In case you don't know this is the mission statement of the JTB

"To develop and market the tourist industry

so that
    JAMAICA remains
    the premier Caribbean tourism destination”

So how the chairman get out of the Marketing responsiblity?

In case you don't know this is the mission statement of the JTB

"To develop and market the tourist industry

so that
      JAMAICA remains
      the premier Caribbean tourism destination”

So how the chairman get out of the Marketing responsiblity?
      I give up.

You are living testament to the adage: A LITTLE knowledge is a dangerous thing.

Nuff said.

Stop talking crap all exective of the JTB have a sales function and as the chief exective I am sure his job including selling.

You have reason to.

Again how can some incharge of the JTB not responsible for marketing?

Is it a part of his job or not?

He employ the advertisement firm and the agents but have no control over the marketing

thank god fi mi little knowledge.

You have reason to.

Again how can some incharge of the JTB not responsible for marketing?

Is it a part of his job or not?

He employ the advertisement firm and the agents but have no control over the marketing

thank god fi mi little knowledge.
            Wish you had at least as as much overstanding as you do knowledge.

The Chairman of the Board of the JTB does not have line responsibility for sales or marketing. The Chairman is not necessarily the Chief Executive or primary sales or marketing officer. That's not the job function.

The Director of Tourism (the CEO equivalent in the GOJ system) could be said to have responsibility for marketing...not the Chairman of the Board of the JTB.

These jobs were separated when Morrison was Chairman...however the new guy, John Lynch I understand both is Chairman of the Board and Director of the JTB...so his case is different from Morrison.

You need a refresher in Business 101.

You are both mistaken and hopelessly out of your depth here...quit while you are only so far behind.

Please.
            Last edited by Don1; August 13, 2009, 05:45 PM.

that is crock. You trying to make that up. The Chairman is responsible for marketing decisions, directly and inderectly. He choose agency and executives as well to enhance his business plan.

Who would he not be responsible when JTB is a marketing agency?

The Chairman is responsible for marketing decisions, directly and inderectly.
                Not even worth much comment. This speaks for itself.

He choose agency and executives as well to enhance his business plan.
                The Chairman chooses the PR or Ad agency of record? You are really wet behind the ears.
                You say this nonsense because your google search unearthed a press release quoting Morrison on the Ruder Finn appointment no doubt.

Pity google only transmits information...not understanding.

Who would he not be responsible when JTB is a marketing agency?
                By this one dimensional reasoning the Chairman of the Board of the National Solid Waste Management Agency would need to be a competent Garbage Man.

A useful reference of the duties of an organization's chair is below for your education. Note that Morrison was a non executive Chairman:

Chairman

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

The chairman is the highest office of an organized group such as a board, committee, or deliberative assembly. The person holding the office is typically elected or appointed by the members of the group. The chairman presides over meetings of the assembled group and conducts its business in an orderly fashion.[1] When the group is not in session, the chairman's duties often including acting as its head, its representative to the outside world and its spokesperson.
                The terms chair and chairperson are sometimes used to avoid the perceived sexism of "chairman"; chairwoman is sometimes used as a female counterpart to "chairman".[2][3] The National Association of Parliamentarians does not approve using "chairperson."[4]
                A vice chairman is sometimes chosen to be subordinate to and to serve in the absence of the chairman.[5] In the absence of the chairman and vice chairman, groups sometimes elect a chairman pro tem to fill the role for a single meeting.[1]
                Chairman has its origins in 10th century Kingdom of England, when the king or his spokesman sat alone in a chair before the group, who sat on benches or stood. Other terms sometimes used for the office and its holder include presiding officer, president, moderator, chair, and convener.[6][7][8] The chairman of a parliamentary chamber is often called the speaker.[9][10] In the United States, the presiding officer of the "lower" house of a legislative body, such as the U.S. House of Representatives, is frequently titled the Speaker, while the "upper" house, such as the U.S. Senate, is commonly chaired by a "President".
                Chair also refers to the place from which the holder of the office presides, whether on a chair, at a lectern, or elsewhere. During meetings, the person presiding is said to be “in the chair”. He or she is also referred to as “the chair.” Parliamentary procedure requires that members address the “chair” rather than the “chairman,” or by using a person's name. This is one of many customs aimed at maintaining the presiding officer's impartiality and insuring an objective and impersonal approach.[1]

