Charley's Rum

• Charley's Rum

I was sooo gobsmacked when i saw this rum at the duty free at the airport 2 weeks ago!!!

I recall this rum was very popular when i ran around as a kid growing up in Jamaica. The advertisment (at that time) had something to do with the creator Edwin Charley................

The Charley's Rum were selling for over $100.00/ bottle.

They were about 4 different bottle type. Each had a very intricate hand-blown artwork within the bottle. It was very delicate looking.

But Charley's Rum. Don't know what it taste like . Hopefully I will save up enough money--and trust that delicate looking bottle will withstand the trip.

$100 US? ... duty free ... I don't remember Charley's being an exclusive brand...

Oh yes PR!! OVER US$100.00 !!!

Seems it's the bottle design as a collectors' item that's pushing the price.

I would hope it's the type of rum you sip.

At that price I'd only be sniffing...

If Rum is selling for 100 dollars a bottle and a nuh Jamaican dollars you talk bout, can you tell why we selling sugar again?

Rum shoulda sell a foriegn like how Jamaican Athlete a run a Berlin.

Charley's was light and smooth, I used to drink it with Nutriment, one of my first bar drink. They had withdrawn it from the market I guess in the late 70's, maybe the aging push the price up.

I always thought it could have rival all those Bacardi rum, at the current price it won't happen.

A creature of habit....what can I say?

Appleton 21 yo was beig sold in dutyfree sm years ago for that price!!! Dropped to 65US I think.

The bouquet my friend...

Talking about smooth Rum.. anyone familar with Pryat Pistol..

No... what is it? I assume rum? from where?

Yes its a rum from Anguilla....

Oh yes PR!! OVER US$100.00 !!!

Seems it's the bottle design as a collectors' item that's pushing the price.

I would hope it's the type of rum you sip.
                          They have re-branded that rum for some time. Yup! High priced and I understand, doing well!

From a forum on rums.... I am a lover of fine rums so...

*splutter*

All rums are there for the tasting - collect something else if you want ornaments - particularly on our free open bar. Which is why we have nearly demolished 2 bottles of the irreplaceable 17 year old Appleton.

In answer to your question, the rums taste very Appleton'esque really (not my most eloquent hour!).

The overproof tastes like a refined, smoother JWN Overproof - well worth trying.

The white tastes like the same liquid diluted and is a good example of a Jamaican white - punchy, high ester, full bodied molasses rum with loads of banana, dried fruit and caramel

The aged isn't the best of the range - thinking Appleton, it might sit between the VX and Extra - full flavoured but lacking some of the refinement of each.

The single barrel is typical of unblended rums. Unmistakably Jamaican but very raw around the edges as you might expect. Fascinating to taste a single barrel Appleton rum but not something you would choose over the range as it needs additional dimensions to create harmony.

In short, they're collectors pieces, not sipping rums. But what collectors pieces!!! They have pride of place on our shelves and I paid more than 100 bucks a bottle for ours.....
                            Last edited by Paulipbartender; 05-29-2008 at 06:58 AM.

The Charley's rum that i saw were indeed ornamental...

Glad the writer described each of the Charley's on display. Will give the overproof a try.

On a personal note: Appleton Reserve and the classes of Appleton up all have a nice sip.