• Charles responds to PNP charges on NIF

2009-09-22 18:01:05 | (3 Comments)
    Labour and Social Security Minister Pearnel Charles has hit back at the Peoples National Party (PNP) following questions it raised regarding the use by the government of the National Insurance Fund (NIF).

During the final day of the PNP’s annual conference on Sunday, PNP President Portia Simpson-Miller charged that the party left approximately $54 billion in the Fund when it demitted office in 2007.

However speaking in Parliament this afternoon, the labour and social security minister said the PNP did not take into consideration all the factors involved with the administration of the Fund.

He says as of August 31 this year the total amount in the NIF stood at $56.7 billion representing a 5 per cent increase over 2007.

Mr. Charles says during the last financial year, $8.5 billion was paid out in benefits while only $5.5 billion was collected in contributions.

He says the $3 billion deficit was filled by earnings from investments.

He added that Parliament is to be advised of a restructuring of the National Insurance

Scheme (NIS).

http://go-jamaica.com/news/read_article.php?id=12780

Why are these people wasting time entertaining Portia? It is clear these gov't members have nothing to do.

Sounded arrogant on the radio. I don't care for any public servant who has forgotten his place. Mi nuh pet and powder politician.

Arrogant? Is that the new term for facts? I noticed you haven't disputed what Charles said. What yuh have a bigger issue wid? Charles arrogance? Or Portia's attempt to twist the truth? She claimed the IMF said the group to meet with them shouldn't bother going to Washington yet the news reported that the group left the island yesterday. Now Charles exposed her again?

...which Jamaican politician don't sound arrogant...( and aggressive)...on radio-- and during public discourse?

ThankX in advance.

I am talking about arrogance, Lazie. What? Yuh going to tell me how to judge my politicians? This is nothing new. I had a real problem with Pickersgill, KD and AJ and now I'm having a problem with Shaw and Charles.

What?!?!?

all dat again. but there are degrees. i think people like Tufton, Holness, Bruce and a few more, also on the other side, don't come across as if they should be worshipped at the altar. sacrifice is more like it fi some a dem!

I am talking about arrogance, Lazie. What? Yuh going to tell me how to judge my politicians? This is nothing new. I had a real problem with Pickersgill, KD and AJ and now I'm having a problem with Shaw and Charles.

What?!?!?
                What?!?!? ..... obviously you never hear wha di comrade leader said in her .... lets call it speech.

But then the massive nuh really like that in a politician, them love the scream and catchy lyrics.