• Big budget cut for gov't youth-job programme

Big budget cut for gov't youth-job programme

Published: Wednesday | September 9, 2009

Avia Collinder, Business Writer
    The youth entrepreneurship programme (YEP), announced by Prime Minister Bruce Golding in May as a $250-million loan facility for out-of-school youths, and part of a $2.25-billion stimulus package to the small-business sector, has practically been yanked from the government's funding plans, with only $10 million available to the start of the initiative. Harold Davis, executive director of the Jamaica Business Develop-ment Corporation (JBDC), confirmed this week the drastic cut in the programme's funding and indicated that it has not yet got off the ground.

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean...business5.html

Another example of the govt. just not getting it when it comes to appreciating the impact of the global financial crisis.

Nuh feel nuh way them have good company.

Obama never thought we would reach 10% unemployment.
      IMF said it worst than they first thought.
      UK Government said they never thought it would have been so bad
      Warren Buffett commented that he couldn't dream of this
      So many local government in the US buckling, cutting education, teachers and police.

We have to realise we have just seen the worst recession since the 1920s worldwide. Let us just hope the government make the right moves so Jamaica can grow. I can't imagine what would happen if they fail to stop borrowing and grow the economy.

Oh, I see your MO now. You are unable to justify some of the friggery taking place under this govt so you try and draw some parallel with govts from first world countries.

Only thing - the parallel must mek sense! Come on now - the Democrats having a hard time passing universal healthcare but Bruce did it with the stroke of a pen!

HUH!?!

let's keep it real. and sensible!

where am I excusing the fery?

If you make a sensible comment then I will address it but acting as if only the Jamaican government misread this ecomomic crisis is either playing politics or not seeing the whole picture.

Yes we expect better. My response to healtcare was you guy saying there was no energy policy months ago and how Obama have energy policy. How soon unnu forget? I made sure started by saying that, go back and read again.

The fact is this is a very bad economic times and many are affected by it including myself so we all better stop whinning and come again. When I read where no government workers are been laid off and people fighting for huge raises I just laugh because many government workers in the US have had to take pay cuts, furlow, or laid off, just in case you don't know.

Should we just compare Obama when it suits our argument?

The fact is 95% of people worldwide misread this economic crisis

Another example of the govt. just not getting it when it comes to appreciating the impact of the global financial crisis.
            ... and yet we have ppl pushing fi weed to be legalised. What is wrong with taking steps to get ppl productive? If the gov't don't do jack ... yuh complain ... they do something, yuh still complain.

If you make a sensible comment then I will address it but acting as if only the Jamaican government misread this ecomomic crisis is either playing politics or not seeing the whole picture.
              Only?! Who acting like is only dem? But why do I care if the President of the Philippines, say, also misread the signs?! Enough sensible govts around the world did not misread the signs.

Should we just compare Obama when it suits our argument?
              We should compare with anyone IF IT MAKES SENSE!

There you have it, another nickname for me - Mosiah, the Complainer!

"Enough sensible govts around the world did not misread the signs."

Name them

the US govt for one!

you are wrong right there.

The US goverment was hit like a thief in the night.

You forget Bush and McCain's famous worlds? "The foundation of economy is strong" right up to when snow blew us under?

Just recently Obama said he never forsaw a 10% unemployment rate. What he had to say is he saved a 'depression'.

you are wrong right there.

The US goverment was hit like a thief in the night.

You forget Bush and McCain's famous worlds? "The foundation of economy is strong" right up to when snow blew us under?

Just recently Obama said he never forsaw a 10% unemployment rate. What he had to say is he saved a 'depression'.
                        Sass, when yuh ago learn? Some would rather cut dem own throat than give any credit.

Are you telling me that in May, 2009, President Obama still did not have any idea what was taking place?

No one know exactly what will happen with this crisis, Sass. Not even Ms Cleo could! But they know it's bad and they don't talk about implementing million and billion dollar programs that they have to withdraw 3 months later! Yes, come with the healthcare thing, Sass!

Sass, mi nuh tink mi gwine dideh wid yuh at the end of this discussion. It not mekking any sense right now.

Big admission from Vice President Joe Biden today.
                            "The truth is, we and everyone else misread the economy," Biden told me during our exclusive "This Week" interview in Iraq.
                            Biden acknowledged administration officials were too optimistic earlier this year when they predicted the unemployment rate would peak at 8 percent as part of their effort to sell the stimulus package. The national unemployment rate has ballooned to 9.5 percent in June -- the worst in 26 years.
                            "The truth is, there was a misreading of just how bad an economy we inherited," said Biden, who is leading the administration's effort to implement it's $787 billion economic stimulus plan.
                            "Now, that doesn't -- I'm not -- it's now our responsibility. So the second question becomes, did the economic package we put in place, including the Recovery Act, is it the right package given the circumstances we're in? And we believe it is the right package given the circumstances we're in," he told me.
                            The vice president argued more time is needed for the stimulus to work.
                            "We misread how bad the economy was, but we are now only about 120 days into the recovery package," he said. "The truth of the matter was, no one anticipated, no one expected that that recovery package would in fact be in a position at this point of having to distribute the bulk of money."
                            Biden didn't rule out a second government stimulus package, but downplayed calls from Nobel Prize-winning economist Paul Krugman this week that a second stimulus will be needed.
                            I pressed the vice president, who is also leading the administration's middle-class task force, on whether he'd rule out a second stimulus package.
                            "So, no second stimulus?" I asked.
                            "No, I didn't say that," Biden said, "I think it's premature to make that judgment. This was set up to spend out over 18 months. There are going to be major programs that are going to take effect in September, $7.5 billion for broadband, new money for high-speed rail, the implementation of the grid -- the new electric grid. And so this is just starting, the pace of the ball is now going to increase."
                            --George Stephanopoulos

True, and I can't stand those types myself!

I have given nothing but support and big ups to the education minister, my former drinking associate, but his gransiose plans to build a 1,000 schools with the help of the private sector was badly timed. No?