How to manage economic crisis and win an election

If you do a little research you will see they met at Vale Royal and agree on all terms of the crime bill before it became public. Golding even made changes to accomodate the process. Until now the PNP don't say anything in public against it so you don't have to believe

Jamaica government, opposition agree on crime plan Taken from Caribbean360 Prime Minister Golding said the moves agreed to by both sides require more intensified police activity, but gave no details of the plan itself. Instead he said that the society would have to make some choices as to whether it was prepared to be inconvenienced in order to restore law and order. (File photo) KINGSTON, Jamaica, June 13, 2008 - Jamaica's ruling Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) and the Opposition People's National Party (PNP) have agreed on a crime plan for the country, with both sides agreeing that crime is a matter which needs urgent attention.
      The Bruce Golding government and the opposition reached consensus during over four hours of talks on Wednesday to discuss a wide range of issues. Crime was at the top of the agenda, as the country faces a spiralling rate that has seen 700 murders recorded so far this year, and the meeting was briefed by the police on its operational master plan.
      Prime Minister Golding said the moves agreed to by both sides require more intensified police activity, but gave no details of the plan itself. Instead he said that the society would have to make some choices as to whether it was prepared to be inconvenienced in order to restore law and order.
      The meeting also focused on the need for legislative changes to deal with the granting of bail for gun crimes; the expediting of cases generally and specifically those related to gun crimes; improving the morale of the Jamaica Constabulary Force; the strengthening of existing systems to improve the process of intelligence gathering and the strengthening of the operational structures that will better enable the Police Force to more effectively contain and control the increasing incidence of crime and violence.
      The Opposition, led by PNP leader Portia Simpson-Miller, gave its full commitment to support measures necessary to strengthen the Force and has agreed to engage in a process of ongoing discussions with the government in order to assist in the provision of recommendations and monitoring of the process by which implementation takes place.
      Mrs Simpson-Miller said the meeting was frank and productive and assured that the Opposition would support the government in anything that positively impacts the nation.
      She also commended the security forces and called on Jamaicans to support them in their crime fighting efforts, appealing to criminals to "cease and desist" their activities.
      Both parties are to continue dialogue on a number of key issues, especially those relating to crime.

Jamaica government, opposition agree on crime plan Taken from Caribbean360 Prime Minister Golding said the moves agreed to by both sides require more intensified police activity, but gave no details of the plan itself. Instead he said that the society would have to make some choices as to whether it was prepared to be inconvenienced in order to restore law and order. (File photo) KINGSTON, Jamaica, June 13, 2008 - Jamaica's ruling Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) and the Opposition People's National Party (PNP) have agreed on a crime plan for the country, with both sides agreeing that crime is a matter which needs urgent attention.
        The Bruce Golding government and the opposition reached consensus during over four hours of talks on Wednesday to discuss a wide range of issues. Crime was at the top of the agenda, as the country faces a spiralling rate that has seen 700 murders recorded so far this year, and the meeting was briefed by the police on its operational master plan.
        Prime Minister Golding said the moves agreed to by both sides require more intensified police activity, but gave no details of the plan itself. Instead he said that the society would have to make some choices as to whether it was prepared to be inconvenienced in order to restore law and order.
        The meeting also focused on the need for legislative changes to deal with the granting of bail for gun crimes; the expediting of cases generally and specifically those related to gun crimes; improving the morale of the Jamaica Constabulary Force; the strengthening of existing systems to improve the process of intelligence gathering and the strengthening of the operational structures that will better enable the Police Force to more effectively contain and control the increasing incidence of crime and violence.
        The Opposition, led by PNP leader Portia Simpson-Miller, gave its full commitment to support measures necessary to strengthen the Force and has agreed to engage in a process of ongoing discussions with the government in order to assist in the provision of recommendations and monitoring of the process by which implementation takes place.
        Mrs Simpson-Miller said the meeting was frank and productive and assured that the Opposition would support the government in anything that positively impacts the nation.
        She also commended the security forces and called on Jamaicans to support them in their crime fighting efforts, appealing to criminals to "cease and desist" their activities.
        Both parties are to continue dialogue on a number of key issues, especially those relating to crime.
        Not completely helpful. No details here on what was agreed to.

