Downtown rebirth - Government of Jamaica approves tax-relief
Originally posted by Hortical View PostAre you joking Lazie? Mi would a need a secret service detail before mi would a open a bizness downtown."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Small business will follow big business. If they are successful in getting a few corporate offices relocated there ,then there is a ripple effect.
Difficult to do but certainly possible. Imagine trying to convince a former US president in the 70s to setup office in Harlem? Now the complaint is that Harlem is getting too expensive for long-time businesses."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
it has happened in several cities stateside and in europe as well...i vividly recall one such area in boston near the waterfront which was redeveloped as an upscale residential area....mi neva ask whey dem did haffi duh ...
Dicey still. Did some investment in one such area and it just went back to the drug dealers. I only hope the government put all the forces behind this. This could result in many of the informal vendors moving into real businesses and growing, only hope the government get them taxes.
An example is the bed vendors on some street downtown. I hope they can streamline their business and take advantage.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Pre-Katrina New Orleans was always my example of what Kingston could be.
High crime, urban decay, and yet a vibrant tourist industry
Post Katrina is a bit more complicated. It is getting better but the vibe is just not the same as it was before in my opinion. Too much of the soul of the city has been lost."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Now to back this up with a public/private sector partnership to govern different neighborhoods... in the USA they are called Business Improvement Districts...Jamaica is desperately in need of our version of this for certain hub areas.
Parade, Cross Roads, Papine, Constant Spring, Four Roads, Three Miles etc etc etc
GOJ services alone can't do the job.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Dat is why unnuh muss quiet when Chiney man battle downtown fi 20 years den BRAP and start build mega shopping place Uptown...
"..all concept of hard work he left behind with slavery..." -LKY
Don't worry, the fariners are poised to take our refuse....
Mi hear seh di sea-wall for palisados was done based on a concession agreement to use the sea wall as a foundation.. I leave it up to unnuh to guess what for and who for....
If unnuh nuh realize by now that the island of Jamaica has a yoke around its neck and it nuh mek inna china or india or merica or hingland.. well.. unnuh will never realize anything much...