What shall be the fate of Reynolds pier?

• What shall be the fate of Reynolds pier?

The fate of the Reynolds pier in St Ann, and along with it the future viability of Ocho Rios as a bustling cruise ship port, rests firmly in Government hands as deliberations on its appropriate use drag on.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/magaz...OLDS_PIER_.asp

umm ...why not accept the Carnival proposal and then use barges to transport the limstone to the pier in D Bay?
    Last edited by Lazie; September 17, 2009, 09:08 AM.

lazie the decision is not made yet.
      More than likely that is what will be done if you read the article but the have make the parties aware of what they are doing before going public.

If the idea is to move the cruise ship passengers from Ocho Rios to Falmouth, then that would be a bad idea. Falmouth does not have nearly as many attractions as Ocho Rios. Indeed, I would say there's no place like Ocho Rios for cruise ship passengers. Not even Mobay can compare.

This looks like a war between the rival cruise ship lines and the govt. should not be led by them. They are thinking about their own bottom line. How about Jamaica thinking about its own?

the trend for the cruise line is to have their own ports. If you don't then they simple don't come. Without them there is no bottomline.

perhaps! but whatever happens, ocho rios should not be allowed to die as a cruise ship destination. and if i had to pick one of the two, falmouth or ochi, it's clearly ochi for me!

ochie will not die as Carnival wants it. It may end up if they own the piers then there will be more ships coming in as it is less expensive for them and the upkeep will the less for the government.

The right decisions just have to be made. As you talk about dying cruise pier, Mobay is in more danger as the attractions in Ochi in St.Ann is more than St.James.

The worst thing about the Mobay pier is the pier itself, or its immediate environs. Successive govts. (look, Sass, a comparison!) have ignored it and it looks like hell right now. I know countless persons who work/worked on ships who say that many tourists do not disembark in Mobay because of the hell-hole-like conditions of the place.

I am really not too aware of the state and I trust your judgement. One of the thing with Mobay is while it is a beautiful town and vibrant, what do cruise ship passenger do to pass their time that is a different experience?

Having Dunns River, Mystic Mountain, Dolphin Cove, Chaka Cove, Mutlipi farms and gardens etc. make Ochi a unique experience.

I am really not too aware of the state and I trust your judgement. One of the thing with Mobay is while it is a beautiful town and vibrant, what do cruise ship passenger do to pass their time that is a different experience?

Having Dunns River, Mystic Mountain, Dolphin Cove, Chaka Cove, Mutlipi farms and gardens etc. make Ochi a unique experience.
                    Plus the birth place of great Jamaicans like Bob, Marcus, Burning Spear, Lazie to name a few.

I agree! And that's why, one way or the other, Ochi has to remain our prime cruise ship port.

Dem born a Ochi? News to me!

.. the garden parish. Don't hate.

Me hate!? But it look like yuh figget where the family great house is located!

a wha dis faada!

Me hate!? But it look like yuh figget where the family great house is located!

a wha dis faada!
                              .. oh yeah!