 'learn from us'...

"$40-m boost

Singapore to repair damaged Stadium East track

BY KAYON RAYNOR Senior staff reporter raynork@jamaicaobserver.com

Saturday, October 03, 2009

SINGAPORE, the host nation for next year's inaugural Youth Olympics, has given the Jamaican government its assurance to pay the US$550,000 needed to resurface the run-down Stadium East mondo track at the Independence Park Complex.

According to sports minister Olivia Grange, the arrangement will see a few of Jamaica's top athletes, including triple World and Olympic gold medallist Usain Bolt, helping Singapore to market the Youth Olympics set for August 14 to 26 in 2010."

Where did it all go wrong..?

Oh right.. I forget, we were fighting for 'social change'.... led by Saint Michael...

How Tragic.... and even today his followers are in denial...

I waan feel seh is an African virus strain developed in Jamaica at the "Intellectual Ghetto"

here to 'learn from us'...

"$40-m boost

Singapore to repair damaged Stadium East track

BY KAYON RAYNOR Senior staff reporter raynork@jamaicaobserver.com

Saturday, October 03, 2009

SINGAPORE, the host nation for next year's inaugural Youth Olympics, has given the Jamaican government its assurance to pay the US$550,000 needed to resurface the run-down Stadium East mondo track at the Independence Park Complex.

According to sports minister Olivia Grange, the arrangement will see a few of Jamaica's top athletes, including triple World and Olympic gold medallist Usain Bolt, helping Singapore to market the Youth Olympics set for August 14 to 26 in 2010."

Where did it all go wrong..?

Oh right.. I forget, we were fighting for 'social change'.... led by Saint Michael...

How Tragic.... and even today his followers are in denial...

I waan feel seh is an African virus strain developed in Jamaica at the "Intellectual Ghetto"
    The bitter irony is not lost on me.

But you see...34 years a go while the saint was proffering profundity, serious minded people were saying:

"The accepted wisdom of development economists at the time was that American multinational corporations were exploiters of cheap labour,land and raw materials. This "dependency school" of economists argued that MNCs continued the colonial pattern of expliotation.......Third world leaders believed this theory of neocolonialist exploitation, but I was not impressed. We had a real life problem to solve and could not afford to be conscribed by any theory or dogma"

Lee Kuan Yew "From Third World to First: The Singapore Story 1965-2000"

The relative results are clear........

Mi hear some people talking bout how the Mighty have Fallen in relation to Cayman..

I posit none have fallen more than Yard...

Imagine if you will that 43 years ago we were hosting the Commonwealth Games.. today wi haffi beg Singapre fi one training track..

British Empire and Commonwealth Games
      1954 games - Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
      1958 games - Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
      1962 games - Perth, Western Australia, Australia
      1966 games - Kingston, Jamaica

Oh God.. our story is a Tragedy of Shakespearean proportions..

Have we managed to 'defeat' the neo-colonialists by the way.. just curious..

What is that by the way ? Is that like a JPS scenario.. Trafigura perhaps.. Booyah Toll Road (pardon my French)...

Oh no...please tell me it was all not all for naught...

Oh wait.. as Joe Higgs did seh.. "there is a certain love that come through hard struggle.."

Perhaps we would not have been able to produce a Bob Marley.. or Peter Tosh, or Usain Bolt, or Merlene Ottey if not for 'hard struggle'..

hmmm.. the more I think about it.. after all Singapore nuh have nuh athlete or world renowned poet/singers..

Mek mi guh pondah and come back..

Was it 2002 we held the 'World's Junior'?

Well where does all that fall within the nonsense of because we held the 1966 Commonwealth Games?

...and what of aid from 'John Tom', "Dick and Harry' and God's knows who else has helped since 1944? ...1962? ...under both JLP and PNP?

Innuh tek man fi fool!

if di cap fit...