Nigeria sends 26 nurses to Jamaica

• Nigeria sends 26 nurses to Jamaica

<DIV class=source>AFP/File Photo: Four-year-old Oluwafunto Asore, representing the National Association of Nigerian Nurses and Midwives, holds a hand... </DIV>

LAGOS (AFP) - Nigeria last week sent 26 nurses to Jamaica under its Technical Aids Corp (TAC) scheme which aims to help black nations that lack professionals in key fields, the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reported.

The nurses are expected to enhance that country's immunization drive and help in accident, surgical and community health care services, NAN said, quoting an official TAC statement.

Jamaican Health Minister Horace Dalley said that the health professionals from Nigeria would help ease Jamaica's shortage of nurses, NAN quoted the statement as saying.

He commended Nigeria's deployment of skilled personnel to assist needy African, Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) nations.

Nigeria launched the TAC programme about 20 years ago as part of its foreign relations policy. Under the scheme, TAC volunteers are posted to needy ACP countries for a two-year period

RE: Nigeria sends 26 nurses to Jamaica

There is a joke in here somewhere I am sure......Someone please tell me it is April's fool. - T.K.

Well I was thinking along similar lines but

seeing that I am a fool, i kept quiet (not wanting the public to know). Talk about curve ball, I am completely baffled on this one.

King Jawge

You're not a fool, let's just say that desperate times call for desperate action!!

Okay maam, I will heed what you say.

Jawge (11/29/2006)Well I was thinking along similar lines but

seeing that I am a fool, i kept quiet (not wanting the public to know). Talk about curve ball, I am completely baffled on this one.
            Strange! You same one have a problem with the approach of improving the labour force, now yuh completely baffled by this? There is nothing wrong with one changing his or her position, but damn ....