Name highway after P J Patterson

• Name highway after P J Patterson

Honours for Bolt more fitting for someone with a lifetime of distinction says Henry

Jamaicans have given mixed reactions to the announcement that Highway 2000 is to be renamed after athletic superstar Usain Bolt.
    Prime Minister Bruce Golding told Parliament on Tuesday that the track star will also receive the Order of Jamaica, the country's fourth highest honour and will also appointed Ambassador at Large with full diplomatic status.

The news has however, not gone down well in some quarters.
    Martin Henry, Lecturer in Communication Studies at the University of Technology believes the Government has acted prematurely.
    According to Mr. Henry, some of the honours being bestowed on Mr. Bolt should be reserved for someone who has delivered a lifetime of distinction.
    "Bolt is 23 years old, (anything can) happens over the next 40 years of his life in terms of future accomplishments which he may or may not have, in terms of future conduct which we hope will not deteriorate (and) in terms of the way he lives as a national icon. Certainly when you name outstanding things after outstanding people, you'll want this kind of high credibility factor to be retained," he said.

Mr. Henry added that Highway 2000 should have been named after its chief architect.
    "A man named P. J. Patterson is the political architect of Highway 2000 and certainly from the political sphere, if anybody deserves to have their name attached to the highway it should be the retired politician, (who's) still fit and able but has a long track record of political accomplishments and who was the principal architect of this system," said Mr. Henry.
    He added that the National Awards Committee should consider a new category to honour achievers like Usain Bolt.

Not yet a done deal
    In the meantime, questions have been raised whether the Government has the legal authority to rename Highway 2000.
    A political source told RJR News that the Highway is still under the control of the French firm Bouygues and permission may have to be sought in order for the name to be changed.
    Bouygues is part owner of Trans-Jamaica Highway Limited which has a 35 year concession to develop Highway 2000.
    On Tuesday night, RJR News spoke with an insider in the Ministry of Transport and Works who said legal advice will have to be sought on the matter.

Has this PM also behaved in a rash manner?!

The law is not a shackle!

[quote=Lazie;189284]

Mr. Henry added that Highway 2000 should have been named after its chief architect.
      "A man named P. J. Patterson is the political architect of Highway 2000 and certainly from the political sphere, if anybody deserves to have their name attached to the highway it should be the retired politician, (who's) still fit and able but has a long track record of political accomplishments and who was the principal architect of this system," said Mr. Henry.
      He added that the National Awards Committee should consider a new category to honour achievers like Usain Bolt.[quote]

Agree! PJ Patterson have achieved much more than bolt , he was the one
      who let Highway 2000 happen , he was knighted by juan carlos of Spain , and have served 14 years as Prime Minister of Jamaica .
      Jamaica you mite get a Petroleum well with
      United Oil by 1.31.26;You also has a NNPC option with the Abuja accord from 2022.What
      happens then I don't know.A Petrol Well is
      Probably forthcoming...

I thought PJ was disqualified on the basis of the Shell Oil scandal.. to name just one...

Mr. Patterson also presided over one of the darkest times in Jamaica's history.. crime, debt, transfer of 'wealth' from poor to rich....

Mr. Martin seems to be talking out of two sides of his mouth...

LOL !!

Law ?

LOL !

Yuh trying to hard me tell yuh.. pace yuhself..

I thought PJ was disqualified on the basis of the Shell Oil scandal.. to name just one...

Mr. Patterson also presided over one of the darkest times in Jamaica's history.. crime, debt, transfer of 'wealth' from poor to rich....

Mr. Martin seems to be talking out of two sides of his mouth...

LOL !!
            Hey ..be fair. PM Patterson have a lifetime or is it a "body of work"?

Agree! PJ Patterson have achieved much more than bolt , he was the one
              who let Highway 2000 happen , he was knighted by juan carlos of Spain , and have served 14 years as Prime Minister of Jamaica .
              mek PJ stay wich part im deh...nuff more peeple deserve dat more dan im.

Ah nuh fi im money bil it...nuh tax an borrow money whey peeple haffi pay back?

wi nuh short ah peeple fi name tings afta....

Bob Marley
              Marcus Garvey
              Paul Bogle
              Miss Lou
              Ranny
              Cudjoe (Kojo)

ad infinitum

i think its premature what if something happens to bolt afterall this is track and field.. I hate to be the party pooper and hope nothing happens.. but ..

Maudib I disagree with your history , PJ reminds of papa doc of haiti whom
                  incidentally serve 14 years . Maudib crime,debt ,transfer of 'wealth'
                  from poor to rich ... is a hemispheric problem ... meaning it happens in Brazil ,
                  chile , USA , Argentina and Trinidad .
                  Last edited by wbvs; September 16, 2009, 05:11 PM.
                  United Oil by 1.31.26;You also has a NNPC option with the Abuja accord from 2022.What
                  Probably forthcoming...

Originally posted by wbvs View Post
                    Maudib I disagree with your history , PJ reminds of papa doc of haiti whom
                    incidentally serve 14 years .
                    Gee, wbvs, who else does PJ remind you of?

sigh

sigh
                      Idi Amin?? LOL!!

I think it's premature too...

I think a highway is named after Bobby and Whitney Houston here in Atlanta.

Kinda kringe(?) whenever I see the sign.
                        Last edited by HL; September 16, 2009, 06:37 PM.

It maybe premature but it is good for business. The high school that Bolt went to is also right off the highway. There should be a hugh sign saying USAIN BOLT, ALUMNI.

If Bolt mess up then you rename the highway.

sigh
                            Yes both papa doc and PJ were beloved in there countries.
                            Probably forthcoming...

Idi Amin?? LOL!!
                              papa doc was a good man , baby doc was bad.
                              Probably forthcoming...