Income tax shame!

Its not just for employees Baddaz. It is supposed to be required for everyone who has any dealing with any revenue dept. A TRN is supposed to be needed to apply for a business licence, to pay duty on imported goods, renewing a driver's licence , licensing a motor vehicle, etc,etc. You are not suppposed to be able to run a legitimate business without one.

At least that is how it was supposed to work. Maybe one of the JLIJs can say if that is how it works in practice.

They ask for a TRN when you are about to board a minibus, or so it seems!

I'm almost certain that it used pretty much as an SSN is used in the USA. At what age do they assign SSNs in America? From birth?

Di odda day mi lose mi wallet and in trying to replace the items, they keep asking for my TRN. Luckily, in recent times I sort of memorised it and was able to give them. Mi cornah woulda dark if mi nayn membah!

Look, Jamaica has a ton load of laws (shackle-proof and otherwise), rules, regulations and statutes. But, as I-man say, it's what we choose to enforce.

Cuss a badwud if yuh tink yuh bad!