• What Manley dem nevah waan si inna Jamaica

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nd5WGLWNllA

Meanwhile man ah celebrate Airplane flight simulatah class as innovation..

LOL !! Poor wi....

Thousands of years ago when the Greeks would go to
    Africa to learn, they would be referred to as "children" (due to their eagerness to absorb math and science and not rpoperly equipped at the same time) Today the descedants "Children" rule the world.

You speak of that which you know very little: In 1972 when "Joshua" came to power; he was faced with 55% illiteracy in population. Another 30% had up to middle school and 10% secondary (high school and trade school) we can safely say a 2% had tertiary education. Now plug these numbers in any of those strategy games (Civilization et al) and see how hard it would be to have a progressive nation. You would find yourself with a low turn over for your economy, poor vision and trading skills, et al. Try one of those Games (download the trial version for free) and my point will come home.

Joshua wanted to smelt the bauxite in JA but the low rate in human resources (see above), Which Joshua fully understood at the time (see documentary called H2 Worker), hindered himfrom doing so.Changing the red dirt to metal was unrealistic in the 70s. This would demand expertise mainly in mechanical and chemical engineering. How many phds in the fields mentioned did UWi issue or JA had?

Now the Germans do not have the natural resources of bauxite but yet they are able to turn water into wine (most of ye children have a literal interpretation of the Bible) on a daily basis. In JA it's hard to see that the education system left back from colonial times was meant hold the island in one way of thinking: hence you have the talk about best school on the island, east/west, town/country and other foolishness. If a German should log on to this site and hear the "best school" rant, the German would be shocked to learn that it's only HIGH SCHOOL, the ranters are talking about. This also shows why you Ben is left in awe, to worship and to praise because your education system cannot teach you how to turn water into wine.

Why are the Germans able to do so much? Let's ask what Garvey asked: do they have two heads? Are they more blessed? No! but as long as we continue to adorned ourselves with the garments of mental slavery, we cannot and will not be able to change "water into wine".

Africa to learn, they would be referred to as "children" (due to their eagerness to absorb math and science and not rpoperly equipped at the same time) Today the descedants "Children" rule the world.

You speak of that which you know very little: In 1972 when "Joshua" came to power; he was faced with 55% illiteracy in population. Another 30% had up to middle school and 10% secondary (high school and trade school) we can safely say a 2% had tertiary education. Now plug these numbers in any of those strategy games (Civilization et al) and see how hard it would be to have a progressive nation. You would find yourself with a low turn over for your economy, poor vision and trading skills, et al. Try one of those Games (download the trial version for free) and my point will come home.

Joshua wanted to smelt the bauxite in JA but the low rate in human resources (see above), Which Joshua fully understood at the time (see documentary called H2 Worker), hindered himfrom doing so.Changing the red dirt to metal was unrealistic in the 70s. This would demand expertise mainly in mechanical and chemical engineering. How many phds in the fields mentioned did UWi issue or JA had?

Now the Germans do not have the natural resources of bauxite but yet they are able to turn water into wine (most of ye children have a literal interpretation of the Bible) on a daily basis. In JA it's hard to see that the education system left back from colonial times was meant hold the island in one way of thinking: hence you have the talk about best school on the island, east/west, town/country and other foolishness. If a German should log on to this site and hear the "best school" rant, the German would be shocked to learn that it's only HIGH SCHOOL, the ranters are talking about. This also shows why you Ben is left in awe, to worship and to praise because your education system cannot teach you how to turn water into wine.

Why are the Germans able to do so much? Let's ask what Garvey asked: do they have two heads? Are they more blessed? No! but as long as we continue to adorned ourselves with the garments of mental slavery, we cannot and will not be able to change "water into wine".
      LOL!!!LO EFFING L!!!

Get help.........

Thanks for your contribution.

um Jawge.. was Jamaica the only country in the region at the time with those 'education numbers' ?

Give it up Jawge...

Manley FAILED where others succeeded... poor choices..poor policy..

Errr Ben definitely policy mistakes were made but in fact at that time Jamaica did have one of the lower per capita expenditures on education in the region.
            Definitely lower than Barbados who you often correctly describe as a country that has thrived relaively.

Barbados ?? Is only Barbados thrived relatively since then ?

Yuh check out our 'Ranking' in the region.. mi feel seh is only Haiti and Guyana we battling wid..

LOL !!

Is suh heducation hexpensive ??

LOL !!

It takes cash to care.....

Unnuh keep scratching for excuse for 'Quixotic' behaviour....

Don't misunderstand me, there is no excuse for what has taken place in the last eighteen years in light of the growth in the global economy over the same period. Just commenting on our education expenditure way back when.

Way back when ?

I keep telling Jawge, Black people could not vote in American in the 60's.. who have more defensible rights today ? Black man in Babylon or Black man in Jamaica ?

Attempts at aggressive Social Transformation without 'Cash' is quixotic and any attempts should have been viewed with great suspicion especially when delivered from the pulpit of Political Persuasion..

The road to hell is paved with 'good intentions'....

A more astute reader would grasp a lot from this:
                    In 1972 when "Joshua" came to power; he was faced with 55% illiteracy in population. Another 30% had up to middle school and 10% secondary (high school and trade school) we can safely say a 2% had tertiary education. Now plug these numbers in any of those strategy games (Civilization et al) and see how hard it would be to have a progressive nation. You would find yourself with a low turn over for your economy, poor vision and trading skills, et al.

What you fail to see in those numbers is that JA was heading nowhere. WHy Ja showed growth in the 60s was because very little was spent on education and other social programmes (check the data on infant mortality rate et al). The founding fathers were tricked again (oh it was embrarassing with the treaty with the maroons) by the British. If you gain independence with more than half the population being illiterate; you are setting yourself up for disaster. JA should have requested some form of compesation in terms of setting up an education system. The British very well understood the concept of human resources: look at what they did to break the German codes also to invent the radar et al. The British were seasoned statesmen and diplomats, hence they knew they were giving Ja a raw deal (in the context that this region lost its strategic value to them). This can be uncovered from serious works on history (which brings back my initial cry for a school of history and political science).

It's very obvious that Joshua made poor decisions in regional politics. You may not know but Ja via Joshua was at the forefront aginst apartheid. Now aprtheid is gone,we were punished heavily for our involvement (due to the cold war). What do we have to show? Did S.Africa return the favour in trade because we stood up for them? Well our poor opiltical skills speak volumes here. The low rate in human resources contributed to the above mentioned.

It's very easy for you to say "ah but blacks around the world were treated badly so what's the big deal?" That answer is the trivial solution. What if Joshua had continued and said "ah things will work itself out "(as you are implying) Most posters would not be able to post on this site because they would be unable to read and write.

when was the maroon treaty signed?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nd5WGLWNllA

Meanwhile man ah celebrate Airplane flight simulatah class as innovation..

LOL !! Poor wi....
                        What a way di likkle ting ah bun di bredda....bad mine ah guh kill dem!!

Bittah2??

You might consider at some point to let go of the Manley idolatry and take a more balanced view of his policies and their effects.

....even though he did go to the best.LOL!

Seaga was blacka dan Manley..

Manley simply BOTCHED what Seaga would have delivered without the HYPE...

Poor Yuh..

Naw come better; need some serious counter arguments.