Opposition Bemused By New Motor Vehicle Duty Policy

For me to take these people in the former cabinet serious they have to come to the people and talk about their mistakes, not to act like it never happen or they were genius then re-invent themselves as opposition spokesmen suggesting different from what they have done. Imagine if they had a real car import policy in the last 10 years.

Until they do that I will not hold my breath.

Jamaica need real change. They see no evil with what they did and it is just business as usual.

Agreed, but the JOS was essentially killed in the 1970s.

What the Seaga Govt did all by themselves was to kill the Railway.

Question, is our car import policy bad because of the current crisis or bad in general?

I have been talking about it for years so when the PNP come on it just for convience it is not encouring.

Do we have a policy now?

We do but a poor one that is not effective.

We?!?! Interesting!

Poor one that is not effective - hmmm!

it is bad policy in my book. The message must come from serious people not the people who screwed up so badly because if they get the same chance they do it again.

As I said new people within the PNP need to make this case, not the people who were there with who accepted MORE GAL, MORE CARS as progress. How hard is this to understand.
                If we follow your reasoning then Bruce cannot do anything about the Garrison culture since he was intricately involved in it the past notwithstanding his change of heart. Hey come to think of it you may be right. No one from the past should be able to chat about issues that they were a party to.

We could nitpick at what point it began to die, and I appreciate your view, but we spend far too much time trying to blame the other side and not doing what's best for the country NOW!

As for giving credit, that will never happen.

yuhseeit! Assasin's philosophy is brainlesss! we can't continue like this!!!

"We" I consider myself Jamaican.

We simple need to stop import so many cars and do it in an orderly manner.

Well, I had used the word too, so...

Sass, yuh just need to be honest with yourself. Das all I am saying.

Which Govt in the past 40 years has produced real growth ?

Spin and spin all unnuh want.. it has been demonstrated beyond a shadow of a doubt that the Govts of the PNP have been consistently clueless and detrimental to the growth and development of the country.

It would a fool that would pick up after them and their antics.

I would suggest you rely on Critical Thinking.

Once you create an industry the horse gone through the gate.. no point killing the horse trying to get it back in.. it will take more than 1 year to contructively re-direct the linkages and resources to more productive endeavors.

"it will take more than 1 year to contructively re-direct the linkages and resources to more productive endeavors".

Big Joke!

Mek him stay deh. I'm sure the voting public will be that patient.

The JLP should be thankful that Portia is leading the PNP. That is what is buying dem time.

No that is not the point. The point is if the opposition want to make a worthwhile contribution it get rid of its years of support for the same bad policies by either coming clean or having new faces represent new policies. I am yet to hear the PNP admit that their policies are what contributed to us been in this position. They need to come with their facts and statistics and tell us how it contributed to our none growth in the past.

Show me where. As Meeks rightly say they need to cleanse themself and come again. Look at the import bills for car under the PNP, Look at the oil bill under the PNP and tell me they just got a wake up call? even when the dollar was flying off the shelf cars was seen as progress and that is ok?

We need people with conviction to make these statement, plain and simple.