Sass, it looks like the Dems going to move forward

• Sass, it looks like the Dems going to move forward

with the Healthcare Reform plan without a goverment-run option. Apparently they believe that a bill with the public option doesn't have the support to pass the Senate.

Obama will try to change some minds in his speech tonight but I am not too optimistic. I guess everybody wants a better healthcare system but nobody wants to pay for it.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Last Senate panel sets timetable for health care

Reuters By RICARDO ALONSO-ZALDIVAR, Associated Press Writer Ricardo
    Alonso-zaldivar, Associated Press Writer

WASHINGTON – A leading Senate negotiator acknowledged Wednesday that a bipartisan deal on health care is unlikely, vowing to move ahead on a bill fulfilling President Barack Obama's top domestic priority whether it has Republican support or not.

Senate Finance Committee Chairman Max Baucus, D-Mont., said he will formally introduce his own proposal next week, and convene his panel to begin drafting a bill the week of Sept. 21. He said he believes Congress can finish a bill by the end of the year.

"We have to move forward," Baucus said. Finance is the last remaining committee before the bill can go to the floor.

Separately, congressional and industry sources said Finance negotiators have agreed to slash fines that families could face for failing to get health insurance under a plan Baucus is developing. It would require all Americans to get coverage, with tax credits and other assistance for households making up to four times the poverty level, or about $88,000 for a family of four.

The fines would be reduced from a maximum of $3,800 originally proposed, to a ceiling of around $1,500, according to sources who spoke on condition of anonymity because they were not authorized to divulge details of the emerging draft.

Baucus' plan would not create a government-run health care plan to compete with private insurers, putting the proposal at odds with legislation in the House.

"I think frankly with increasing conviction that a public option cannot pass the Senate," Baucus said after a meeting with Democrats on his panel.

Baucus has spent the better part of two years patiently laying the groundwork for a bipartisan solution to America's predicament with health care that costs too much and leaves millions without coverage. On Wednesday, he was forced to acknowledge the obvious: An agreement with Republicans to break the health care stalemate is not in the cards anytime soon.

Such an achievement would have made him the talk of Washington, but in keeping with his deep-seated optimism, Baucus said he's still hopeful.

"I very much hope and do expect Republicans will be on board," he said. "I don't know how many, but if there are not any, I will move forward anyway."

Technically, his small group of three Democrats and three Republicans — the Gang of Six — is still negotiating. It's possible that some of the Republicans could still endorse a version of a proposal that Baucus circulated over the weekend. But now, Democrats are lining up to take issue with his plan.

"It's obviously just a starting point," said Sen. Ron Wyden, D-Ore., adding he's concerned the plan won't provide enough choice, and that finding affordable coverage will still be a stretch for too many families.

Sen. Jay Rockefeller, D-W.Va., said he was not at all pleased with some compromises Baucus made with Republicans. Rockefeller said they would weaken the Medicaid program for the poor, and undermine state-based consumer safeguards for people who buy health insurance on their own. And that was only the beginning of Rockefeller's complaints. Baucus' plan lacks a government health insurance option, which Rockefeller sees as essential to holding down costs.

The 10-year, nearly $900-billion plan would require all Americans to get health insurance. It would provide direct subsidies and other help with premiums for households making up to four times the federal poverty level, about $88,000. People already covered would not see big changes. But small businesses and self-employed people would be able to buy coverage through new purchasing pools called exchanges, gaining the market clout big companies now have. Insurers would be prohibited from denying coverage for pre-existing conditions.

Speaking just before Baucus' announcement, his main Republican counterpart was also reluctant to say it's all over. Sen. Charles Grassley of Iowa has been under pressure from his own party to leave the negotiations.

"I don't see right this minute any reason to walk away from the table," said Sen. Charles Grassley of Iowa. "And I've always said that I wouldn't walk away, I'd be shoved away."

the way how mi see it. The republicians are playing PNP/JLP type politics with opposing everything and wait for the dems to crack. This is the same on all major subject including healthcare, immigration or energy.

The Dems better get in a football huddle with Obama as the quarter back and start getting some things done or it will be a long four years if they can accomplish nothing, and waiting for republican support.

Them better get them act togather.

The

Well, like I said though the thing is that the Dems themselves don't have common ground on healthcare reform. If they did they would have passed it already without the Republicans, and before Ted Kennedy passed.

I have been surprised by the large percentage of people the polls are showing who don't want any change or at least any change that will affect THEM. I really thought public support for this would be very strong but it turns out it isn't really. Its running about 50/50.

But then again the intelligence of the average voter is always grossly overestimated. I remember hearing an economist say that the majority of Americans support lower taxes, more govt programs, and a balanced budget all at the same time. Its probably true of voters everywhere.

The Dems who support it are going to have to take the risk and go it alone, and try to control the costs as best as possible.

The problem is the republican did a good job of demonising any changes making it a part of a grand scheme of socialism.

Where are the democrats pushing it? Where is Poloci, Harry Reid and the rest who rode on the back of Obama coat tail who represented change?

I am uncomfortable with the fact that illegal immigrants are excluded. Let me clarify, I'm talking about the people, who live in the US, but do not have permanent status; many of whom work and pay taxes.

Yes, it should exclude those illegal immigrants, who enter the country solely for medical purposes.

illegal AND pay taxes? how dat work?

trust me, it work
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I-Man, does the Dems have a filibuster proof majority? I can't recall. If they do, all they need to do is show the GOP the middle finger and move forward.

The Repugs suffer from Karl syndrome and as a result they're going to kill this bill if its up to them.

what them going to do? turn them away from the hospitals?

It is just a way of stalling on the part of those who oppose any plan.

Should hospital ask are you a citizen or green card holder?

I am mad about this. There is no reason they can't come up with a plan. If you listen the talk shows how the right wing demonising and spreading propoganda on everybody else system and people buying it.

Yes they have a filibuster proof majority.

They no longer have a fillbuster proof majority in the Senate since Kennedy died and has not been replaced.

But even in the House, many people are ignoring the fact that some of the Dems are NOT supporting the plan with a public option! Mostly the so-called Blue Dog Dems who are more fiscally conservative. Maybe Obama was able to sway some of them last night, we will see.

I am not going to blame the Repugs for this until the Dems can find some common ground themselves.

Using a fake Soc. Sec. # mostly. It does happen but I wouldn't say its the norm. Many illegals get paid in hard cash.

i know that part. my point is in addition to being there illegally, dem committing further crimes by using illegal ss# etc...the law cannot aid you to benefit from yuh own wrongs!

mi sure mi have family memba whey fall inna dat deh category but if yuh illegal, eida regularise yuhself or undastan that you will be on the outside looking in!

One other thing on this though, I read somewhere that they only need a majority vote in the Senate to move forward, because no fillbuster is allowed for this vote. I wasn't clear on why this is so, something to do with the bill being part of the budget.

So again, all the Dems have to do is coalesce around the president's plan and tweak if necessary. If they can't do that they deserve to get thier a$$ kicked next year when nothing is done.

They no longer have a fillbuster proof majority in the Senate since Kennedy died and has not been replaced.

But even in the House, many people are ignoring the fact that some of the Dems are NOT supporting the plan with a public option! Mostly the so-called Blue Dog Dems who are more fiscally conservative. Maybe Obama was able to sway some of them last night, we will see.

I am not going to blame the Repugs for this until the Dems can find some common ground themselves.
                              Listen, if people do have valid reasons for opposing the bill then I have no problem with it. What I don't support are the jokers who oppose the bill then when asked what is wrong with it, they claim the process need to start from scratch.