• Sass? - World Champs performance set to open tourism doors

World Champs performance set to open tourism doors

Published: Tuesday | August 25, 2009

Howard Campbell, Gleaner Writer

Bartlett

Tourism Minister Edmund Bartlett says the remarkable performances of Jamaica's athletes at the World Championships in Berlin, Germany, has opened even more doors for the country's leisure industry.

"We have a number of key initiatives that will involve sports and tourism working in a more coordinated way. When I get back, I will speak in more detail," Bartlett told The Gleaner yesterday from Italy, where he is on vacation.

13 medals
    Jamaica, led by the superlative sprinter Usain Bolt, won 13 medals at the August 15-23 World Championships, a haul bettered only by the United States which finished with 22 medals.

One year ago, the country's athletes were also the toast of the Olympic Games in Beijing, China, where Bolt captured the 100 and 200 metres in world-record times.

Bartlett said the tourism ministry and organisers of the World Championships went all out to capitalise on Bolt and the team's appeal by installing booths promoting Jamaican products at the Alexanderplatz in Berlin.

Puma activities
    Bolt's main sponsor, German sports manufacturer Puma, also staged several activities with the ministry, including a sprint race that saw the victor winning a weekend for two in Jamaica.

Bartlett said he and Jamaica Tourist Board (JTB) Chairman John Lynch, who accompanied him, met with German travel agents, including the influential TUI Travel and discussed strategies to attract more Germans to Jamaica.

Germany is Jamaica's second-strongest tourism market in Europe behind Britain. Figures from the JTB showed a four per cent jump in arrivals from that country to Jamaica in 2008.

Last August, a high-profile sports and tourism delegation travelled to Beijing with the Olympians. Bartlett and Sports Minister Olivia 'Babsy' Grange said the spin-offs from Jamaica's amazing showing in China would be enormous but not much has been heard of the proposed projects since.

Bartlett said they are coming on stream.
    "China has developed a stronger infrastructure for tourism traffic to Jamaica and several travel agents and business interests from China have visited Jamaica in the last seven months. So, things are coming together," he said.

Copyright Jamaica-Gleaner.com

While it sound good I have to see the results first. I don't know if we did the best with the Olympics but the Germans travel a lot so let us see if we can take advantage of the 15 minutes. These oppurtunities don't last long and we seem to be good at making friends but not selling Jamaica and our talent.

Puma maybe the only one who get the windfall of the World Championship.

Last August, a high-profile sports and tourism delegation travelled to Beijing with the Olympians. Bartlett and Sports Minister Olivia 'Babsy' Grange said the spin-offs from Jamaica's amazing showing in China would be enormous but not much has been heard of the proposed projects since.

World Champs performance set to open tourism doors

Published: Tuesday | August 25, 2009

Howard Campbell, Gleaner Writer

Bartlett

Tourism Minister Edmund Bartlett says the remarkable performances of Jamaica's athletes at the World Championships in Berlin, Germany, has opened even more doors for the country's leisure industry.

"We have a number of key initiatives that will involve sports and tourism working in a more coordinated way. When I get back, I will speak in more detail," Bartlett told The Gleaner yesterday from Italy, where he is on vacation.

13 medals
        Jamaica, led by the superlative sprinter Usain Bolt, won 13 medals at the August 15-23 World Championships, a haul bettered only by the United States which finished with 22 medals.

One year ago, the country's athletes were also the toast of the Olympic Games in Beijing, China, where Bolt captured the 100 and 200 metres in world-record times.

Bartlett said the tourism ministry and organisers of the World Championships went all out to capitalise on Bolt and the team's appeal by installing booths promoting Jamaican products at the Alexanderplatz in Berlin.

Puma activities
        Bolt's main sponsor, German sports manufacturer Puma, also staged several activities with the ministry, including a sprint race that saw the victor winning a weekend for two in Jamaica.

Bartlett said he and Jamaica Tourist Board (JTB) Chairman John Lynch, who accompanied him, met with German travel agents, including the influential TUI Travel and discussed strategies to attract more Germans to Jamaica.

Germany is Jamaica's second-strongest tourism market in Europe behind Britain. Figures from the JTB showed a four per cent jump in arrivals from that country to Jamaica in 2008.

Bartlett said they are coming on stream.
        "China has developed a stronger infrastructure for tourism traffic to Jamaica and several travel agents and business interests from China have visited Jamaica in the last seven months. So, things are coming together," he said.

Copyright Jamaica-Gleaner.com

Why wi tek so long fi do hanyting? Is a whole year since Beijing!!! Why we can strike while de iron hot??? What yuh seh Ben?

bartlett was in italy..

on vacation to ra$ $ $!!! yu eva see anyting suh???

I can only hope it was a working vacation.... trying to woo some Italian travel agents.

i hope he wasn't there just trying to woo some italians!!

I see where Jamaica should bid to host for the 2013 World Championship IN KINGSTON!!:

Four (4) years should be enough to rehabilitate pick-pockets and gun-men to be good hosts. It is aslo sufficient time to train taxi and mini-buss drivers to wait in orderly queue for transporting the thousands of visitors for the event.

2013 should also be enough time for the National Stadiun to be expanded to accommodate 65K+ seats.

Building many more hotels to house the multitude expected-- should be within the jAMAICAN 4 year time-line...........

Most importantly, Jamaica has the financial resources to accomplish this!!
                  Last edited by HL; August 25, 2009, 04:28 PM.

Comm'on PR; it must be a working vacation.

You've never had a working lunch?

Executives almost never take non working breaks.

don't worry about it, HL. i guess we couldn't have help the world youth champs either.

.........much different scenario; thats doable.

Not saying hosting the World Championships is impossible.

That takes a helluva lot more effort than just toying with the idea.

no sheet, sherlock!

merrykah has done a lot for that boy! mi prouda him yuh si?!!

The british VI has done nothing for you.

Yuh need to come to amerr-kah....yes?