> “stimulus package” for the motor vehicle industry in the
    > form of a substantial reduction of the import duties on
    > motor vehicles.
    > >
    > The policy is intended to promote a rush in the purchase
    > and importation of cars, so as to help car dealers who, like
    > so many other sectors of the economy, are reeling from the
    > toxic combination of the world recession and the
    > Government’s inept economic management.
    >
    > However, at a time when the Government is running to the
    > International Monetary Fund for loan financing to take the
    > country through a balance of payments crisis, this
    > “stimulus package” for car dealers is another stark
    > instance of muddled policy formulation.
    >
    > The Government apparently misunderstands the objective of a
    > “stimulus package”, which is supposed to stimulate
    > consumption of domestic production, not imports.
    > >
    > Motor vehicle imports are a substantial user of foreign
    > exchange, and a duty-incentivised spike in motor vehicle
    > imports will also mean additional demand for expensive
    > foreign oil, the largest draw on our balance of payments.
    > Therefore, if the Government’s policy objective is met,
    > this will simultaneously have the negative effects of
    > translating into additional pressures on the Jamaican
    > dollar, a reduction in the country’s Net International
    > Reserves, and a worsening of our balance of payments
    > problem.
    >
    > > Furthermore, in considering sectors who should be assisted
    > by scarce Government resources, car dealers must fall very
    > low on the list. Their employment of labour is
    > relatively insubstantial and their impact on the wider
    > economy is costly in terms of foreign exchange. Added
    > to this, there is no shortage of motor vehicles in Jamaica
    > at this time – to the contrary, Jamaica ’s roads are
    > congested and our air quality is suffering from the high
    > level of carbon emissions associated with heavy traffic
    > loads.
    >
    > The new policy is both confusing and counterproductive, and
    > the public should therefore be forgiven for suspecting that
    > it may have been motivated by the presence in the Cabinet of
    > at least one Minister with longstanding and continuing
    > personal commercial interests in the car dealer
    > sector. In this regard, the new policy also gives off
    > a similarly unpleasant odour to the nepotistic Hydel bail out.

Mi think progress was more car, more gal, and more cellphone. Funny how a di same people who imported all a these cars without consideration for the environment, the import bill of oil and the foriegn dollars a talk now.

We need change. We need new people with credibility to criticise these policies.

assasin, you are not being serious... i think the oposition argument is solid... the environmental landscape is different today and we all can learn from our mistakes...

solid arguments... we should not be engaging in policies that will additionally burden the local economy... it appears as a nation, we do not think things through...

an aside, if we are to import cars they should all be hybrids with few exceptions...

LOL !!! WHOEE !!

Hmm.. I wonder what is going to happen if we import all these cars ?

I wonder what it will mean if we open the flood gate for cars into the country...

PNP - Mi nuh know.. wi nuh tink so far ahead.. ah no our problem dat !

In the words of Mr. Montague: "Yuh tek man fi eediat ?"

While it is solid argument, many people has been making it for years to have less car import. You want tell me the PNP never realise the impact on the gas bill even when the $$$ a move from 5.50 to 65 dollars? They encouraged it and the same people is making the argument.

This can't be credible unless they have new faces making the argument. The same people who bragged about more cars? I have been consistent over the years saying we are importing too many cars. If the argument never come from within influencial people in the last cabinet I wouldn't have anything to say.

Bredrin yuh need to give warning when you spit out dem summn deh.. yuh will make people vomit...

Damn.. Don1 must be smiling.. 18 years of effery ? What yuh talking about.. cho that was in the past.. not important.. mek wi just figget it.

LOL !! WHOEE !! Unnuh comrades and yuh party GREAT.. unnuh nuh stab man in di back unnuh stab dem right inna dem heart and smile.. "wasn't me"

LOL !

Dem is what yuh call a BRAZEN set ah Modda****************ahs...

NCB, Scotiabank, RBTT EVERYBODY a mek money off a MORE CYAR... horse gone through the gate YEARS now and everybody smiling

Now crisis hit Govt forced to intervene to save a sector.. di PNP modda****************has wid dem hypocritical BRAZEN self come chat bout dem bemused ?

and eediat dem run come up ah lap it up and regurgitate the puerile NONSENSE..

Mi nuh know who wuss...

I did not think it would have been possible to hate those bastards MORE than when they were in power... I was wrong.

If the message is that the PNP if in Govt would allow the Industry to collapse further exacerbating the immediate impact on the Economy.. unemployment, dislocation, business collapse.. well can anyone doubt these clowns should never be allowed back in Govt until they demonstrate they have ANY clue ?

What a pathetic bunch of useless, careless, clueless parasites.

wi dun get dat already, we genuinely need stimulus elswhere

Why do you think this is a good policy?

He will NEVER respond....he's so caught up with his hate-mongering that he would never see a rational national problem unclouded by party colours.

and that's why i don't even bother getting into any discussions with him. complete waste of my time to respond to non-answers, political quotes and LOLs.

Mi think progress was more car, more gal, and more cellphone. Funny how a di same people who imported all a these cars without consideration for the environment, the import bill of oil and the foriegn dollars a talk now.

We need change. We need new people with credibility to criticise these policies.
                            Assasin?
                            Mi kno yuh...han mi kno yuh nuh fool-fool, suh a wah dis fah fada?

While it is solid argument, many people has been making it for years to have less car import. You want tell me the PNP never realise the impact on the gas bill even when the $$$ a move from 5.50 to 65 dollars? They encouraged it and the same people is making the argument.

This can't be credible unless they have new faces making the argument. The same people who bragged about more cars? I have been consistent over the years saying we are importing too many cars. If the argument never come from within influencial people in the last cabinet I wouldn't have anything to say.
                              Sass stap!
                              Yuh kno wi ave a very serious problem dat need foreign exchange conservation, import substitution and improved export of goods and services...suh jus stap rite yah-suh. Dis his now! Dat JLP move his heasily seen has jus nat hit innah dis yah time!