Groom Killed by NYPD on Wedding Day

• Groom Killed by NYPD on Wedding Day

<DIV id=cnnSCHeadlineArea><A name=ContentArea></A><H1>Angry crowd protests NYPD shooting</H1><H5><SCRIPT language=JavaScript type=text/javascript> </SCRIPT>POSTED: 12:46 p.m. EST, November 27, 2006 </H5></DIV><DIV id=cnnSCContentColumn><SCRIPT language=JavaScript type=text/javascript>var clickExpire = "12/27/2006";</SCRIPT><DIV id=cnnSCHighlightsBox><H4><SPAN>Story Highlights</SPAN></H4>• NEW: Mayor Michael Bloomberg said he expects a grand jury to investigate
    • Five officers involved are placed on paid administrative leave
    • Angry crowd gathers to demand answers about NYPD shooting of groom
    •Police say no gun was found in victims' car </DIV><DIV id=cnnSCFontButtons><DIV id=cnnSCFontLabel>Adjust font size:</DIV><DIV id=cnnSCFontMinusBtn &#111;nclick="setActiveStyleSheet('default'); return false;"></DIV><DIV id=cnnSCFontPlusBtn &#111;nclick="setActiveStyleSheet('LargeFont'); return false;"></DIV></DIV>

NEW YORK (AP) -- An angry crowd shouted "No justice, no peace!" Some called for the ouster of the city's police commissioner. Many counted off to 50, the number of rounds that are estimated to have been fired by police at three unarmed men, killing one on his wedding day.

Several hundred people gathered Sunday for a vigil and rally to demand answers about why officers let fly a flurry of bullets at 23-year-old Sean Bell early Saturday, hours before he was supposed to marry the mother of his two young children.

The five officers were placed on paid administrative leave and stripped of their guns, said Paul Browne, chief spokesman for the NYPD. Police and prosecutors promised a full investigation.

But none of that stemmed the fury of a community outraged by the shootings. (Watch the crowd count down the number of shots fired )

"We cannot allow this to continue to happen," the Rev. Al Sharpton said at the gathering outside Mary Immaculate Hospital, where one of the two wounded men was in critical condition. "We've got to understand that all of us were in that car."

Relatives of the men, including Bell's fiancee, attended the vigil and rally but none spoke publicly.

Some in the crowd called for the removal of Police Commissioner Raymond Kelly, yelling "Kelly must go!"

Kelly has said that police shot at the car after it drove forward and struck an undercover officer and an unmarked police minivan. The information was based on interviews with witnesses and two officers who did not fire their weapons, he said.

But a witness account emerged Monday disputing that version of events.

Trini Wright, a dancer at the strip club where Bell's bach

RE: Groom Killed by NYPD on Wedding Day

God Bless America! No, I mean that. If this were Jamaica, investigators would have "found" at least one gun on the victims.

What I admired was how the community came together and expressed their outrage. Lets see the outcome of this one.

We came together for Diallo and Louima, and...sigh

Oh ...:w00t:you misunderstand me. I was comparing to what would happen back home. Organizations like the JFJ and JCHR make attempts and people have problem with it. I wonder how many of those that cuss those organizations cuss Al Sharpton?

Dem yah beast boys too trigger happy. Who knows the koptics could have been drunk, and thank goodness them couldn't plant any gun in the guy's car.

<DIV>
              Lazie (11/27/2006)Oh ...:w00t:you misunderstand me. I was comparing to what would happen back home. Organizations like the JFJ and JCHR make attempts and people have problem with it. I wonder how many of those that cuss those organizations cuss Al Sharpton?
              </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Okay, I get you.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>But Lazie, look how many of our own people cuss Rev. Al Sharpton. We latch on to white America's opinion of the man and don't even realise the stupidity of it. None of us on this forum can walk in Sharpton's footsteps. NONE! The sooner we realise that the quicker we can advance out of our sorry condition on the American social landscape. Yes, and is dem same kinda people cuss out JFJ and the JCHR!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Good point, Lazie!</DIV>

This nuh mek no sense at all. This sounds like the police are lying to rhatid. I am not one to usually jump on the bandwagon when an incident involving police and a black person happens but this is someshady business from the word go.

What motive would the stripper have for making up a story saying that she was putting her purse/bag(s) in the trunk of the stopped car when the police van came around the corner and rammed the them?She only met the shooting victims that night! Itwas not like these are old friends and she would be biased or potentially compromised into stretching the truth for them. These are for all intent and purposes perfect strangers. Sometin' nuh right..... - T.K.

A same way back in September, they were chasing 3 grown men and stumbledupon my 16 year old sonGreg and his friends in the friends backyard.They cart them off to jail and during the arrest they pistol-whip my kid on his head and hold a gun to his head. Whenwe wentto the precint only to be told that they caught him red handed smoking weed. I took my son the same day for a drug test for every drug possible.. including marijuana because I know for a fact he does not smoke. All testcame back negative. I filed a complained with the Citizens Review board and is waiting to hearing.

NYPD too lie and wicked... and dem buck the wrong (right) mother.. truss me!!

<DIV>Duh yuh ting, Portia! I hope you can retire after this!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>How yuh do? Will be up there for the New Year. We should link! </DIV>

Portia (12/1/2006)A same way back in September, they were chasing 3 grown men and stumbledupon my 16 year old sonGreg and his friends in the friends backyard.They cart them off to jail and during the arrest they pistol-whip my kid on his head and hold a gun to his head. Whenwe wentto the precint only to be told that they caught him red handed smoking weed. I took my son the same day for a drug test for every drug possible.. including marijuana because I know for a fact he does not smoke. All testcame back negative. I filed a complained with the Citizens Review board and is waiting to hearing.

Lady P, after that you should have called in BIG AL - mek we march eena NY City!

Den trying hard to find a gun. They are busy kooking for a 4th manthatthey claim fled the scene with a gun. They have arrested 4 persons while searchingfor "witnesses"and they claim that find a 9mm

1) Let us belive thepolice story that onefellow said that he was going to get a gun, then this scenario makes sense.

The police ramedthe groomcar without identifying themselves as police (The stripper said so)

A copused the wordgun, a drunk cop heard the word gun, another drunk cop opened fire (one witness said the first shot was a single shot before the barage), the fellow believed that he was shotby the persons who he threatenedand tried to escape. The other cops opened fire.

Here is the bottom line

a) The NYPD would not have shot 3 white kids without seeing the gun

b) The NYPD would not have fired 50 bullets into a car with 3 white kids

c) If these were three white kids then the NYPD would have stopped the car with police lights and siren to make sure the white kids knew thay they were been stopped by police.

What if the police overheard Bell friends making arrangements for the stripper to clean the rifle and did not understand what that really meant

Portia (12/1/2006)A same way back in September, they were chasing 3 grown men and stumbledupon my 16 year old sonGreg and his friends in the friends backyard.They cart them off to jail and during the arrest they pistol-whip my kid on his head and hold a gun to his head. Whenwe wentto the precint only to be told that they caught him red handed smoking weed. I took my son the same day for a drug test for every drug possible.. including marijuana because I know for a fact he does not smoke. All testcame back negative. I filed a complained with the Citizens Review board and is waiting to hearing.

As Capleton would say, "Sue Dem!!!!"

<DIV>:w00t:</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>snicker</DIV>