Workforce cut. Plush hope you didn't miss it

• Workforce cut. Plush hope you didn't miss it

Gov’t to cut its 117,000 work force Wednesday, 30 September 2009 The Government has given its clearest indication that it intends to slice deep into the size of its 100,000 strong labour force.

Though not giving a clear-cut time-tablefor the shedding of jobs, Prime Minister Golding told Parliamentarians at Gordon House early Wednesday morning that some Cabinet jobs will also be chopped.

In his hour long speech, Mr. Golding argued that the move was necessary to make the state more efficient and reduce the wage bill which has doubled over the past 24 months.

"We will have to trim the size of Government and I'm talking about the entire Government bureaucracy not just what is known as central Government. The Civil Service Establishment Order shows that there are 41,353 positions in central Government but the total number of persons employed by Government in all its ministries, agencies, companies etc - persons who have to be paid every month - is 117,000.

"Will the process lead to job cuts? that can hardly be avoided," Mr. Golding told the House of Representatives.

Ministers not immune to looming cuts

The Prime Minister who added that he was prepared for the political consequences also hinted that members of his 18 member Cabinet will also he placed on the chopping block.

"In reducing the size of Government, the size of the Cabinet and the number of Ministers will also have to be dealt with. But I don't think the Leader of the Opposition is positing the view that by simply reducing the number of ministers you reduce the size of Government, we need to do much more and that is the path on which we must embark," said Mr. Golding.

He disclosed that within the next few weeks, a high-powered team will be established in the Officeof the Prime Minister to anchor the restructuring exercise.

DRIVAH !!

Don't stop at all.

As mi seh before.. A Man for the Times...

Obama who ?!

LOL !

RE

Again, I won't be fooled by hyped up speeches. They are going to trim the wage bill..when? Is this included in the latest udget numbers? As ar as I'm concerned, there is no trimming palnned at least in this budget year because it's not reflected in the latest estimates..On the contrary, the wage bill is going up if you follow the numbers

Originally posted by Plush View Post
        Again, I won't be fooled by hyped up speeches. They are going to trim the wage bill..when? Is this included in the latest udget numbers? As ar as I'm concerned, there is no trimming palnned at least in this budget year because it's not reflected in the latest estimates..On the contrary, the wage bill is going up if you follow the numbers
        If you had listened to the speech on NNN This Morning, it was explained. But again, you not interested in reality, just grandstanding.

tek time wid dem.. 18 years of di PNP will leave you highly skeptical of Govt...

Bruce have a major breech fi repair.. but him capable.. Man fi di Times !

hyped up speeches..NNN who?

Btw Maudib, I'm critical of the JLP because I want them to do better. I do think Portia and her crew is worst..and I'm thankful that they were voted out...that doesn't stop me from expecting better from the Bruce

Originally posted by Plush View Post
                hyped up speeches..NNN who?
                Don't follow the hype, pay attention to what is said. The PM explained it all if yuh want to find the answers go here.

NNN? Go to http://www.nationwidenewsnetwork.com.

Thanks for the link

You critical of Bruce because him stick his neck out and give everybody a heads up seh him gwine reduce the size and cost of Govt ???

Strange...

one thing wid Bruce and that is he owns up to his work. When he say something so public he intend to do it.