• Amid global crisis, Jamaica rethinks its business plan

Amid global crisis, Jamaica rethinks its business plan

Jacqueline Charles | Miami Herald

last updated: September 27, 2009 02:35:26 PM
    The global financial crisis, which has battered Caribbean economies, is forcing Jamaica and other countries in the region to rethink how they do business. Although most Caribbean nations continue to wrestle with how to avert financial meltdown, Jamaica is mounting an aggressive campaign to help diversify its economy.
    The banana plantation in Annotto Bay, about 22 miles north of Kingston, is at the forefront of how Jamaica is reinventing itself from a country that once shipped fresh bananas and other produce to one that now processes and packages them.
    "This year we have an export business that we didn't have last year," said Rolf Simmonds, commercial director for Jamaica Producers Tropical Foods, a division of Jamaica Producers Group, which revamped its business model in November. "We were exporting bananas. This year we are exporting banana chips and doing well at it. We are building a business slowly but surely."
    No longer should shipping ackee, cocoa, Scotch Bonnet peppers or banana in its raw form be good enough, farmers are being told. Can it, box it — add value to it, government officials are demanding.
    "We are having to deal with two significant challenges at the same time," Prime Minister Bruce Golding said in a recent interview with The Miami Herald. "One is how to charter our way out of this global storm, but secondly how to address long-standing structural deficiencies in our economy . . . and how to do that in the midst of the global storm."
    For Golding's 2-year-old government, it means shifting focus.

Golding is as clueless as his predecessors on matters of running a business as well as in charge of a government.

All i hear is the usual Jamaican style chatter . Sounding off as if the system is poised and ready to take advantage of business opportunities.

I read recently where Golding said Jamaica should concentrate on maufacturing. That Jamaica can compete against China in manufacturing.......

He did not cite examples of the type of manufacturing Jamaica should be involved..............

I thought the Govt was responsible for implementing strategic Policy with requisite support infrastructure.. dem muss all tell yuh wheh fi manufacture ??

I thought the market determined that based on proper analysis of niche opportunities that offer competitive advantage ?

The govt must ensure that the cost of inputs does not promote non-competitiveness..

You come across exactly as they sound.

Long string of big words that are technical sounding...twisting yourselves in a knot with your knickers.
        Last edited by HL; September 29, 2009, 06:25 PM.

You come across exactly as they sound.

Long string of big words that are technical sounding...twisting yourselves in a knot with your knickers.
          There is a very good reason for that....He is one of the "they"....by his own words...im wuk fi govament.

LOL!!

Ok.. but you have not stated where you disagree with the 'big technical sounding words'

LOL !