British firm names local politicians in bribery scandal

• British firm names local politicians in bribery scandal

British bridge building company Mabey and Johnson is to pay five million pounds following bribery prosecution.

st1\:*{behavior:url(#ieooui) }The company, which won contracts worth 60 million pounds by bribing foreign politicians and other officials, has been fined 3.5 million pounds.

The firm was also ordered to pay a 1.1 million pound confiscation order to the UN Iraq fund and the Jamaican and Ghanaian governments and 350,000 pounds in prosecution costs.

In court Friday, a string of foreign politicians and officials were named as having received corrupt payments from a British firm, as the company admitted it had systematically paid bribes around the world to win contracts.

Attorney for the Serious Fraud Office John Hardy told the court that over eight years, the firm gave 100,000 pounds to buy the favours of Joseph Hibbert, who he described as a key Jamaican official in awarding contracts, one of them worth 14 million pounds.

Mabey and Johnson, which makes temporary bridges, plead guilty to corruption charges in the first prosecution of a UK company for overseas bribery and corruption.

It also plead guilty to violating UN sanctions in Iraq.

In July the UK firm pleaded guilty to two counts of theft, in connection with business dealings in the two countries.

Mabey and Johnson also pleaded guilty to a third charge of breaching UN laws involving applications for contracts under the Iraq 'Oil for Food' programme.

It was the first prosecution brought in Britain against a company for overseas corruption.

Five of the firm's eight directors have stepped down since the scandal and a new management team was installed last year.

At the height of the investigations by the UK Serious Fraud Office, former state Minister in the Transport and Works Ministry Joseph Hibbert was named as a person of interest.

Mr. Hibbert, who was a Technical Director in the Ministry at the time Mabey and Johnson was awarded contracts, later resigned from his post.

Mr. Hibbert said he resigned so that he would have time to clear his name.

And attorney at Law Ernest Smith says the legal team recently wrote to Mabey and Johnson requesting that it release information regarding the alleged payment of bribes.

He threatened to take legal action against the company which he accused of making damaging allegations without providing evidence.

The attorney says he's still intent on clearing his client's name.

http://www.radiojamaica.com/content/view/21864/26/

name politicians or politician?

So far, I like the govt's initial statement on the matter. They could easily have just brushed it aside.

wha dem say?

Hibbert will not quit, Politician declares innocence in Mabey and Johnson affair

In decent, civil societies, he would have no choice but to quit. What's the point of quitting his ministerial post only? He needs to step!

Seriously when I read Lazie's initial post , I thought
              it was another PNP MP. I said here we go again. After Trafigura, I thought the JLP would be very shy of these things (they had me fooled, no I'm being honest). I could understand the PNP getting so corrupt, after being there so long.

This! wow! I wonder what Willi, Lazie, Sass and Gamma would have to say on this. I would like to hear Sass's views most of all.

A lot of people really thought the JLP came to deal with transperancy and clean up corruption. This is too much. Wow!

Um.. did you read WHEN this supposed bribery occurred ?

LOL !

"Attorney for the Serious Fraud Office John Hardy told the court that over eight years, the firm gave 100,000 pounds to buy the favours of Joseph Hibbert, who he described as a key Jamaican official in awarding contracts, one of them worth 14 million pounds"

But Jawge.. JLP only been in power 2 years.. sumting nuh mek sense here..

100,000 pounds and ONE contract worth 14 Million ?

dat alone is <1%

LOL !

Suh what happen to missa 10% ???

Pity Hibbert was not in the Air Jamaica slot Camp..

Him coulda be living comfy in Kensington right now...

http://www.foxtons.co.uk/search?loca...it_type=search
                  Last edited by Muadib; September 26, 2009, 05:43 PM.

Jawge I don't support the corruption. In case you looking points remember which administration it took place under. I think Hibberts must step aside and fight his battle.

what more you want me to say?

so yuh saying him tekking bribe even before him tun MP and minister. den is what level corruption dat is?!?

Why is a private/public company paying a politician's "expenses"??

Mi nuh know ah wha kinda corruption dat is ?

Mi tink is suh di Civil Servant ting setup.. wha dem ah seh.. dem gwine scrap di whole system ???

LOL !! WHOEE !!