• Issue: Bolt should defer to Quarrie

Issue: Bolt should defer to Quarrie

Published: Saturday | September 19, 2009

THE EDITOR, Sir:
    I am not too uncomfortable with the prime minister's decision to name Usain Bolt ambassador-at-large. However, the PM's decision to award Bolt the national honour of Order of Jamaica is premature.

I think there is something amiss, maybe even disconcerting that Bolt, whose career at the senior level has only just begun, is to get the Order of Jamaica ahead of Donald Quarrie. Bolt should tell the prime minister he is prepared to accept the Order of Jamaica years after Don Quarrie has been so honoured.

bad idea
    I think it is also not the best decision to name Highway 2000 after Bolt. Wouldn't it have been more fitting to rename the highway after the person(s) responsible for that roadway ... or maybe a cultural icon such as Miss Lou.

If the prime minister really wanted to name a roadway after the sprint king, then he should have chosen the road leading to Sherwood Content and environs. That way the government would be constrained to give residents in those communities a first-class road. It is not too late for Bolt to refuse the Highway 2000 honour and to so advise the prime minister.
    I am, etc.,
    MARK DAWES
    mark.dawes@yahoo.co.uk
    Kingston 10

Every Tom Dick and Harry have an opinion.

You cant please everyone.

All these years DQ nuh get OJ and its an issue now?

In any case, Bolt has in his short time accomplished more than DQ or any sprinter in the history of the sport for that matter.

Willi,

Giving the OJ to Bolt simply underlines some glaring historical omissions. I just hope that Bolt keeps it real and doesn't let all of the attention spoil him.

It is not about historic as Willi pointed out it is about achievement and nobody else can boast what Bolt has done. He deserves something for it.

Let us hope it doesn't spoil him or he doesn't do anything foolish but remember Enron and Sanford had their names all over things so he wouldn't be the first.

Me nuh understand why people making it like this should be a chronological ting? We haffe give it to DQ, Merlene, Holding, etc, etc before we give Bolt?

Nonsense!

I will say it again, Bolt today is at WORST the second most recognizable Jamaican in history, and I think at least for right now he is the most recognizable.

The man has TRANSCENDED his field of expertise like only one other Jamaican in history has done. You do not have to be a T&F fan to know who he is, just as you do not have to be a reggae music fan to know who Bob Marley is.

Look like we don't get that yet?

Bob cyaa walk one meter in Kartel's shoe
            Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
            Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

You right cause if Bob go a Gazza the leaders of Palestine and Isreal have fi recognise while him nuh have fi go a nuh gully unless a cane river.