Name highway after P J Patterson

you ask like you tell me something.

The Hiway produce some oppurtunity for growth with quicker transportation but cutting out major town will result in some lost.

A town like Falmouth who had a vibrant market and people stopping as they go by will be affected negitiavely.

As I said I whether growth or not it is a good part of PJ's legacy and I have no problem with the highway been name after him. I have other problems with his leadership not the highway.

I'm yet to see a highway produce ghost towns of our towns. certainly, not our larger towns like May Pen, Falmouth, Mandeville, etc. That is a myth that has never really materialised. And it is something that just had to happen, what with the mad traffic jams in these towns. Browns Town could use a nearby highway right now!

However, I do know that some small towns, villages really, like Rio Bueno in Trelawny, have been wiped off the map because of the North Coast highway.

I'm yet to see a highway produce ghost towns of our towns. certainly, not our larger towns like May Pen, Falmouth, Mandeville, etc. That is a myth that has never really materialised. And it is something that just had to happen, what with the mad traffic jams in these towns. Browns Town could use a nearby highway right now!

However, I do know that some small towns, villages really, like Rio Bueno in Trelawny, have been wiped off the map because of the North Coast highway.
        Wiped off the map? Rio Bueno?

I would not bet on it. It is situated in a beautiful spot. Perfect for high priced residential living.

I don't know who would say it would create ghost town, however Falmouth is used to having direct tourist dollars from people passing through. As you said some displacement has occurred.

In Port Maria for example the road went through the town and it created a lot of traffic but much more oppurtunity for the vendors in that town.

I guess we can't have it both ways.

Wiped off the map? Rio Bueno?

I would not bet on it. It is situated in a beautiful spot. Perfect for high priced residential living.
            There is nothing to bet on, Karl. I know the place, I have friends there who have businesses there, so I know what's happening first hand!

I guess we can't have it both ways.
              Exactly! The madness from taxis and massive crowds would eventually have driven away tourists and others.

I notice you didn't get what you want so you fail to respond to my answers.

Were you really interested in honest answers or just want something to run with, as I thought.

bolt went to william knibb...

my little community has died slowly since Gray's Inn and Jamaica Producers. I can't imagine if they had diverted the road what would have happened to the people who own a shop or a stall, although some cars now pass through at 100 MPH.

I notice you didn't get what you want so you fail to respond to my answers.

Were you really interested in honest answers or just want something to run with, as I thought.
                      I always assume the answers found here are honest!
                      I may not always agree with the positions taken...but received as honestly taken!

well???

That is Bolt's school, William Knibb HS, but the highway that passes it is the North Coast Highway, not Highway 2000.
                          Mo I was in Jamaica last year summer I drove on the North Coast Highway
                          from MoBay to Discovery Bay , was that North Coast Highway or Highway 2000 whats the different ?
                          Jamaica you mite get a Petroleum well with
                          United Oil by 1.31.26;You also has a NNPC option with the Abuja accord from 2022.What
                          happens then I don't know.A Petrol Well is
                          Probably forthcoming...

Originally posted by wbvs View Post
                            Mo I was in Jamaica last year summer I drove on the North Coast Highway
                            from MoBay to Discovery Bay , was that North Coast Highway or Highway 2000 whats the different ?
                            Yuh need fi spen more time ah yaad.

The North Coast Highway runs the length of, yes, you guessed it, the North Coast! Highway 2000 is inland, linking Kingston to Mandeville eventually and Kingston to Ocho Rios.

I believe the NCH is supposed to being around the eastern end of the island, linking Port Antonio to Morant Bay, so, it will not always be on the North Coast.

No, Don1, that's okay. I'm happy to tell him about it!