T&F? Mi shudda did walk wid mi bulli-beef and crackers

• T&F? Mi shudda did walk wid mi bulli-beef and crackers

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory>Mi shudda did walk wid mi bulli-beef and crackers</SPAN>
    <SPAN class=Subheadline></SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>Bryan Cummings
    Wednesday, August 16, 2006
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    <TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=130 align=left border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=Description></SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>I love food and I specially love Chinese food. I really looked forward to be eating real China Chinese food and could not wait.<P class=StoryText align=justify>It was not until I landed in China that I discovered that the Chinese food that we get in Jamaica is almost totally different from the food that we get here in China.<P class=StoryText align=justify>First, let's start from the beginning of our journey to China, because that's where our food woes all started. On our morning flight out of Jamaica to Miami, we were only fed a very tiny packet of pretzels and no breakfast was offered. We then took a five-hour flight to Los Angeles, and again all we got was a tiny bag of pretzels. They had food selling on the plane, but we did not buy any.<P class=StoryText align=justify>We did not eat much on the 12-hour flight from the USA to Beijing and so by the time we landed in China we were starving. We got to our hotel late and so missed dinner. We had to leave our hotel early the next morning to catch the Jamaica team at early morning training and so we missed breakfast as well.<P class=StoryText align=justify>By the time lunchtime came around, we were starving and 'raw' for any sort of food. The media centre has a restaurant and we ran for it. What we discovered was different from what we expected. We were not familiar with any of the food that was being offered. We sent for a translator to identify the food for us as the restaurant staff only spoke Chinese. We were starving so much that all we did was close our eyes and ate what food that we dared to try. After that, Kayon Raynor (my Observer colleague) and I took turns being guinea pigs. I would try one dish then give him the all clear, then it was his turn to taste the next strange food in order to give me the all-clear sign. We are yet to see or find a fast food restaurant. We should have travelled with our corn beef and crackers.<P class=StoryText align=justify>PS... A strange thing happened to me last night as I took a taxi home. I was sitting in the front of the car when the taxi driver put his arm next to mine and just started laughing. We were puzzled, then the driver did it again and pointed to the hair that I have on my arms. He found it so funny and even rubbed his arms on mine and never stopped laughing until he had dropped us off at our hotel.

RE: T&F? Mi shudda did walk wid mi bulli-beef and crackers

I like Bryan's stories, they are always funny and gives a lighter side of what is going on. He also paints a very vivid picture of what we go through when we travel for overseas assignments. Lots of peoplehave this impression that covering assignmentsoverseas is a vacation, trust me it is anything but.

I had tried warning the Gleaner's reporter Anthony Foster about the food in China...I told him not to expect the same food we buy at Golden Dragon.

Never been to China myself but have spoken to enough people who have to get an idea.

Then like how me planning to go to China fi Olympics 2008, yuh mean that me will have to buy several cases of cornbeef and ship a barrel. For like how me is such a fenke fenke eater. Guess mi will loose much needed weight. When mi come back to this hemshphere, mi could be in a "model's" shape.

Bryan, mek sure yuh nuh nyam nuh dwag!:P

Siyah!

you eat Peking Duck?

go and try the real thing a China town before you go a Bejing

assasin (8/16/2006)you eat Peking Duck?

go and try the real thing a China town before you go a Bejing
          A waan tell yuh seh a Chinatown a nuff-nuff different Chinese cookin yuh wi si! Bwoy sum jus mek yuh run outta dem place quick-quick! :w00t:

Karl yuh right pon that. One look, and when the smell whiff up, me run out of the store, faster that Merlene Ottey in her heydays.

And me nuh eat pork neither!:P

I work with this company that does a lot of business with companies in China. I am really glad I have not been asked to make a trip there as yet in my 2 1/2 years with them. I am just keeping my fingers crossed that things remain the same and I am spared a China trip.

Yes, I hear that the Chinese food there is not the same you get on this side of the world. I am also a picky eater (no pork, beef, lamb etc.) and I would have problems there for sure. I do not know bout the bully beef thing though. That in itself is a heart stopper if I ever saw one. Have you ever seen the amount of fat in the bully beef when you open the can?
              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

the Chiney man dem nuh easy.

The Chinese food in England is different too.

Had a visitor who ask me fi buy Chop Shey and when I returned, I was ask "what the heck is this". I had to take her to the store so she could see for herself.

I went to a store with a chinese co-worker of mine and ordered one order of plantain, and she asked me what is that? She never heard of plantain before:w00t::w00t:

Them people smart nuh hell every where them go them make up the food to suit the buyers.

Well sass - dat's a BAD ARSE marketing strategy that brings in nuff $$$:P