I'm even more shocked by Gamma's reply. I'm hoping he was commending the last sentence and nothing else.
New York crime rate continues to drop in recession
Were you ever poor or destitute at any time of your life or do you know anyone who was, were they all criminals or did they steal or shop lift or break into people's homes at nights and hold them up at knife/gun point.
Poverty is not a cause of crime, depravity, lack of morals, laziness these are the causes of crimeSolidarity is not a matter of well wishing, but is sharing the very same fate whether in victory or in death.
poverty by itself is not a cause for crime, but coupled with what Sickko said then you talking.
There are poor countries who have low crime rates.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
No they are not all criminals Sickko, argue like you have sense nuh? We talking aboout crime RATES.
Poverty does not automatically makes you a criminal, but poverty creates an environment where more people are tempted to commit crimes. I thought that was obvious? I guess not.
I guess its just a very strange coincidence thatall over the world there is more crime in communitites that have higher poverty rates right?
And the other things you mention, depravity, lack of work ethic , etc are also affected by poverty. You are confusing symptoms with cause.
And please don't tell me you know people who poor and have good work ethic, we ALL do! We also all know people who have had unprotected sex and never got HIV. It doesn't mean unprotected sex doesn't contribute to HIV infection."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
there are many instances of this. Maroon town in Jamaica is a perfect example. They have the lowest crime rate in Ja. Most of the time we are not looking for those examples.
I can gurantee you there are poor neigbourhood in NYC that is crime free as people look out for their one another and their kids.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
No that is not what I meant. What you have done is pick out ONE community which is by no means typical in how it is governed. I agree there are specific communities like that in any country.
I am talking overall rates. I don't know ANY country that has the overall crime rate in the communities that represent lets say, the bottom 50% of income earners being less than the communities that represent the top 50% of earners.
It just does not happen.Why? Because more poverty almost always means less education, less opportunity, less role models, etc etc. And all those tend to lead to higher crime rates especially among youths."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
"It just does not happen.Why? Because more poverty almost always means less education, less opportunity, less role models, etc etc. And all those tend to lead to higher crime rates especially among youths."
Not necessarily. These things by themselves don't mean crime. We as youths were poor but we stuck together and work our way out of it. The fact is the mentality that tell them they can't succeed is and the desire to have what other people have and the constant drumming and worshipping of Dons.
If poverty lead to crime I would have been jailed for a long time. I will pick it up later- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
I'm convinced that Sass believes that the best way to cure mental illlness is to use a rock to scalp a hole in the person's head so that the demons can escape.Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll: