• What about Mr Mike Henry?

Friday, August 28, 2009
    Everything that Prime Minister Bruce Golding said on the front page of yesterday's edition - from the 'significant' top-ups that have been paid to police and teachers since 2007, to the rationale behind the freeze on public sector wages - sounds reasonable.

However, this space cannot accept his stated inability to honour the seven per cent increase agreed for the 2008-2010 contract period, not unless he can clear the fog from the issue of the $60-million upgrade to the Government house now occupied by Mr Mike Henry, his minister of transport and works.

What we, along with many Jamaicans would like to know, is how, against the background of the harsh economic times of which the prime minister speaks, his administration justifies it.

And if that expenditure cannot be justified by anything other than Mr Henry's stated resolution not to live in squalor, can we really say that the civil servants - who are agitating for what is due to them - are being unfair?

Don't they, too, have a right to press for benefits that will help them to circumvent the same squalor of which Mr Henry spoke?

It is full time that we turned our attention, as a country, to the issue of how exactly the State is managing resources which should, rightly, be employed for the benefit of as many people as possible.

For the gap between the type of life that Mr Henry and his colleagues live and the life that the average person lives is way too wide.

It is this gap, which also exists between the most vulnerable in society and those who are themselves barely surviving, that will ultimately guarantee our collective downfall.

So what do we do?
    Do we continue to pretend that it is all right to keep straining the resources of the State to facilitate luxuries like the multi-million-dollar refurbishing exercise for Mr Henry's house, protracted predictable legal battles and done-deal by-elections which are attributable to the contempt that those holders of dual citizenship have for the Constitution?

Or do we pretend that it is all right - in the name of negotiations for better wages and fringe benefits - for teachers, nurses, police and other essential service providers to abdicate their responsibility to build this nation by holding it to ransom through threats to strike at the expense of those who depend upon them most?

It is our opinion that none of these positions is sustainable.

The Government cries out for understanding on the basis that it is broke, whilst frittering away the people's money on non-essentials.

Civil servants cannot hold a hard line that jeopardises the opening of schools and functioning of health services and the nation's security.

Some amount of yielding is going to have to take place between the two extremes. Otherwise, sooner or later, we'll all break.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/edito...IKE_HENRY_.asp
    Last edited by Karl; August 28, 2009, 10:32 AM. Reason: Improve ease of reading

Have to agree with the position of this writer. The expenditure on Mike's residence is simply a slap in the face and I'm yet to hear the PM address it.

Slap in the face is being nice. When yuh couple that with his statement about "living in squalour", that sort of rudeness and arrogance reminds you of some of them we dislike on the other side. I thought we were getting a change!?!?

Mo 60 million is too much but if you saw the pictures the gleaner publish. If it is the correct pictures it was nothing short of squalour.

Did you see the pictures?

I thought this was a real-estate investment ???

No, I didn't. but the minister should be careful how he talks. Too many Jamaicans living in abject squalor, so when your squalid conditions have to be repaired to the tune of $60M...

Can't imagine what kinda repairs would be needed. Nuh better dem get him somewhere else?! If you try to repair Devon House, the front door along might run yuh $60M.

mi agree with you but you notice the PNP didn't answer back after the picture?
              The place was a mess(if the pictures were taken there) and squalor was political jab but it ws definately not 'politically correct'.

It nuh mean sah you have to overspend.

Sass, leave the PNP out of this! Get out of this PNP-JLP thing!!! At least, leave me out of it!!!!!!!! I can think for myself, thank you very much!!!!!

"leave the PNP out of this" Try be fair nuh? Who handed over the place in such a manner? Mi nuh see how all of a sudden they should be left out of this.

That said the gov't should have left the refurbishing until it was affordable.

So, the other govt minister was living in squalor? Is who dat?

Lazie, we can have a discussion without bringing up what the PNP feels or doesn't feel, or did or didn't do. Some of us act as if, unless it gets the blessing or cussing from our respective camps, then that somehow legitimizes whatever "it" is.

how? The PNP said they handed it over in perfect condition.

fi dem standards always low. nuh das why wi change dem!?

Dem ovah spend ???

mi nuh sure you change them.

With the pictures I see the need for repairs but the price tag too much. It was however in poor taste for who occupied the house before to say it was in good shape which give Henry wiggle room.