not true, salary freeze for majority of public sector workers, we were due an increase in the second year based on the mou but were told not gonna happen , the thing is the teachers an nurses been on hold even before that
Plugging the hole - $6b gap in Budget to be filled with more
let's not argue about it.
Read for yourself
Prime Minister of Jamaica cuts pay - To give up 15% from his pocket - Asks MPs to forego 10% - Wage freeze on public sector
Published: Monday | April 6, 2009
Golding
Prime Minister Bruce Golding has pledged to take a 15 per cent pay cut and called on his colleague members of parliament to sacrifice 10 per cent of their salaries as the Government prepares to table what promises to be one of the most difficult budgets in recent memory. In an address to the nation last night, Golding reiterated that the Government had been forced to take tough decisions as it crafted the 2009-2010 Budget within the atmosphere of a global economic meltdown- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
no option is cheap in the short term especially with the bandit unions. The redunancies are not cheap either.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by 1of1 View Postwhy do you bash the unions?
My wife had to work for years without a contract, my sister in law had to take a salary cut ... could that happen in Jamaica?
The unions in Jamaica are more disruptive than anything else. How many times Air Jamaica have problems because of trivial issues?"Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
i bash the unions for numerous reasons.
Unions should not be direct arms of political parties. They need a lot more independence.
The union in Jamaica have no idea what productivity is don't demand results from their workers.
the easiest thing for the union to do is block and delay work and lock up buisness place which cause lost for their worker.
They oppose very redundancy and don't provide no real training for their workers.
The unions in Ja need to read up on unions in Germany and see how they work for the a better, more productive workforce.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
You si because mi guh a school, noboady caan come tek mi fi ediat. Assasin and Lazie, stop unuh foolishness. Stop let headlines media frenzy fool unuh. I'm a numbers man suh mi look below the headlines for the details. So get out your calculators.
1) Government is yet to do layoffs - no redundancy payments
2) They had salary cuts and freezes...-no increases
3) Minister Shaw, who was speaking at the weekly post-Cabinet press briefing at Jamaica House today (Sept. 23), explained that the Government has had "to accommodate an additional $16 billion in interest costs, as well as close to $1 billion additionally, in terms of public sector wages."
Now does that math add up..question to you, the geniuses on the forum