More fiyah pon Mosiah and di Downpressahs !

• More fiyah pon Mosiah and di Downpressahs !

It is a well documented fact, but still surprising finding of many studies, that there is a general tendency of natural-resource abundant economies to grow at a slower pace (Sachs and Warner 1995, 1997, 1999a, Gylfason 2000, 2001a, Rodriquez and Sachs 1999, Leite and Weidmann 1999). The last two centuries, countries rich in natural resources, e.g. Russia, Nigeria and enezuela, experienced growth of comparatively low or mediocre magnitude. Sachs and Warner 1995) claim that this is a historically common pattern. Countries that base their economies on atural resources tend to be examples of development failures. In contrast, countries such as apan, Hong-Kong, Korea, Singapore and Switzerland, that only had limited access to natural esources, experienced remarkably high economic growth rates. This paper studies, by use of growth regressions, the transmission channels through which natural resource abundance egatively affects growth, that is, the effect of natural resources on corruption, investments, trade,
    schooling, and then indirectly, on economic growth.

HOTTAY FIYAH pon di false 'Patriots' !!

As I tell young students..."your references are outdated"...this is 2009!!! Is this a history paper? Anyhow....it would be useful to list the countries (not just selected examples) and provide sm rank as well as to list the other factors that slowed or increased 'development'. What hogwash...why don't they list the impoverished countries with no resources...give me a break!

Yuh name Mosiah ?

I am teaching class one lecture at at time.. once he absorbs the basics then I can teach him more complex concepts as it pertains to Jamaica right now and why discovering Oil right now would be detrimental to Jamaica's future...

Now if yuh want to join the class please register.. wi nuh inna di crash class business.

You are not equipped to teach...first take your Rxs...then join Mosiah's class...he could teach you a lot.

Commonly known as the "resource curse" theory.

and why discovering Oil right now would be detrimental to Jamaica's future...
            u r wrong ! Grippland offshore petroleum ...di peeple dem
            weh ah look fi oil inna Ja are positive about ti ,mi oogle mention dat
            ...hear mi now ...di current high crime rate can be reduce if they are
            more jobs ...thats a fundamental thing . When natural gas or oil is find
            it can only be a positive thing for the economy .
            Jamaica you mite get a Petroleum well with
            United Oil by 1.31.26;You also has a NNPC option with the Abuja accord from 2022.What
            happens then I don't know.A Petrol Well is
            Probably forthcoming...

I wonder if the people in the Niger delta would agree with you....

"The effects of oil in the fragile Niger Delta communities and environment have been enormous. 85% of national oil revenues end up in the hands of 1% of the population, while local indigenous people have seen little if any improvement in their standard of living while suffering serious damage to their natural environment Almost 7000 oil spills occurred between 1970 and 2000, more than one each day."

...and we not even talk bout the war between the govt and the miltants yet....

"The effects of oil in the fragile Niger Delta communities and environment have been enormous.
                Africa is a currupt place ...black men cannot trust themselves . y u did not
                use trinidad & tobago as a example? .. they are our caribbean neighbors ...although the ethnic make up is different that is... indians an black .
                they have discovered oil for years and have done well with it ...I am happy
                the JLP are ruling because the pnp are more organize as a unit but the jlp organize the country better ... with oil they can do a better job as care takers than pnp ... TnT have done it....Jamaica can do it too .
                Last edited by wbvs; September 14, 2009, 09:36 AM.
                United Oil by 1.31.26;You also has a NNPC option with the Abuja accord from 2022.What
                Probably forthcoming...

"Africa is a currupt place...black men cannot trust themselves ".

Thanks! I feel a lot better about our chances now I know the explanation.

LOL!

Yuh name Mosiah ?

...discovering Oil right now would be detrimental to Jamaica's future...

Suh yuh jus a log-on to "corruption abounds"...JLP jus has coh-rup has PNP?!

...yuh nuh ave nuh faith innah yuh drivah or "wi a set tings rite"?

"Africa is a currupt place...black men cannot trust themselves ".

Thanks! I feel a lot better about our chances now I know the explanation.

LOL!
                      LOL... indeed I want to make u laugh an u did , mission accomplish .
                      Last edited by wbvs; September 14, 2009, 12:56 PM.
                      Probably forthcoming...