Sigh! Sass I am disapointed.
    Just accept that there are just some people for whom a nuanced argument is meaningless.

They can't see the forest...but for the trees.

Case in point...in their world...If one is Jamaican..././one is either pro PNP or pro JLP.

No other state of being exists.
    Last edited by Don1; September 21, 2009, 12:23 PM.

this have nothing to do with JLP/PNP. you don't realise?

I-man I have noticed the same reason that gives me motivation to try is the same thing that gives others excuse to fail. Yes the odds are greater for failure under certain situation but I know many poor communities who are motivated by a few people and it makes a difference even when the community is poor.

As for bad schools I just watch a turnaround of a bad, failing school in the Atlanta region and all it took was one hardnose prinicpal who didn't take no for an answer driving the teachers, using them to use proper tools and been accountable. Yes it drove some out but in 2 years the scores were as high as any of the rich schools in the district.

I do believe what needs to be done is look at other communities and see why they failed and turn it around. By the way you know that our bwoy Cory Booker had a 40% reduction in murder in Newark in one year?

All that is fine and well and should be commended, but let us not use those who succeed IN SPITE OF the obstacles that poverty creates to make nonsensical statements like "poverty is not a cause of crime".

We need to learn to differentiate between observations at the micro and macro level.

Nothing irritates me more than when people counter a statement like:

"Too much sugar/starch in the diet and lack of exercise can lead to diabetes "

with a stupid argument like...

"Well, me know some man who eat pure yam and dumpling and drink pure soda and nuh exercise and dem nuh have diabetes, so dat cyan be true!"

I see that kind of faulty logic so often on this forum, which I suspect has an above-average level of education at least by Jamaican standards. I just cannot understand it.

don't mirco level affect the macro level?

One of the biggest problem with Jamaica is no studies are done and the success stories are not replicated. While I understand what you are saying I see where leadership and say good upbringing have more influence on crime than poverty and that is at the macro level. Sometimes we move away from the kind of upbringing we have and use studies to justify people irrational behavior, that I see here even more often.

As I said there is no study I know of that say poverty by itself leads to crime. Ghana is as poor as us and their murder rate is a lot less. There are many poor communities I know in Ja that one teacher or pastor change the lifes of youths and this happen a lot, and need to happen more so that even though we maybe financially challenged we have a low crime rate.

this have nothing to do with JLP/PNP. you don't realise?
              ~sigh~