Opposition Bemused By New Motor Vehicle Duty Policy

When since 1974 we didn't have a serious foriegn exchange problem?

explain that to me. The former PNP admin imported every car they could get hold of, and the same people just a realise? As I said if it was Bunting, or others who just came in I would listen to them but not from people in the former cabinet who boast about cars, gal and phone even when the dollar dropped like flies. They should be embarras making those argument themselves.

We never need fi save the money and help local producers then?
    Did they support Island cruiser in any way? Maybe an incentive and they would still be around.

Check how much the oil bill and car import bill exploded under the PNP and tell me about serious. Go up a Red Hills and look and see the smug over Kingston and tell me that again.

When since 1974 we didn't have a serious foriegn exchange problem?

explain that to me. The former PNP admin imported every car they could get hold of, and the same people just a realise? As I said if it was Bunting, or others who just came in I would listen to them but not from people in the former cabinet who boast about cars, gal and phone even when the dollar dropped like flies. They should be embarras making those argument themselves.

We never need fi save the money and help local producers then?
      Did they support Island cruiser in any way? Maybe an incentive and they would still be around.

Check how much the oil bill and car import bill exploded under the PNP and tell me about serious. Go up a Red Hills and look and see the smug over Kingston and tell me that again.
      ...and raise taxes by various means to slow imports! ...and 'control' foreign exchange outflows here.

when was that done?

If that was the fact there wouldn't be so many cars in Ja.

How you control foriegn exchange by importing one million cars and stop 10?

Hmm.. lets see now.. what happens if the industry goes under ?

Heh, heh.

Stop the pretense.. please. Is long time mi deh pon di board suh mi know who is who.

How large is the new and used car industry (including attendant linkages) in Jamaica ?

All those importers/traders will probably go out of business and then find some productive business to get involved with?

Big car sales so the recoup their money (cost price without the big profit)?

Less money for the Gov. to splurge on Minsister's houses?

Why don't YOU tell us.

If the message is that the PNP if in Govt would allow the Industry to collapse further exacerbating the immediate impact on the Economy.. unemployment, dislocation, business collapse.. well can anyone doubt these clowns should never be allowed back in Govt until they demonstrate they have ANY clue ?

What a pathetic bunch of useless, careless, clueless parasites.
                What is happening now?

...do not answer?

Is a Global Recession the best time to 'find some productive business' to get involved..

Preservation of Jobs is the order of the day until the Global economy rights itself... you want to add another collapsed industry to the list.. Bauxite, Remittance, Car Sale Industry...

It is really not a complex issue.. just apply Critical Thinking...

Not the best time...but even in 'the best of times' our businessmen were more concerned with 'making money' (read pyramid) that investing in their businesses....sorry..jacket and tie, Miami trips, BMW, Benz and Butlers no cut nutten....why preserve non-productive jobs??? Let the remittances stop (except for the elderly and infirmed) and let the hard-backed men go and truky work! Take a picture from the women...Jamaican man just too damn lazy!!! Spoil bad.

Why preserve non-productive jobs ??

Is where yuh tink yuh talking bout.. Singapore ?

Another one asleep for the last 18 years apparently.

LOL !

Consider how many jobs depend on the sale of a car.. work through it.

Cut out the bs and the party rhetoric for a minute nuh...go and read Yutties post...ok lets import more cars..have sales and everyone will behappy...the economy will see real growth for a change...money will flow...crime will be down....and we live in paradise...with 40 vestial virgins.

Had the PNP done the very same thing, Maudib and his crew would have found a hundred ways to say it's an idiotic move. And that's why we will not get anywhere as a country.

Cut out the bs and the party rhetoric for a minute nuh...
                          Fat chance!

And then they bring up crap which has no real bearing on anything. They cuss the PNP for opening up the market, flooding the country with cars. I too believe it was a policy that was not properly considered. But no one mentions the other idiotic policy where the previous JLP govt allowed the JOS to die. And with that, the country was plunged into a period of the minibus with all (and there were many) attendant evils. Thank goodness the PNP sought to correct that evil with the JUTC.

So, both govts have had their fair share of screwups. Let's see where we are at this moment and do the best thing for the country, and giving used car dealers a stimulus package is just not on! But we will never, ever come to that realisation as a PEOPLE.

sigh!

Fine Sass! They screwed up with the cars and mucked up the entire oil bill. So, do we now have good reason to continue the foolishness, under the guise of saving an industry and saving jobs, just because the PNP started the nonsense?!?

Get sensible and listen to what yuh saying!!!!

it is bad policy in my book. The message must come from serious people not the people who screwed up so badly because if they get the same chance they do it again.

As I said new people within the PNP need to make this case, not the people who were there with who accepted MORE GAL, MORE CARS as progress. How hard is this to understand.

That is more garbage Sass! Perfect exampe of slewing the messenger!!! Makes no sense!!!!!!! Tribal behaviour! The exact thing that is keeping us down!