The public should have been engaged as well in such discussions...especially if what was proposed involved revising the Constitution.

That's a failure of leadership. Jamaica is much more than the JLP and the PNP tribes.

again you go assuming. The whole process involved many human rights groups and other community groups. There was a lot of compromise in the bill. The fact is whatever the Bill is both parties agreed on it.

At what stage do you decide to go forward with a bill? The PNP said they were satisfied with the Bill. They haven't come out against anything in it so why not let it go forward?

If you do a little research you will see they met at Vale Royal and agree on all terms of the crime bill before it became public. Golding even made changes to accomodate the process. Until now the PNP don't say anything in public against it so you don't have to believe
            If the GOJ wants the Opposition's support.... dem haffi leggo di tribal crap.

Mek di PNP falla dem lead.

Leadership 101.

LOL !!

"Leggo di tribal crap"

Yuh spin more than a gig.

And suppose the PNP want CCJ ?

LOL !!

Next election mek sure the JLP get dem Majority..that is the lesson to be learned.

Next.

I will stop here because it is obvious even though your argument that the government could go it alone was proven wrong, and now the fact that they actually consulted and get the approval of the opposition, you still don't think they are worthy of any blame, you going into new process of consultation which was also done to various interest groups not politically connected including JFJ.

Yes stop.. please. Your analysis is faulty.

I stated from the beginning that constitutional changes need the PNP's support. You don't seem too familiar with our constitution.

Merely having talks with the PNP is grossly inadequate....naive even to believe that's all it will take to build confidence between the parties.

I further stated that since the JLP needs the support of the PNP to effect changes they feel are necessary...IT IS STUPID TO PRACTICE THE TRIBAL CRAP..this infantile talk of termites, bangarang & plastering their political adversaries with the corruption label etc etc etc

This generates blowback...ie a lack of cooperation & similarly stupid posturing from the PNP....surely even you can see that?

If the JLP wants to get things done...let them deal with the political realities before them more intelligently.
                  Leave the dirty tribalism to nonentities like the Rear Admiral.
                  Last edited by Don1; September 18, 2009, 11:33 PM.

again you go assuming. The whole process involved many human rights groups and other community groups. There was a lot of compromise in the bill. The fact is whatever the Bill is both parties agreed on it.

At what stage do you decide to go forward with a bill? The PNP said they were satisfied with the Bill. They haven't come out against anything in it so why not let it go forward?
                    Ask them..not me.

You presume, from this distance to know all the details.

"I stated from the beginning that constitutional changes need the PNP's support. You don't seem too familiar with our constitution."

wasn't this my original point when you went to lecture me bout unlike American congress. My point is the crime bill is held up because because it need more support and the PNP promise it and then held it up. I have no other point.

should the opposition sign on to any bill presented to it?

Where did I ever indicated that?

Didn't they meet and agree to the bill at Vale Royal? tThe leader of the opposition was pleased at the bill they both agreed on so.... How many bill have they agreed to since been in opposition? Not one.

AGAIN WHERE DID I SAY THEY SHOULD AGREE TO EVERY BILL PRESENTED TO THEM.

"I stated from the beginning that constitutional changes need the PNP's support. You don't seem too familiar with our constitution."

wasn't this my original point when you went to lecture me bout unlike American congress. My point is the crime bill is held up because because it need more support and the PNP promise it and then held it up. I have no other point.
                            I understand your point.

My point is that Jamaica's practice is completely unlike the US system.. where for even routine bills... eg passing a budget...the support of members of the other side may be required...and a governing party is NOT guaranteed the votes of its own members.

In Jamaica's case all votes are party line.....the only time an opposition's votes may be required...is when a measure seeks to amend the Constituition....which is not something to be done lightly and in secret behind closed doors as they tried to do.

The process should be 100% open to the public for all to see and express opinions on changing the basic law.

Instead it looks like they wanted Jamaica to wake up one morning to a changed constitution...just as the Portmore residents woke up one morning to higher tolls... having been fooled by election rhetoric.

Poor leadership on all sides.

relax! where did I say you said that?!?! i'm simply asking a question! sheez!

I understand your point but that don't mean people can't block certain bills that need their support just like they do in the US congress. The JLP don't have 2/3 of the majority and the similarity is that some laws may need the the opposition support, just like in the congress.