• How to manage economic crisis and win an election

Bloomberg News, sent from my iPhone.

Norway’s Premier Wins Re-Election, First in 16 Years

Sept. 15 (Bloomberg) -- Norwegian Labor Party Prime Minister Jens Stoltenberg became the first leader in 16 years to win re-election after steering the Nordic nation out of a recession and vowing to improve welfare.

Labor and its partners, the Socialist Left and the Center Party, secured 86 seats out of 169 seats in parliament, after 99.9 percent of the votes were counted. The opposition, fronted by the Progress Party and Conservative Party, won 83 mandates.

Stoltenberg, 50, the first premier re-elected since his mentor Gro Harlem Brundtland won a second term in 1993, spent a record of Norway’s $430 billion petroleum wealth this year to revive the economy and keep unemployment at the lowest in Europe. Voters rejected the oppositions’ calls for tax cuts.

“It looks like the sitting government will be re- elected,” said Johannes Bergh, a political scientist at the Institute for Social Research in Oslo. “It’s quite unusual and a great victory for the Labor Party.”

Labor won 64 seats, up from 61 in 2005. The Socialist Left fell 4 seats to 11 and the Center Party kept its 11 mandates. The Progress Party gained 3 to 41 seats and the Conservatives surged 7 to 30 seats. The Liberals dropped 8 to 2 seats and the Christian Democrats declined 1 to 10 seats.

“We’re three parties who have worked together for four years, so we have a lot of issues in common,” Stoltenberg said in a televised interview yesterday. “I’m confident we will find common solutions.”

Social Benefits

Stoltenberg has promised to keep taxes stable and spend more money on elderly care as the party strives for full employment. Finance Minister Kristin Halvorsen’s Socialist Left vowed to stop an expansion of oil and gas exploration in environmentally sensitive areas in northern Norway and the Center Party promised to spend more on roads and railways.

“It’s more about what you don’t get than what you get,” Stein Bruun, chief economist at SEB Enskilda ASA in Oslo, said in an interview today. “You’re not getting lower taxes, you’re not getting privatization of state holdings and you’re not getting competition in some sectors.”

Norway struck oil in the North Sea 40 years ago, making the country the world’s second-richest nation per capita after Luxembourg, with a 2008 budget surplus of about 20 percent of gross domestic product. The wealth has posed problems for successive governments in juggling demands for spending and tax cuts, while keeping the economy from overheating.

Milder Recession

Norway emerged from a recession last quarter after a milder slump than its Nordic neighbors, spurred by investments in its oil industry and stimulus measures. The government proposed spending 130 billion kroner ($22 billion) on the stimulus package this year, the biggest in more than three decades.

The so-called mainland economy, which excludes oil and gas, will grow 2.5 percent next year after shrinking 1.5 percent this year, the central bank forecasts. The bank cut interest rates to a record 1.25 percent and signaled in August that rates may rise earlier than previously predicted as a recovery starts.

The result is “a sign that people think that the government has handled the crisis well”, said Erik Bruce, senior economist at Nordea Bank AB in Oslo. “It shows that people appreciate the work the government has done.”

Tax Cuts

The Conservative Party and Progress Party both advocated tax cuts while also promising to improve education and elderly care. The Progress Party, led by Siv Jensen, posted its best result since it was formed as an anti-tax movement in 1973, cementing its spot as the largest opposition party.

The Conservatives, lead by Erna Solberg, 48, gained the most even as she failed in her bid to become the first female premier in 13 years.

Stoltenberg first became premier in 2000 after a vote of no-confidence ousted a Christian Democrat-led government. One year later his party had its worst election since 1924.

He returned in 2005 with the current coalition, Norway’s first majority government in 20 years. They ousted a bloc of Conservatives, Christian Democrats and Liberals by vowing to spend more on health and education and rolling back some of the 23.5 billion kroner in tax cuts in the prior four years.

To contact the reporter on this story: Josiane Kremer in Oslo at Jkremer4@bloomberg.net .

