Brand Jamaica Revisited!

Originally posted by Historian View Post
    I must say a sincere thanks to everyone who contributed to this thread .

In times of social and economic difficulties, it’s often easy to forget the fact that Jamaica is indeed a great nation...
    It comes as no surprise that HL was no where close to this thread!

.. and after all of that nobody mentioned Tru Juice?

Grace products which is gaining more prominence in the USA market, and the best jerk seasoning producers - Walkers Wood.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

how low of you!!!

Hell yeah!

Cool Historian, I am surprised no one has challenged me on any of those!!! It is really amazing the things that are significant about Jamaica, in confirming my thoughts on Jamaican ginger I found the most unusual article about Jamaican ginger and prohibition, that left me speechless.

jake2 AC_FL_RunContent = 0;var interfaceflash = new LEXICOFlashObject ( "http://cache.lexico.com/d/g/speaker.swf", "speaker", "17", "15", "", "6");interfaceflash.addParam("loop", "false");interfaceflash.addParam("quality", "high");interfaceflash.addParam("menu", "false");interfaceflash.addParam("salign", "t");interfaceflash.addParam("FlashVars", "soundUrl=http%3A%2F%2Fcache.lexico.com%2Fdictiona ry%2Faudio%2Fluna%2FJ00%2FJ0016400.mp3&clkLogProxy Url=http%3A%2F%2Fdictionary.reference.com%2Fwhatzu p.html&t=a&d=d&s=di&c=a&ti=1&ai=51359&l=dir&o=0&sv =00000000&ip=7f000001&u=audio"); interfaceflash.addParam('wmode','transparent');int erfaceflash.write(); /dʒeɪk/ Show Spelled Pronunciation [jeyk] Show IPA

Use jake-leg paralyses in a Sentence

See web results for jake-leg paralyses

See images of jake-leg paralyses

–noun Slang. 1.a homemade or bootleg liquor made from or infused with Jamaica ginger, esp. during Prohibition in the U.S.2.Also called jake leg, jake-leg paralysis. paralysis caused by drinking this or other liquor made with denatured alcohol.

Here is the article. It will absolutely stun you!!
              http://www.fohbc.com/PDF_Files/JakeW...ry_CMunsey.pdf

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                Ok, here are a few additions.
                1. Jamaican ginger is considered to be world class
                2. Jamaican pimento is consideed to be the best in the world with the key distinguishing properties considered to be the greatest in Jamaican pimento.
                3. Originators of the sound system concept, as an entertainment alternative and we continue to dominate this form of entertainment style.
                4. Originator of the rap style, the first country to produce talking on record as a commercial form and stand alone entertainment option.
                5. Creation of a new religion, standalone cultural concept, with it's own philosophy, lifestyle, language and food culture, which will only continue to grow. Rastafaria now has adherents all over the world, I know this has been said already but i had to elaborate.
                6. Ital cusine
                7. All modifications to the use of I relative to nouns, iPhone, iPod etc. slight joke! Possibly true.
                8. 1st use of steam engine in a commercial application.
                9. The Jamaican pineapple was the one first used in the mass scale production of Pineapple in Hawaii.
                10.Jamaican Cocoa, was esteemed and prized for several centuries.
                11. Jamaican vanilla also world class.
                12. The grapefruit was created in Jamaica, Barbadoes also claims this is the case, who do you believe. Now a world class citrus fruit all over the world.
                13. Ting grapefruit drink won multiple goldmedals in a number of top competitions.
                14. Jamaican sorrel, while originally from India is well know across Latin America by the name "Jamaica" pronounced with an H as you probably all know.
                15. Jamaican tobacco, while not necessarily at it's best was world renowned.
                16. Patty done on a mass production scale, is a Jamaican product that is known all over the world, no one does it better than the Jamaicans, there are now Tastee patty shops all over the Phillipines.
                17. Red DStripe is well know all over the world.
                18. Creation of James Bond is very much a Jamaican product.
                19. Port Royal, the richest and wickedest city ever known to man, the greatest pirate city ever and also one of the greatest archeological site in the world today.
                19. Henry Morgan while from Wales originally, died a Jamaican, the greatest privateer, buccaneer/pirate that ever lived.
                20. Blackbeard, reputed to be Jamaican and in some books claims that his mother without a doubt was from Jamaica.
                21. Development of the perch as a commercial product to be grown in freshwater ponds, pioneered by Jamaican A. Thomas, who se real competitive advantage created was the (hold unuh ears tight yuh nah go like this one) the monosex culture of the perch, growing males together led to an enormous jump in size which gave further impetus to the commercialization of the perch in freshwater ponds, this now has tremendous impact in Africa and all over the developing world.
                22. Development of dairy, beef cattle for the tropics by one Dr lecky, one of which the Jamaican Brahman is now widely used in Latin America.
                23. UNIA the largest african based orgainzation the world has seen to date, with 6 million adherents across North, south america, Africa and Europe.
                24. Cure for dropsy created by one Jakan Dr Tulloch.
                25. Second oldest iron bridge in the world.

OK I will stop there.
                Great post!