• Music Lovers

Billy Paul - Let Em In (live)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hq2YH1jolhI

Marvin Gaye - I want you

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dyIUR9l5pWI

Isaac Hayes - Live in Prospect Park

Walk on By - Part 1

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4oW4nqNqArM

Walk on By - Part 2

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S8O0wfEJEIU

o/b/o music lovers THANK YOU!!!

Love that Billy Paul!

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
        Billy Paul - Let Em In (live)
        http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hq2YH1jolhI

Marvin Gaye - I want you
        http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dyIUR9l5pWI
        Great post, MdmeX !

I saw your post yesterday, but didn’t get an opportunity to check out the YouTube videos until this morning. I thoroughly enjoyed the Billy Paul concert, but that was a rather strange concert in that I’ve never before seen a singer face his band throughout the entirety of the song! That is common in rehearsals, but I’ve never seen it done on stage for the entire duration of a song! It’s like he was singing for and to his band members!

But his performance of “Let Em In” was solid, funky and soulful. From the first time I heard this song many, many years ago, I was struck by the fact that the bass line keeps a constant, unchanging note pattern, separate and unrelated to the changes in the chords (harmony) played by the other instruments.

I also liked the stage lighting, and the entire band was tight and right there with Billy Paul. This is my idea of a must-see concert!

The person who posted that video on YouTube must certainly have made a mistake when he wrote Paul McCartney’s group Wings after Billy Paul’s name!! No way was that solid, funk driven band behind Billy Paul the group Wings! I will vouch for that!!

I was laughing while watching the Marvin Gaye rehearsal video! Talk about an informal setting/session! But those brothers were getting into it. Reminded me of rehearsals sessions I used to be at in Kingston back in the 1980s.

Thanks for posting these videos, MdmeX! I’ll watch the Isaac Hayes video sometime later today between the semi-finals of the men’s 100-meter dash and the finals. That should cool my nerves.

Me & Mrs. Jones...one of my favourites

i wonder why?

Because they've got a good thing going on

but they both know that its wrong.....

apparantly, they don't care!

(sorry, i couldn't recall the next line.)

"but its much too strong to let it go now.."

thanks!

Unnu idle yes....a man cyan't jus' like a song again? Without any deep personal or philosophical meaning....."me and Mrs. Jones, Mrs. Jones...Mrs. Jones....

a wha?!

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                            Unnu idle yes....a man cyan't jus' like a song again? Without any deep personal or philosophical meaning....."me and Mrs. Jones, Mrs. Jones...Mrs. Jones....
                            Well - let us know "when you meet at the same cafe"

I am one of the good guys...ask Mosiah.