Assasin, seems to me that tourism is doing well in Jamaica

• Assasin, seems to me that tourism is doing well in Jamaica

Despite the lull in the world economy, the influx of tourist appears steady and rising.

Just returned from a 1 week stay at the Grand Palladium. My rating for the Hotel and Spa is a 3.999 out of 5.

Tourism will be the future for Jamaica's growth and development. There is much work that is need to this end. This includes tourism out of the All Inclusive setting..........

Jamaicas' tourism is labor intensive, it engages almost every aspect of local production and customer service.

Assasin I think you mentioned that Hotel Management should be a subject of study in schools. I fully agree.

That Jamaica Tourism: Resilient in the face of this recession-- is very true!!!
    Last edited by HL; August 13, 2009, 03:40 PM.

You were to call me when you got here. Whey yuh fraid a?

...turn out that mah cell fone dough werk in Jamaica...

Thought about calling JBC an put out an APB on you

(dag...moderator: please place this in the right forum.

..........thankx in advance)

Yes, HL. Nevertheless....

Despite the lull in the world economy, the influx of tourist appears steady and rising.

Just returned from a 1 week stay at the Grand Palladium. My rating for the Hotel and Spa is a 3.999 out of 5.

Tourism will be the future for Jamaica's growth and development. There is much work that is need to this end. This includes tourism out of the All Inclusive setting..........
        I fully agree on the importance of tourism to Jamaica’s development, which is why I’ve tended to echo Assasin’s suggestion for tourism to be taught as a subject in schools. This, too, is one of the two primary foundations on which I’ve built my arguments for Spanish to be introduced from grade one level in primary schools to senior high, and that it be compulsory for all students in high school in the same way that English language and mathematics are.

Despite your wonderful experience at the hotel you mentioned, HL, the fact is that the competition that Jamaica faces in the Caribbean region is very strong and something to think seriously about! Despite the apparent successes under the hardworking and dedicated Minister Bartlett, we have a long way to go before anyone, other than ourselves, recognize Jamaica as a true leader in tourism.

The wealthy Turks & Caicos Islands, before the fall of its premier Michael Misick, was progressing in its tourism development by leaps and bounds; much faster than Jamaica, in fact! Barbados, also a very wealthy country, has been doing very well, and not only with European tourists. The Bahamas, the region’s tourism leader, is at present hosting the Miss Universe pageant, which will conclude later this month. That should be a major boost for the Bahamas’ economy, which already has a tremendous advantage over other tourism destinations in that its an archipelago and so, in effect, a multiplicity of destinations rolled into one. The Dominican Republic and Puerto Rico, with their Latin attraction, have also been attracting enormous numbers of tourists for many years now.

Then there is the most threatening spectre of all, Cuba....

HL - Turn around and go again. Air Jamaica has $293.00 roundtrip fare from NY to KIN.

Last week I bought my ticket for $393, only to see it today for $293.00.

I'll have to write-off that XTRA $100.00 as contribution to the sustenance of the airline

Originally posted by Historian View Post
            I fully agree on the importance of tourism to Jamaica’s development, which is why I’ve tended to echo Assasin’s suggestion for tourism to be taught as a subject in schools. This, too, is one of the two primary foundations on which I’ve built my arguments for Spanish to be introduced from grade one level in primary schools to senior high, and that it be compulsory for all students in high school in the same way that English language and mathematics are.

Despite your wonderful experience at the hotel you mentioned, HL, the fact is that the competition that Jamaica faces in the Caribbean region is very strong and something to think seriously about! Despite the apparent successes under the hardworking and dedicated Minister Bartlett, we have a long way to go before anyone, other than ourselves, recognize Jamaica as a true leader in tourism.

The wealthy Turks & Caicos Islands, before the fall of its premier Michael Misick, was progressing in its tourism development by leaps and bounds; much faster than Jamaica, in fact! Barbados, also a very wealthy country, has been doing very well, and not only with European tourists. The Bahamas, the region’s tourism leader, is at present hosting the Miss Universe pageant, which will conclude later this month. That should be a major boost for the Bahamas’ economy, which already has a tremendous advantage over other tourism destinations in that its an archipelago and so, in effect, a multiplicity of destinations rolled into one. The Dominican Republic and Puerto Rico, with their Latin attraction, have also been attracting enormous numbers of tourists for many years now.

Then there is the most threatening spectre of all, Cuba....
            Historian,

Jamaica is proving to be very competitive in tourism especially within the past 7-8 years.
            Effective marketing and PR has long been an important part of the mix... but is a distant second in importance to recent infrastural improvements and investment in the product from both private and public sources.

