• US gov't names Dudus among world's most dangerous

US gov't names Dudus among world's most dangerous drug dealers

Published: Tuesday | September 1, 2009

Arthur Hall, Senior Staff Reporter

West Kingston strongman Christopher 'Dudus' Coke could face a maximum sentence of life in prison if he is extradited and convicted by United States authorities.

The 40-year-old Coke has been named by the US Department of Justice to a list of "consolidate priority organisation targets" which includes persons the US Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA) says are the "world's most dangerous narcotics kingpins".

"The charges against Christopher Michael Coke starkly illustrate the dangerous connection between the international trade in narcotics and illicit firearms," US officials said in a release dated August 28.

Various charges

John P. Gilbride, the United States attorney for the Southern District of New York, and Javier F. Pena, special agent in charge of the US Drug Enforcement Agency's Caribbean Division, have announced that Coke is wanted to answer several charges.

In the release, the US authorities announced that Coke has been charged with conspiracy to distribute ganja and cocaine and conspiracy to illegally traffic in firearms.

"The United States has formally requested through diplomatic channels that Jamaican authorities formally arrest Coke and extradite him to the Southern District of New York on the US charges," the release added.

If convicted on the narcotics charge, Coke faces a maximum sentence of life in prison and a mandatory minimum sentence of 10 years in prison as well as a fine of up to US$4 million or twice the pecuniary gain from the offence.

In addition, Coke faces a maximum sentence of five years in prison and a fine of US$250,000 on the firearm trafficking charge.

Mere accusations

However, in a note of caution, the US authorities said that the charges contained in the indictment against Coke are "merely accusation and the defendant is presumed innocent until proven guilty".

Last night, The Gleaner was unsuccessful in its efforts to contact the attorney expected to represent Coke, Tom Tavares-Finson.

However, The Associated Press reported that Tavares-Finson dismissed the allegations as "hype" from the DEA and said his client was dumbfounded.

"He can't understand what it could possibly be," AP further quoted Tavares-Finson. "We'll wait and see. I don't know what's going to happen with the Jamaican Government."

I'm surprised this thread hasn't gotten any feedback, there's a lot of talk on the streets about West Kingston being tense, its even in today's papers.

also a lot of talk about war and rumours of war.

cannot speak for anyone else but i am just anxiously watching to see what will unfold because i don't think that i have anything substantial to add to the debate.

Heard some talk about vivian blake and his relationship with the US Feds if u get my drift.

"sing a song of sixpence"

yuh tink a sixpence?

cannot speak for anyone else but i am just anxiously watching to see what will unfold because i don't think that i have anything substantial to add to the debate.
              Mi ave sumting fi hadd....

Is Manley Fault...plus di las 18 year still a plague wi....plus Omar dip im han inna di DEA an ah dat mek dem run wid it...plus Portia an har dutty draws...plus tiefin Kern set di bad hegzample fi Dudus....plus Trafigura an dem corruption....plus fuhfool PJ an im nuff cyar,gyal an cellie fooliniss...plus Pickersgill an im almshouse...plus Reneto Adams fiya tuh much shat inna Tivoli an mad dem...plus di termite dem still deh bout an ah nyam out di country...plus di JC Flight Simulatah ah konfuse di Tivolite dem ....

**************** did I leave anything out?
              Last edited by Don1; September 4, 2009, 03:10 AM.

well, we are now fully informed ... mi did a guh seh "briefed" but....

What the USA Wants, It Gets!

Like you, I have nothing substantial to add to this debate except the following reminder: What the USA wants, the USA will get, even it involves spiriting him out of his Kingston enclave at night by helicopter. Think I’m joking? Well, if you do, then you probably would not have heard of Guyana’s Shaheed “Roger” Khan or the Bahamas’ Samuel “Ninety” Knowles.

Both were millionaires!

In Guyanese Khan’s case, he was captured and flown out of not even his native Guyana, but rather from neighboring Suriname!! Khan was then flown (spirited, it seems) down to Trinidad and on to the USA. In Knowles’ case, he was literally taken out of prison and flown by helicopter to the USA in the dead of night!

I guess them don't call him The President fe nutten! Fidel who?

From the Observer...

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

"No one else can, but he can institute a replacement system. If he knew he was going to go, he could begin to put a different order in place, which could prevent any explosion. In other words, he could begin to delegate more authority and he could begin to make efforts to remove those who are potential sources of problem," said the PMI's Horace Levy, who is also a fellow at the Institute for Criminal Justice and Security (ICJS).

Weren't Jamaican criminals wanted in the US taken at sea north of Montego Bay/Negril some years past and put before the courts in Florida?

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                        Like you, I have nothing substantial to add to this debate except the following reminder: What the USA wants, the USA will get, even it involves spiriting him out of his Kingston enclave at night by helicopter. Think I’m joking? Well, if you do, then you probably would not have heard of Guyana’s Shaheed “Roger” Khan or the Bahamas’ Samuel “Ninety” Knowles.

Both were millionaires!

In Guyanese Khan’s case, he was captured and flown out of not even his native Guyana, but rather from neighboring Suriname!! Khan was then flown (spirited, it seems) down to Trinidad and on to the USA. In Knowles’ case, he was literally taken out of prison and flown by helicopter to the USA in the dead of night!
                        mek dem try dat ah Tivoli...ah joke yuh ah mek.

Dudus safe

Tivaarli!!!

he will be extradited (or maybe killed extra judiciously)......there will be three to four days of severe dislocation downtown along with the attendant news reports in the foreign press..... a new president will be elected, a new order enforced and things will be back to 'normal'.

Been there done that.......it has happened at least once every decade since 1970.

Originally posted by Comment View Post
                              he will be extradited (or maybe killed extra judiciously)......there will be three to four days of severe dislocation downtown along with the attendant news reports in the foreign press..... a new president will be elected, a new order enforced and things will be back to 'normal'.

Been there done that.......it has happened at least once every decade since 1970.
                              Yuh sure is not 1972 ?