• MoBay not fit for habitation - Justice Donald McIntosh

MoBay not fit for habitation - Justice Donald McIntosh

BY PAUL A REID Observer West writer
    Thursday, September 17, 2009
    MONTEGO BAY, St James - High Court Judge Donald McIntosh yesterday began the Michaelmas session of the St James Circuit Court with a damning indictment of the second city.
    Donald McIntosh (Photo: Paul Reid)
    "Montego Bay, once a hospitable place has descended to a place 'rife with corruption' and not fit for habitation where 'people are killed for no apparent reasons'," he said, noting that although he once looked forward to visiting the western city, these days he "felt like an alien" as "based on reports this is not a place to live anymore".
    His comments came after Crown Counsel Maxine Jackson outlined the list of 39 cases - which included 22 murders - to be tried in the six-week session.
    McIntosh said that while murders and corruption were not unique to any one area, it appears "St James was the foremost in that trend". He added, however, that there was hope "that the citizens who are interested in law and order" will understand it is their duty "to reclaim their land".
    The court heard that of the 138 potential jurors who were served, just 22 were present at the start of the Circuit. At least 70 will be needed for the duration of the session.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/weste..._MCINTOSH_.asp

What say you - you've spend a lot of time there.

Nuh bwoy weh wear powder wig cyaan tell mi nuttin

Thanks, MdmeX, for reminding people that I now live in a place that is not fit for habitation!

I agree with the statement to some degree. Mobay - with some exception being made for the surrounding environs of Bogue, Fairfield, Ironshore, Rosehall, etc. - is a lawless place when it comes to road use. Traffic lights and signs mean nothing. The police officers (not those fine traffic cops in another thread) drive like taximen and look away at obvious violations of everything on the road. Downtown Mobay is an ant's nest of people on top of people on top of taxi on top of filth! You do not want to go there if you don't directly have business down there.

Thankfully, the city is expanding by leaps and bounds, on either side. Good roads and good commercial districts but the traffic thru these areas remains the same - lawless!

Mobay needs some major intervention. It doesn't suffer from the garrison mentality of Kingston where some don believes he is entitled to the work and will kill if he doesn't get it. Mind you, I work on the outskirts. If something major was happening in Norwood or such districts, I would be very surprised if we don't see the same nonsense taking place. It's just that nothing at all takes place in those districts and they are dying quickly! And because of that, the entire city might become one huge garrison if wi not careful.

Potholes take months if not years before they are repaired. Hell, even the tennis courts I play on...yuh know what, let me stop. I'm beginning to sound like HL.

But hey, the Hip Strip is still hot - Margaritaville, Coral Cliff, and all sorts of lovely restaurants and bars that are priced out of the reach of the ordinary Jamaican.

Sickko, what is your view on your hometown? Maybe this Kingstonian is being unfair and too critical.
        Last edited by Mosiah; September 17, 2009, 11:11 AM.

being unfair and too critical. you mosiah?!! no WAAAY!

I don't know much about Mobay, but I passed through to hail up some of the guys I worked with on the cruise line and those guys are suffering. No work whatsoever. I took them out to the hip strip and treated them to lunch and it was like i bought a car for them. Sad.

I spent some time at the "Hip Strip" in Montego bay Recently. That area seems ok.

Made a wrong turn on one of my runs into Mo Bay and it was not hard to see the contrast in appearance and care.....................

Ate the biggest Red Snapper at Margaritaville...

But yes Mosiah, i was reading your submission with a on my face....wondering why yuh trying to sound as if you are objective as I am............

What is that on Donald McIntosh head?

Thanks in advance

a weave. duh!

OK. Thanks.

I will check my local Beauty Supply outlet for one.

I like it.

People in Flankers need descent housing and running water.
                      I was in MoBay last February, and I was not impressed.

Actually Justice McIntosh (talks with a sing song voice for a man of his built/build) was talking about the wanton and thoughtless murders and other crimes that seem to be growing worst every day and is threatening to turn into anarchy.

He is correct, sad to say and Mosiah I would not rest too comfy on those satin pillow cases in your neck of the woods cause there are at least two major garrisons close by and they will soon start spilling over.

Years ago when I moved to where I live now which I chose because it is quiet and relatively crime free, I was warned by a neighbour not to make it a habit of walking on the roads unarmed or alone after certain times cause there are several unregulated communities close by with people who will think nothing of robbing you.

Two years or so ago my doctor's husband who lived up the road, was shot and killed at his gate at about 11pm one night.

But a lot of these killers are 'supported' by politicians or people with power; one guy who they nick named 'King Evil' and who was wanted for at least six murders keeps getting out as no one will testify againt hiom and he keeps flying to the US where he was held by police a few mlonths ago.

How does a man like him get a passport and visa and ticket to get to the US?

This is the third time he is being held in the US and the authorities there are forced to let him go when they cant find anything there to jail him for and he comes back here and is left go as no one will testify against him.

The judge was referring to crime and violence and my post dealt mostly with traffic, yes, but I think the two are connected. The lawlessness on the streets most certainly will spill over into other areas of every day life. You just don't get the feeling that there is any law enforcement officer anywhere doing anything. Whenever there is a traffic pile-up, like the other day when the JPS pole fell into the street, it was a mad free-for-all! No cop in sight for the entire mayhem!

And the ghetto areas have just mushroomed since the last time worked here several years ago.

Oh yes the traffic situation is crazy...Bogue intersection can take anywhere up to 45 minutes to negotiate in the evenings and taxi drivers are a law unto themselves be happy you dont need to be down town on a daily basis like I am..there are some taxi that run to Green Pond and Cornwall Courts that literally park in the middle of the busy street to wait for passengers.

It seems like a consensus among taxi drivers that the proposed traffic changes and the installation of the new street lights are being done to make their lives more difficult as well as to make more money off them.

Of course they don't see it as an attempt for traffic to flow more freely as well as to eradicate illegal parking...

It is not just Flanker people that need decent housing but if you checked you might find that a lot of who don't have the facilities are those who are occupying where they live illegally...not all mind you but in places like Flankers that is a possibility.