//
                Corporate governance

This section does not cite any references or sources. Please help improve this article by adding citations to reliable sources. Unsourced material may be challenged and removed. (October 2008)A chairman is selected by a company's board to lead the board of directors, preside over meetings, and lead the board to consensus from the disparate points of view of its members. The chairman is the presiding director over the other directors on the board and is expected to be fair, a good listener, and a good communicator. Directors have a high level of fiduciary responsibility for overseeing the operation of a corporation. The term president is often used interchangeably with chairman, especially in the United States.

The CEO is the head of the management committee and usually reports to the board, which is headed by the chairman.
                In public companies, the role of the chairman of the board is distinct from that of the company's CEO or managing director. This point has more recently been brought into focus after corporate governance shortcomings were observed in companies where the two roles are combined. It is believed that the separation of functions within the board of directors or in the structure of the supervisory board and management board would facilitate control over the workings of the company and increase the accountability of the CEO or chairman of the management board. In an attempt to inject transparency into the relationship between executive management and the board of directors as well as between management and the market or shareholders, the UK Cadbury Report was published in 1992. Its recommendations have been adopted to a greater or lesser extent by some countries within the European Union and the United States, as well as by the World Bank.

[edit] Chairman of the Board types and their relation to the company management

In the case of companies and similarly-organized bodies, there are generally two types of Chairman: Non-executive and Executive.
                Non-executive Chairman of Board:
                • A part-time officeholder who sits on and chairs the main board of a company.
                • Provides support and advice to a CEO.
                • This position usually entails fulfilling a similar function on a number of additional board committees, as well as being a political figurehead of the Company.
                Executive Chairman of Board:
                • A full-time officeholder who typically leads the board and also takes a hands-on role in the company's day-to-day management.
                • Helps the CEO to oversee all the operational aspects involved in running the company, which include project planning and development delivery, retail and leasing, sales, market research and many other areas within their extensive scope.
                • Has overall responsibility for the company which involves engineering and controlling the company's current growth in and future expansion into international markets.
                • In addition, oversees all projects' development activities and related businesses of the company, generating significant financial returns for the shareholders and driving sustainable development.
                The chairman often sets the style of leadership of the board which in turn filters down through the organization.

No doubt you will respond with some misguided irrelevance.

My job here is done.

Nuff said.

Everybody know what a chairperson does and we know they are not involved in the day to day runnings.

Are you telling me the chairman has no responsiblity over marketing?????

ah bwoy, it make no sense we continue because your education level is way above mines.

What a great source Wiki?

Sorry, Don1, but at the risk of showing up my own naivete, I'm gonna side with Assasin on this one. Whether it's his assigned duty or not, I would like to think that the chair, exec or non-exec, would play some role in marketing in such an organisation. He may not be the chief marketeer, but...

The chairman is not going to be directly responsible for marketing and does not need to be good at selling. Corporate Governance should be his main focus. He will approve the CEOs plan and should have some form of strategic outlook, but certainly is not responsible for execution.

Dennis just love the one sided propaganda method and misinformation.

He is not directly responsible for it but isn't it part of his responsiblity as the head of JTB to make sure it is doing is job? The main purpose of the JTB is selling Jamaica's tourism.

You want tell me Bill Gates was not responsible for Microsoft's sales and position in the industry?

Perhaps, but Dennis is a better propagandist than he is a marketer!

Yes, that is why I said he should approve and have a strategic outlook.

At the same time execution comes down to the CEO. As none executive Chairman, Gates not into that anymore.

No doubt about that one.

Mo all I said was I don't think he did a good job at Marketing.
                                I know he is bias but I still read his columns and it provides some insight.