• 'More gal', little progress

'More gal', little progress
    Published: Wednesday | September 9, 2009

The Editor, Sir:
    Monday night I watched the television news and saw journalist Earl Moxam's expose of the filth and squalor in which the people of Majesty Gardens (Pen) live and the memories came flooding back. I was only about six years old when my mother requested that I spend one day with her. At the time, she resided in Majesty Pen. After dinner I asked to use the toilet and was directed to a nearby gully. This stood out in my young mind. I am now 52 years old.

Therefore, 46 years later, a man has stood on the moon, mankind has invented the Internet, there are supersonic jets, high-speed trains and we live in the most technologically advanced period in human history and people are still defaecating in gullies.

Our leaders tell us that 'more man have more cars, more man have more phones and more man have more gals' than ever before. Is this a measure of how far we have come? If we are unable to deliver the most basic of needs - food, shelter and security for our citizens - then what good are cars, phones and gals?
    I am, etc.,
    Mark Clarke
    mark_clarke9@yahoo.com
    St Elizabeth

Black Man Time.. is true yuh nuh waan si black man have good tings !!

Run whe bad mind !!