What Manley dem nevah waan si inna Jamaica

Seems as if you don't consider Cudjoe et al as our leaders and more ancient founding fathers. I could be wrong.

It's obvious that you haven't grasped the seriousness
      of the situation. The effect of selling our natural resources for "little an nutten" which in turn forced us to spend very little on education (hence 55% illiteracy in 1972) hence masking it in psuedo data that we were doing well. Oh I forgot you enjoyed attendence at one of the Colonial outposts ("high school") hence it's not a problem for you. What if Joshua took that approach? This is why my friend wrote to Beverly asking why Joshua did it; because he could have easily gone the other way.

What Joshua did was revolutionary and his work was jnot completed; hence JA still suffers from a low rate in human resources.

Dat argument kill yuh dead.

Hush.

What was revolutionary about addressing social imbalance ?

The only departure was his approach by destroying the productive base and crippling the economy... which unfortunately is counter-productive since as we all know:

IT TAKES CASH TO CARE.

Maybe Manley did feel seh wi was rich..

LOL !

Again read what I said about the low rate of human resources.

Did you know that most of who now are big financiers of your party were once big backers of Joshua in 72? Listen to your father Eddie when says "JA is PNP country" Who do you thinnk voted out Joshua in the 80s? Who do you think gave Brucie that two seat margin in 07?

Joshua had poor advisors who were caught up with the romatic stories of Karl marx. at this present stage those ideas cannot work. The poor is still poorer in communism and those at the top rich. UWI should have read what Garvey said about communism.

Sidebar (thanks HL): I will initiate you in a mystery; communism will have its last laugh in a thousand years from now. Look around you for the clues.

Cho, class dismissed.

Manley was the wrong leader at at critical Juncture in Jamaican history..

Even him faddah did unnastan dat... why is it so difficult for you to understand ?

Yuh tink Eddie or Shearer would address our human resource
                problem? Thanks.

Is that a serious question ?

Why wouldn't Seaga do that ????

Ah nuh him create Heart ?

Yuh evah tek time to look at the list of institutions Eddie create ?

Wheh yuh tink him duh dat fah ? Boredom ?

Time yuh get real Jawge.

How yuh fall fi dat so easy? Well it shows that you are
                    young. Son, HEART is not NEW okay. Now for the icing: prior to 1972 the JLP had all the time to do what we were discussing.

What you don't is this: In 1972 Ja was in a Euphoria, Joshua was loved and jakans felt national pride and a oneness. Leftism slowly crept in the works and all went downhill. The only sad part is that JA didn't need the foreign intervention to straighten out Joshua. The people would have done it via the ballot (as they did).

The JLP ?

Wi talking about Eddie...

Once again try and support your argument that Eddie would NOT have sought to improve the human resource base in Jamaica.

Try yuh bess...

Erm Ben, in case you missed this: Eddie was in the JLP prior to 1972 and being hailed as finance wunderkin. Yuh young bad. Seriously class is dismissed, enough for one day.

What is your point ?

Are you trying to say that prior to 1972 the JLP had no intentions regarding improving the education and skill level of the human resource ???

]It's obvious that you haven't grasped the seriousness
                            of the situation. The effect of selling our natural resources for "little an nutten" which in turn forced us to spend very little on education (hence 55% illiteracy in 1972) hence masking it in psuedo data that we were doing well.
                            I somewhat agree with this construct....and I believe I grasp it far more profoundly than you seem to....with your emphasis on individuals you idolize.
                            What I don't agree with is idolatry of Manley or any politician.
                            You display obvious signs of such idolatry.. it is misplaced.

Jamaica's historically low spending on education is due to the corruption and greed of the ruling class.... not low prices on the commodity market....that is an exacerbating factor..not causative.

The people who choose the priorities in public spending are at fault.
                            This problem continues to this day thru all administrations...it is structural....so a new structure is required to change it...ie a Social Contract.

Oh I forgot you enjoyed attendence at one of the Colonial outposts ("high school") hence it's not a problem for you.
                            I enjoyed attendance at a College...not a high school. I apologize or explain myself to no guy for that.
                            The fact of my attendance at that particular, progressive College has enhanced, not hindered by understanding and empathy for people not as fortunate to have the same opportunity....you may be one....who knows?

What if Joshua took that approach? This is why my friend wrote to Beverly asking why Joshua did it; because he could have easily gone the other way.
                            Manley did many great things ...he also did many things wrongheaded, stupid, divisive and destructive. His heart was right in my opinion but he was easily misled, manipulated and quite naive. ie his head was wrong.

What Joshua did was revolutionary and his work was jnot completed; hence JA still suffers from a low rate in human resources.
                            His work was fatally flawed..and the backward opposition, manipulative USA and our corrupt private sector took advantage of those fatal flaws. We are still suffering the effects of the division today.

Is he blameless in this? Hell no.

Mi nuh inna di idolatry..yuh cyan keep it.

Time to move on.
                            Last edited by Don1; August 30, 2009, 01:39 PM.

Ben you claim that you are critical thinker: please look at Ja's history and suporting figures prior to 1972. Thanks.

Ok.. this is what I found:

"On January 6, 1969 Mr. Shearer was appointed by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II as Member of the Privy Council of England.

During his tenure as Prime Minister, Jamaica attained its highest ever-gross domestic product (GDP) per capita – US$2,300 – based on rapid growth in agriculture, mining and tourism.

He also started a system of major highways, the first being the Kingston to Spanish Town Highway, and laid the plans for other by-pass routes, which would remove bottlenecks in all major towns.

Mr. Shearer had a special interest in education, and courtesy of the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA), he was able to make marked improvements to the existing system, under the New Deal Education Programme. The New Deal Programme was designed to provide a sound education for every child in Jamaica, and, for the first time, the prospect of a totally educated population became a real possibility."

Bwoy Jawge it look like seh Manley nevah have di patent on 'social works'.. him juss had the best CON... people all ah name him aftah prophet..

LOL !!

Do bettah Jawge.. I know you can do it ..