• Top 5 Records: 1967-1973

Top 5 Records of the Year
    1967 - 1973
    (Based on JBC’s charts)

Hopefully this list, based on the charts of the Jamaica Broadcasting Corporation (JBC), will bring back some memories.

1. “Puppet On A String”: Ken Boothe
    2. “Hold Them”: Roy Shirley
    3. “Take It Easy”: Hopeton Lewis
    4. “You Don’t Care For Me”: The Techniques
    5. “Do It Right”: Dion and the Treetops

1. “54-46”: The Maytals
    2. “Nanny Goat”: Larry and Alvin
    3. “Everything Crash”: The Ethiopians
    4. “Baby Why”: The Cables
    5. “Easy Come Easy Go”: The Pioneers

1. “Sweet Sensation”: The Melodians
    2. “Musical Scorcher”: The Sound Dimension
    3. “Dr. No Go”: The Hippy Boys
    4. “Games People Play”: Bob Andy
    5. “More Scorcher”: The Sound Dimension

1. “Wear You to the Ball”: U-Roy
    2. “Ride On Sammy”: Ernie Smith
    3. “Dynamic Pressure”: Music Specialists
    4. “Freedom Street”: Ken Boothe
    5. “Duppy Conqueror”: The Wailers

1. “Trenchtown Rock”: The Wailers
    2. “Picture On The Wall”: Freddie McKay
    3. “Mawga Dog”: Peter Tosh
    4. “Small Axe”: The Wailers
    5. “Stick By Me”: John Holt

1. “Pitta Patta”: Ernie Smith
    2. “Officially”: Lloyd Parkes
    3. “Breakfast In Bed”: Lorna Bennett
    4. “Merry Up”: Godsons
    5. “Jimmy Brown”: Ken Parker

1. “Westbound Train”: Dennis Brown
    2. “Silver Words”: Ken Boothe
    3. “Country Road”: Toots & the Maytals
    4. “Mellow Mood”: Judy Mowatt
    5. “Build Me Up”: Brent Dowe

thanks for this bossman. i'm missing some of them!

Can't say remember ALL of them...but certainly most...would be interesting the recall rate at first glance for posters.....

Historian I huess this format on when the song gets to the chart, because I can recall dancing to this music in 1966 “You Don’t Care For Me”: The Techniques.

Me almost haffi jump fence fe ge in a de boogie before the Anthem done.

Top 20 For 1967

Originally posted by TDowl View Post
          Historian I huess this format on when the song gets to the chart, because I can recall dancing to this music in 1966 “You Don’t Care For Me”: The Techniques.

Me almost haffi jump fence fe ge in a de boogie before the Anthem done.
          Interesting post, TDowl, and I agree that “You Don’t Care For Me” was a really lovely recording! I think Pat Kelly was the lead singer for the Techniques on that one. I know for sure that Kelly sung lead on that beautiful recording by the Techniques that Mosiah reminded us of a couple of days ago, “Queen Majesty”.

Here’s the complete Top 10 for the year 1967:

Top 20 Records of the Year 1967
          (Based on JBC’s charts)

1. “Puppet On A String”: Ken Boothe

2. “Hold Them”: Roy Shirley

3. “Take It Easy”: Hopeton Lewis

4. “You Don’t Care For Me”: The Techniques

5. “Do It Right”: Dion and the Treetops

6. “Happy Go Lucky Girl”: The Paragons

7. “You have Caught Me Babe”: The Melodians

8. “Mother Young Gal”: Desmond Dekker and the Aces

9. “On the Beach”: The Paragons

10. “Things You Say”: The Jamaicans

11. “Rock Steady”: Alton and the Flames

12. “You And Your Smiling Face”: The Paragons

13. “Walk The Streets”: Derrick Harriott

14. “Get On the Ball”: Roy Shirley

15. “Down By the Train Line”: Stranger and Patsy

16. “Ba Ba Boom”: The Jamaicans

17. “Pressure and Slide”: The Tenors

18. “Johnny Cool”: Prince Buster

19. “Winey Winey”: The Kingstonians

20. “I Don’t Want to See You Cry”: Ken Boothe

i don't want to see you cry LOVE dat chune...in the late nineties it was redone by someone named kamal or kamau and i now cannot find it.

ah..."on the beach"......with mr holt himself as lead for the paragons....

tuh much one time ... mi overwhelmed!!! whew!

What memories! Don't remember much before 1970, although I would have heard some of them before, but they don't bring me back. But when it comes to like 1972, I can remember falling in love with Lorna Bennett and her song! That was a good year. Officially and Lloyd Parkes was di bomb!

This was a cover but a great tune..

Now our little boy came up to his mom
                In the [COLOR=orange ! important][COLOR=orange ! important]kitchen[/COLOR][/COLOR]
                this evenin' while she was fixin' supper
                And he handed her a piece of paper he'd been writin' on
                And after wipin' her hands on her apron
                She read it, and this is what it said.

For mowin' the lawn, five [COLOR=orange ! important][COLOR=orange ! important]dollars[/COLOR][/COLOR]
                For makin' my own bed this week, one [COLOR=orange ! important][COLOR=orange ! important]dollar[/COLOR][/COLOR]
                And for goin' to the [COLOR=orange ! important][COLOR=orange ! important]store[/COLOR][/COLOR], fifty cents
                An' playin' with little brother while you went shoppin', twenty-five cents.

Takin' out the trash, one dollar
                Gettin' a good report card, five dollars
                And for rakin' the yard, two dollars
                Total owed, fourteen seventy-five.

Well, as mom looked at him standin' there expectantly
                And I could see the mem'ries flashing through her mind
                And so she picked up the pen, and turnin' the paper over
                This is what she wrote.

For the nine months I carried you growin' inside me, no charge
                For the nights I've sat up with you
                Doctored you, and prayed for you, no charge
                For the time and the tears
                That you've cost through the years, there's no charge
                And when you add it all up
                The full cost of my love is no charge.

For the nights filled with dread
                And all the worries ahead, no charge
                For advice and the knowledge
                And the cost of your college, no charge
                For the toys, [COLOR=orange ! important][COLOR=orange ! important]food[/COLOR][/COLOR] and clothes and even for wipin' your nose
                There's no charge, son
                And when you add it all up
                The full cost of my love is, no charge.

I don't know why I thought Officially was a late 70s song. I used to look forward to hearing it any time LLoyd Parkes and his band were doing a set at a concert.

Great post Historian. Some all-time great Jamaican recordings are in those lists!

shirley caesar's version brings back memories for me...that and rev VB's song along a similar vein and around the same time..i think it was called "god is moving" historian, can you assist?

Thanks, Boss

I don't know why I thought Officially was a late 70s song. I used to look forward to hearing it any time LLoyd Parkes and his band were doing a set at a concert.

Great post Historian. Some all-time great Jamaican recordings are in those lists!
                      Thank you for the kind words, Islandman ! I’ll be posting more chart lists today.

In the case of Lloyd Parkes’ “Officially,” the year 1972 is accurate, as are all the other years listed in the charts I posted. By the way, Lloyd Parkes used to be a member of the Techniques (but not a lead singer) before he formed his “We The People” instrumental band. If I’m not mistaken, “Officially” is Parkes’ only major solo hit.

And what a hit it was! Some great music listed there, really takes me back.
                        Usain "Lightning" Bolt - 9.58 secs. WR.