Campion College let me down

• Campion College let me down

Dem a waste people money build library !

Before dem dig up the cricket pitch and lay down a landing strip and teach people how fi fly !

Dead Paradigm thinking weighing down di school..

No mystery.. look at the kinds of non-visionary people dem spitting out..

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/..._CHALLENGE.asp

Speaking of which.. mi tink dem seh black people guh deh.. mi ah look HARD inna dah picktcha and all NOW...

Ah Bwoy.

usual crap filled with badmind.

Are you ok BOSS, did you read the label? I can't believe, you would say anything even injest about your beloved. Take some time and go rest up ah Ochie, what a ting, yikes.

Let you down? yuh juss ah know dat? LOL

Campion College in pursuit of financial security
          BY LUKE DOUGLAS Career & Education writer editorial@jamaicaobserver.com
          Sunday, September 20, 2009
          FACED with increasing operating costs and the changing economic profile of its students, Campion College is launching an ambitious fund-raising plan to further develop the school over the next decade.
          Campion, the secondary school with the best academic record in Jamaica based on results in external examinations, plans to "build a sustainable financial base" to fund a state-of-the-art library, new laboratories improved technology, sports programmes and teacher excellence up to 2020.
          (From left) Campion College students Leon McDonald, Ta-shan Adams, Shaniel May, Sherry Perrier and Aaron Ramsay smile for Career & Education's lens on a recent visit to the institution. (Photos: Naphtali Junior) It's an enormous challenge for the St Andrew-based co-educational institution of 1,450 students which has an annual budget of $149 million. Of this amount, Government contributes $124 million, leaving the school's administration to collect $25 million from auxiliary fees, donations from the private sector, alumni and parents, rental of its premises and other fund-raising activities.
          The basic costs per student have been placed at $46,000 of which government invests $10,500. Students are asked to contribute $23,000 in auxiliary fees and to the teacher excellence fund.
          But this still leaves a shortfall of $12,500 per student, making "Vision 2020 - the Campion College Development Plan 2010-2020" urgent and timely.
          Vision 2020 will be launched at the school on Wednesday. Business mogul and ATL Group chairman Gordon "Butch" Stewart, a past student from Campion's early beginnings as a Jesuit school for boys, is expected to make a significant announcement at the function.
          BARRETT... many schools that people do not consider to be rich have better infrastructure than we do "The perception that Campion is a rich school is very strong. Perhaps that was the case in the past when we had a powerful parent body which enabled the school to fund itself. Now a growing percentage of our student body comes from working-class families," principal Grace Baston told Career & Education on Thursday.
          Campion consistently achieves the best results among secondary schools in Jamaica in the Caribbean Examination Council (CXC), despite the ageing infrastructure on its campus.
          "These labs are the same labs which were there when the school was built. What we have been using as a library is a total disgrace," noted vice-principal and dean of studies, Sheila Barrett. "Many schools that people do not consider to be rich have better infrastructure than we do."
          Baston was quick to point out that the school was not complaining about the fact that more of its students today come from poorer backgrounds, as its academic achievements continue to improve with the changing demographics.
          "We are very happy that this is happening; it's a wonderful sign for our education system because it shows that our primary school children are doing extraordinarily well. However, it poses challenges for us because we are committed to providing the same educational product we did 25 years ago," Baston explained.
          Retired past principal and current board member, Radley Reid places the primary school intake at 35 per cent, up from a mere five per cent in 1999.
          While noting the importance of financing, Campion's leadership stressed that a school's success cannot be measured by the size of its bank account.
          A section of Campion College's campus in St Andrew, where efforts are currently being made to safeguard the institution's financial future and, by extension, the quality of education it delivers to students. "Campion is successful because of the quality of its teachers and what I call a smooth transition in leadership," Reid said. "Each leadership team has built on what was there before. Mr MacKay (John MacKay, Reid's predecessor) laid the foundation with such things as employing a Dean of Discipline and a Dean of Studies, and the use of data to inform instruction. These practices have been entrenched at Campion for more than 30 years and the Ministry (of Education) is adopting some of them now."
          "We have had a corps of really committed and dedicated teachers. People coming in have adopted our culture of excellence and maintain the standards," added Barrett.
          With six Rhodes scholars in six years, and an 83 to 100 per cent pass rate in the Caribbean Secondary Education Certificate (CSEC) exams and Caribbean Advanced Proficiency Examination (CAPE), at first glance Campion seems to be only about the books.
          But the school's leadership says the school has been quietly building its profile in sports, an attractive vehicle to garner support from the alumni.
          "Campion today is vastly different from what it was 20 years ago and we are now beginning to reap the rewards of that investment in co-curricular activities," Baston said.
          Evidence of this is the school's victory in the First Global Cricket competition last year.
          What is less known is Campion's spirit of volunteerism and outreach, which sees Campionites tutoring children and adults of nearby Chambers Lane and Air Pipe Lane and students of St Anne's High in downtown Kingston; feeding residents of the Golden Age Home in Vineyard Town, mentoring residents of the Alpha Boys Home, and the feeding of indigent persons monthly by members of the school's Interact Club.
          Objectives for Vision 2020 include the creation of a major Capital Projects Fund for infrastructure projects, and substantially increasing its current Endowment Fund of J$40million.
          The administration is targeting its alumni and parent-teacher associations, past and current parents and corporate donors to swell its coffers. A raft of activities is scheduled to mark the schools golden anniversary next year.

4 Black Pickney !!!

Ah wheh di.... ?

Is muss some Token dem find..

black?

Compared tuh you... yeah !

LOL !!