• Free ad - talk about incestious

Campion College pays tribute to 'Butch' Stewart's philanthropy

By Al Edwards
    Friday, September 25, 2009
    On Wednesday night, the chairman of Campion College's Vision 20/20 Plan, Andrew Mahfood, paid tribute to Charmain of the Sandals Group, the Jamaica Observer and Appliance Traders Limited (ATL), Gordon 'Butch' Stewart's philanthropic deeds over the years.
    One of the island's top high schools, Campion College has outlined a plan to upgrade its infrastructure, add a new science laboratory, a new auditorium, a new library and new classrooms over the next ten years.

Addressing an audience of around 250 people, including past alumni Peter Bunting and Christopher Berry, at the esteemed academy, Mahfood said: "Tonight I do not want to take up too much time reviewing his business accomplishments. I want to speak more about the philanthropic side of 'Butch' and what Jamaica and its people mean to him." Mahfood pointed to the business mogul's early days when he would help the fisherman at Whitehouse Fish Fry in Montego Bay.
    He recalled the Sandals boss renowned Butch Stewart Initiative, back in 1993, when his group of companies sold foreign exchange at below market rates every week for months, in an effort to stabalise the local dollar and keep inflation down.
    "I want to speak about a man who was quoted as saying, after his group returned Air Jamaica to the Government, " If I were called upon again, I would assist the airline. It is Jamaica's and there is nothing I wouldn't do for my country."
    Stewart attended Campion College and so did his son, Sandals CEO, Adam Stewart. Campion has announced plans to construct a new library, which is expected to come in at a cost of US$700,000. It will be named after the chairman of the Jamaica Observer's deceased son Jonathan Stewart, who also attended Campion College.
    The Stewart family will be putting up US$350,000, half the total cost of the new library, with the remainder expected to come from the school's alumni.
    'Butch' Stewart continues to give active support to over 100 projects and to many other organisations throughout Jamaica. His philanthropic efforts recall those noble efforts by some of the United States'great families of business the Carnegies, the Melons and the Rockefellers.
    Over the last three years, Sandals has given away over US$11 million in charitable donations throughout the Caribbean. Early this year, the Sandals Foundation was launched and it has already raised just under US$1 million in charitable contributions. The Sandals Foundation is headed by Heidi Clarke, and focuses on three main areas: education, the environment and local communities.
    'Butch' Stewart's largesse has been recognised through several awards. In 1992 he received the Martin Luther King Humanitarian award. He has been designated as a Paul Harris Fellow (Rotary International's highest award) and he has received two national awards, namely the Order of Jamaica and Commander of the Order of Distinction.
    Speaking with Caribbean Business Report last night, Mahfood said: "I'd like to thank 'Butch' Stewart and his family for the graciousness they have shown.
    'Butch' Stewart sees the needs of the country and always responds. He was not hesitant in coming forward in helping Campion College. He is an amazing Jamaican.
    I sincerely hope that our alumni, who number some of the country's leading business personalities, will follow Butch Stewart's lead and come to the aid of Campion College."

ah bwoy .... every man entitled to dem opinion still.

a so it go when you own you paper.
      A wonder if Murdock use fox fi push his image and agenda?

ok..but is it newsworthy or not? it's not a article saying "stewart farts but his fart does not stink"!

i think that it is not only newsworthy but a generous offer as well!

just chue seh yuh did guh deh !

Stap support almshouse..

If yuh own a papah you are not allowed to have stories printed about you !.. much less ones dat put yuh in a decent light...

Basix dat !

In today's world you better not fart too hard mi brethren it will be news .

When people own them own paper them a go publish anything positive them can get pon themself. The only way out is not to make them own it. That is why government nuh own them no more.

ah chue...jon was mi good good bredren tuh...maybe mi nuh qualified as objective on any count

Great, excellent! I see nothing wrong with this
                Yes man ah so it fi go.

To show my appreciation let me drop a Garvey:

Rockefeller who discovered oil and became the richest man in the world outside of Henry Ford, the poor boy who visualized the use of propelled mechanism and is the richest man in the world today. You are the same soul, then why should God be blamed down here by
                You when you are no good. Life is no joke, it is a positive reality. How many of us are living up to the dignity of men? There are some men who are of no use in the world because they do not exercise any thoughtfulness about the world than a sheep or cow. There are some men who could not give a sensible answer to a question because they don’t know what is happening and a sheep wouldn’t know either. Isn’t it a slander on God for man to be so ignorant when God gave him Intelligence!

We are here on our own responsibility. I am here on my own responsibility. God intended
                me to be on my own responsibility and so, in keeping with his intention, he did not join me to anybody. God has made you a unit of his intelligence and you are responsible to him and to the rest of men for your behaviour. He has given you all the things of the earth to satisfy you; he has given you control over animal life and has given you the beautiful atmosphere to use, to enjoy, yet some of you live in the darkest places where the rays of the sun never reach. You complain of starvation and hunger. Who gave the other men a job; tell me when God ever called any man to him with the exception of Moses or a few
                others who had a divine object to carry out. Have you ever thought of that? Every time you beg another man a job you reduce yourself and elevate the other man, you are the creator of your own joy and happiness.

Whom did the white man ask for a job to lay the foundation of the city and the nation. He selected his own job to do his own building. He has built his own ships, air fleet, and he goes down into the bosom of the earth and goes up to the highest of the sky, and he carried his commerce from one point to the next not with angels at the helm but himself charting God’s ocean.
                I wonder if you will think in terms of men and go out and be your own builders and architects. The race waits on you. It will never be greater than you make it and think of
                It. You haven’t laid a foundation of your commercial system, your political system, yet you mimic the white man and say you are unemployed. There is nothing scarcely for him to do. He has already built all his banks, railways, ships; he has already defined the boundaries of his political systems. He has no more cities to expand and you just follow him saying you are tired and you haven’t laid a brick; you haven’t sent one ship a thousand miles across the ocean. When we tried the Negro himself destroyed the project.

ok..but is it newsworthy or not? it's not a article saying "stewart farts but his fart does not stink"!

i think that it is not only newsworthy but a generous offer as well!
                  Definitely newsworthy...support for education is Job #1... Kudos!!

Stew Rat...

Memories evoke..