The room count has increased by over 50% in that time period.... way stronger than any other major Caribbean destination....and among the world leaders in % room growth.
            From just about 20,000 rooms to over 30,000...with many more planned & approved but stalled by the recession.
            With more rooms and stronger hotel marketing groups....comes increased market reach.

Jamaica has been named among the top 10 favourite destinations worldwide...consistently in the past 8 years by recognized publications.

Jamaica has been named THE #1 Cruise Destination Worldwide several times recently.

Jamaica has the most varied and developed attractions in the entire Caribbean.

Jamaica has modernized its airports and seaports and built a highway connecting all its major resorts and attractions along the north coast. Without this we would never have attracted the massive recent investment in room stock.
            These investments have also attracted more airline and cruise lines to start or increase service.

The above along with the unique culture of Jamaica and its celebrity appeal as a marketing brand....Bob, reggae, Bolt, jerk chicken, weed & rent a dread etc etc ... are the key reasons for our relative success.

If Jamaica can make the island safe for its people...and consequently safe for our visitors.... these gains can be consolidated and the potential of the industry realized.

Like the RBZ we should respect every competitor and plan for them...but fear no one.

The Montego Bay Airport would do well with some Kiosk.

That's a part in being modern and efficient..............

HL people don't realise the importance of this. First thing is the people of Jamaica don't know what they have and how to help people around. The craft vendors are chasing people away and so many people outside the hotel don't know how to approach or attract tourist to their establishment or place of business. Everybody is also selling the same product.

the trained employee will not only be marketable in jamaica but on ships, other hotels overseas and in all area of life that is connected to the hotel eg. farming, horticulture, maintenance, construction, etc. People also need to learn about the importance of their environment and history.

HEART in Runaway Bay have a good program but why give people a second chance when they never had a first chance? Most the people with 6 subject will end up working in a bank or at a hotel so why not train them to go in and make an impression?

We might not want to admit it but if you go to many other island nobody nah run you down fi Ganja, or try to harrass you to buy nothing. Taxi drivers wait orderly outside the hotels.

It nuh matter how much number one we have. You know how many people stay on the ship when it land in Ja? How many people would spend more if they are not harrassed? and how many people are turned off because of a few "sharks" inside the resort town?

Tourism must take Jamaica to the future but if we don't build and train Jamaicans we will continue to have forts and investors will carry in their own workers and instead of getting 6 million tourist we will be stuck at 2.5 to 3 million.

With all the number we have The Bahamas taking more than 2 times the tourist we are taking yearly.

kiosks for what?

How yuh nuh mention Butch and him hotels? Nuh dem win all kinda prize every year?

Oh yeah!!

Sarry!!!!!!!

kiosks for what?
                        maybe peep shows? that could drive some traffic.

But Have We Really Benefitted?

Don1, at a later date I’ll try and present a synopsis of what some regional tourism destinations are doing, and have already done, and the type of results obtained in terms of actual increase in tourist arrivals.

And by the way, I wasn’t fearing anyone. I’ve just grown tired of Jamaica’s tendency to “fear no one” while our problems continue to increase daily and the entities which we taunted our regional neighbours (Air Jamaica, etc. etc.) all come tumbling down one after the other. In making my post yesterday I was just making a point that in the same way that Jamaica is improving its tourism product, other regional competitors are doing the same, in several cases pumping even more investments into their improvements!

You have presented a very comprehensive picture of developments in Jamaica’s tourism industry. The optimism is indeed infectious. The “problem”, nevertheless, is that while you’ve made a very good post (and, in terms of public relations, an unquestionably excellent one), the numbers in terms of tourist arrivals are still not terribly impressive compared to a decade ago!

Likewise, what is the point of being “named the #1 cruise destination worldwide several times” when we do not have the largest number of cruise ship arrivals in the Caribbean?

(And by the way, I am not sure that Jamaica “has the most varied and developed attractions in the Caribbean.” I am not sure of that at all.)

We have modernized our airports, but so have other destinations!! The Grantley Adams Airport in Barbados is certainly a shining beacon in the region. The Piarco International Airport in Trinidad is also an outstanding one. The Bahamas is modernizing its airport, and that particular airport may well become among the most impressive in the region on completion.

In my opinion, the single most telling statement you made is the following: “If Jamaica can make the island safe for its people…and consequently safe for our visitors…these gains can be consolidated and the potential of the industry realized.” It would be hard to deny this!

Historian,

Jamaica is proving to be very competitive in tourism especially within the past 7-8 years.
                          Effective marketing and PR has long been an important part of the mix... but is a distant second in importance to recent infrastural improvements and investment in the product from both private and public sources.