Find out more about Bloomberg for iPhone: http://bbiphone.bloomberg.com/iphone

Man round yah a talk like the crisis have no reflection on Jamaican politics.
    Them think a business as usual even when Bauxite companies close down.

Not a soul thinks so, Sass. Some of us are just concerned that the crisis has provided a good excuse for the govt to not do a solitary thing.

Did you actually post that with a straight face? The more I read unuh posts is the more convinced I am that y'all don't live in the real world. Gwaan hide from reality.

Man round yah a talk like the crisis have no reflection on Jamaican politics.
          Them think a business as usual even when Bauxite companies close down.

Wrong.

It is because there is this crisis that there is also the extreme NEED and wonderful OPPORTUNITY to remake Jamaica and the way we function. In times of crisis many people are more open to change...look at the US electing a Black man to be president!
          Absent a crisis that would not have happened now.

Our stupid politicians don't want change...the system works for them as it is now.

Any real change may endanger their tribal claims.

Sorry to buss your bubble electing a black man at this point is only smybolic as so far we haven't gotten out of the crisis and everything is stuck in the same tribal congress.

As usual you miss the point bredrin.

Point being, the mere election of a Black Man is revolutionary for this image conscious country...symbolism or not.

Point being this would not have happened without the crisis.

Point being no way would Americans even CONTEMPLATE the reforms being pushed by Obama...absent an extreme crisis.

In Mandarin Chinese...the word for CRISIS is identical to the word for OPPORTUNITY.

That's the point.
              Last edited by Don1; September 16, 2009, 11:56 AM.

what is the point?
                Are you looking for economic improvement or votes?

The fact is America is as divided as it was before the crisis. Obama is a good gentlemen with good intention but don't fool yourself that much is accomplished in this time of crisis as Democrats can't even agree muchless the obstructionist republicans.

Tell me and tell me what exactly electing Obama has really done to change America fundamentally. Tell me exactly how it has so far translating into economic growth. Without that it is all socially good but nothing else, and I support Obama.

what is the point?
                  Are you looking for economic improvement or votes?

The fact is America is as divided as it was before the crisis. Obama is a good gentlemen with good intention but don't fool yourself that much is accomplished in this time of crisis as Democrats can't even agree muchless the obstructionist republicans.

Tell me and tell me what exactly electing Obama has really done to change America fundamentally. Tell me exactly how it has so far translating into economic growth. Without that it is all socially good but nothing else, and I support Obama.
                  this is not really about Obama who has been in office 8 short months....let's discard that notion.

it's about how to use a crisis to ATTEMPT to restructure which he is doing...whether or to what extent he succeeds is another question.

GOJ is making no attempt at serious restructuring...that I see as their main failing.

All I am saying is try been a bit fair, it is not easy to lead in this time.

Thank god Portia is not the PM now.

There is a difference between earning 430 Billion and OWING 430 Billion..

Guess which side of the equation Jamaica is on...

Sometimes I really wondah if unnuh serious.. cannot be. must be a comedy show...

The alternative is frightening...

It takes cash to care...

Dem man ah joke.

PNP could not even lead during the GOOD TIMES... how dem have the temerity to have a voice during crisis is beyond me..

All mi can seh is dem and dem followahs BRAZEN !

If they could even spell Moral Compass after 18 years of despicable behaviour dem woulda retire en bloc or at minimum STFU...

All I am saying is try been a bit fair, it is not easy to lead in this time.

Thank god Portia is not the PM now.
                            It's never an easy time to lead Jamaica.

You ignore or don't understand my main point.

This situation in Jamaica can only start to be addressed by leaders showing vision and a nationalistic outlook.... that's where the problem solving starts.

They have not yet started....that's the problem.

Dem man ah joke.

PNP could not even lead during the GOOD TIMES... how dem have the temerity to have a voice during crisis is beyond me..

All mi can seh is dem and dem followahs BRAZEN !

If they could even spell Moral Compass after 18 years of despicable behaviour dem woulda retire en bloc or at minimum STFU...
                              The sycophant's lament. LOL!!! Whoeee!!!