The room count has increased by over 50% in that time period.... way stronger than any other major Caribbean destination....and among the world leaders in % room growth.
                          From just about 20,000 rooms to over 30,000...with many more planned & approved but stalled by the recession.
                          With more rooms and stronger hotel marketing groups....comes increased market reach.

Jamaica has been named among the top 10 favourite destinations worldwide...consistently in the past 8 years by recognized publications.

Jamaica has been named THE #1 Cruise Destination Worldwide several times recently.

Jamaica has the most varied and developed attractions in the entire Caribbean.

Jamaica has modernized its airports and seaports and built a highway connecting all its major resorts and attractions along the north coast. Without this we would never have attracted the massive recent investment in room stock.
                          These investments have also attracted more airline and cruise lines to start or increase service.

The above along with the unique culture of Jamaica and its celebrity appeal as a marketing brand....Bob, reggae, Bolt, jerk chicken, weed & rent a dread etc etc ... are the key reasons for our relative success.

If Jamaica can make the island safe for its people...and consequently safe for our visitors.... these gains can be consolidated and the potential of the industry realized.

Like the RBZ we should respect every competitor and plan for them...but fear no one.

Historian;180679]Don1, at a later date I’ll try and present a synopsis of what some regional tourism destinations are doing, and have already done, and the type of results obtained in terms of actual increase in tourist arrivals.
                            I eagerly await your analysis.

And by the way, I wasn’t fearing anyone. I’ve just grown tired of Jamaica’s tendency to “fear no one” while our problems continue to increase daily and the entities which we taunted our regional neighbours (Air Jamaica, etc. etc.) all come tumbling down one after the other. In making my post yesterday I was just making a point that in the same way that Jamaica is improving its tourism product, other regional competitors are doing the same, in several cases pumping even more investments into their improvements!

As far as the issue of recent investments in tourism is concerned....Jamaica is very competitive regionally...that was my point.

This does not mean necessarily that Jamaica has attracted more capital or is superior to every other destination in every aspect of tourism....just that we are very competitive.

You have presented a very comprehensive picture of developments in Jamaica’s tourism industry. The optimism is indeed infectious. The “problem”, nevertheless, is that while you’ve made a very good post (and, in terms of public relations, an unquestionably excellent one), the numbers in terms of tourist arrivals are still not terribly impressive compared to a decade ago!

My post wasn't PR related or focused....but was a statement of fact regarding the nature and type of recent investments in Jamaica's tourism product... which investments support the resilience of this sector in the recession.
                            The uninformed will attribute this resilience or growth to this or that personality who they favour.

I merely provide perspective.

Likewise, what is the point of being “named the #1 cruise destination worldwide several times” when we do not have the largest number of cruise ship arrivals in the Caribbean?

While it may be desirable for Jamaica to have the most cruise arrivals at any given point in time ...It is more important to have steady growth, a planned and appropriate support infrastructure, an attractive product as well as a strategic plan to optimize cruise in our product mix.

If that translates to Jamaica acquiring the "most arrivals"...so be it. But having the most arrivals is not necessarily the best goal.
                            Having the highest spend by cruisers may be superior.
                            This may mean a lower number but a higher spend/person..ie attracting higher net worth visitors.

Sometimes less is more....but we are clearly not there yet as far as the cruise sector is concerned.

(And by the way, I am not sure that Jamaica “has the most varied and developed attractions in the Caribbean.” I am not sure of that at all.)

If you can name a destination with more varied developed attractions... I would be happy to learn.
                            Jamaica is now exporting attraction development know how to regional competitors....I'm sure you know this.

We have modernized our airports, but so have other destinations!! The Grantley Adams Airport in Barbados is certainly a shining beacon in the region. The Piarco International Airport in Trinidad is also an outstanding one. The Bahamas is modernizing its airport, and that particular airport may well become among the most impressive in the region on completion.

Again... I stated that Jamaica is competitive... not necessarily superior. We have modern airports...our competitors have modern airports.

In my opinion, the single most telling statement you made is the following: “If Jamaica can make the island safe for its people…and consequently safe for our visitors…these gains can be consolidated and the potential of the industry realized.” It would be hard to deny this!

We agree here...that's the only way the benefits of tourism can really spread to the population...is if people feel free to move around and go anywhere to spend their money.

Garrison tourism is not sustainable.

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                              But do they have 2 international airports! aha!

i also wonder about those numbers and awards. it's like how we like to show off about having the 7th largest natural harbour in the world, quite an "achievement" when you consider the coastlines of many countries around the world. but other countries do what they do to get bigger and better harbours, natural or not! to be fair, Port Authority has done a good job expanding ours.