• Jamaica Tourism: Resilient in the face of Recession

A silver lining in the recessionary clouds
    Dennis Morrison, Contributor
    Investment activity in the Caribbean tourism sector has virtually ground to a halt since the onset of the current global economic recession.
    But in Jamaica, one exciting new resort project by Seawind Key Investment, a company owned by the Spanish group Fuerte Hotels, did get started in 2008. The US$180- million project, which is situated in the Montego Freeport at an ideal beachfront location, will create two 350-room hotels: Secrets St James and Secrets Wild Orchid.

The exclusive all-suite 700-room property, which is scheduled to open in March 2010, will be operated by AM Resorts, a prestigious United States leisure chain, and is expected to generate positive consumer appeal for the destination.

things fall apart
    Prior to the financial meltdown and the recession, the Caribbean region was enjoying robust inflows of foreign direct investment in tourism developments, and major new luxury resorts were in the pipeline in the Bahamas, Dominican Republic and Jamaica. Jamaica, which emerged in the 2000s as the leading mobiliser of investment, was poised for increased activity in 2007. But across the region developers have concentrated over the past year on completing existing projects while the majority of new resort developments have been deferred or cancelled.

In the 2003-2008 period, the development of new resorts proceeded at record pace in Jamaica with some 5,500 new rooms being added, of which 2,300 were opened in 2008. Projects involving another 4,000 rooms by Spanish hotel chains were also approved. The developers of these approved projects are yet to proceed to the construction stage and luxury resorts such as Harmony Cove have no doubt been affected by the downturn in the real estate and travel industries.

The hotels being developed by Fuerte Hotels at Montego Freeport are at an advanced stage of construction and will be the first to be run by AM Resorts in Jamaica. They will be operated under the company's Secrets Resorts and Spas luxury resort brand. AM Resorts operates hotels in Mexico and the Dominican Republic under its three unique resort lifestyles: Zoetry Wellness Resorts and Spas, Secrets Resorts and Spas and Dreams Resorts and Spas. It is connected to tour operators with long-standing exposure to Jamaica's tourist industry.

Secrets St James and Secrets Wild Orchid will be the third new resort to be developed in the tourism capital since the mid-2000s and will bring the number of new rooms to more than 2,400, excluding the luxury condominium by Palmyra Resorts & Spa which is nearing completion. This expansion in room capacity in Montego Bay is well timed to complement the development of the modern convention centre now under construction in the Rose Hall area. These investments, together with the modernisation of the Sangster International Airport, convenient air connections, highway development and other infrastructure, have reinvigorated the city's standing as a leading Caribbean resort destination and enhanced its attractiveness in the market for meetings and conventions.

The Seawind Key Investment project has created 1,500 jobs during construction in a period when employment opportunities have been hard to find and will employ 1,000 persons when in operation. Fuerte Hotels, which has developed the project, owns six resort hotels on the southern coast of Spain.

yuh firs' 'sass!!

heh heh!

yuh firs' 'sass!!

you love lick first, you sure you can stand up to the challenge?

Dennis Morrisson is a good man, does good economic analysis but was not a good director. Short on the selling side.

Notice the article nuh mention nothing bout that? Buil it and they will come.

Dennis Morrisson is a good man, does good economic analysis but was not a good director. Short on the selling side.

Notice the article nuh mention nothing bout that? Buil it and they will come.
              He had a sales job?

What specifically was the fellow short on? What does short on the selling side mean?

Help us out on that.

JTB director is not a sales job?

or you call it marketing"|?

They were lucky to get a ex-Jampro executive to head the local dev company..

Heh, heh..

Iraq Minister of Information under Saddam had nothing on Dennis in his prime..

LOL !

JTB director is not a sales job?

or you call it marketing"|?
                      It's news to me that he was JTB Director.... and thereby had a strategic marketing function.... sales as you call it.

Perhaps you need to do additional homework.... when you do I will gladly accept your contrition for your misinformation and consequent errant analysis.
                      Last edited by Don1; August 13, 2009, 09:58 AM.

OK he was Chairman, not Director.
                        Big deal.

OK he was Chairman, not Director.
                          Big deal.
                          Yes it's a big deal...It means your entire argument is without merit.

Morrison was Director of JTB...wrong

Morrisson had a sales function...wrong

Morrison was bad at sales.... wrong..since he had no sales function as Chairman.

When one is so comprehensively and demonstrably on the wrong path.... a likkle contrition is indicated.

now for one of his not so snappy attempts at a comeback 10, 9, 8, 7, 6 ......
                          Last edited by Don1; August 13, 2009, 11:24 AM.

Stop talking crap all exective of the JTB have a sales function and as the chief exective I am sure his job including selling.

What do you make of this?

JTB hires new PR agencies overseas
                              published: Saturday | November 1, 2003

By Al Edwards, Business Co-ordinator</I>
                              THE JAMAICA Tourist Board (JTB) has contracted the services of two agencies, Ruder Finn which is based in the United States and Financial Dynamics International (FDI), from the United Kingdom, to handle its international communications.
                              The announcement was made at the JTB's Fall Forum on Tourism held at the Hilton Kingston Hotel yesterday.
                              Ruder Finn has been appointed to undertake public relations functions on behalf of the JTB in the United States, Canada and Latin America while Financial Dynamics will have responsibility for the United Kingdom and other parts of Europe.
                              "Both Ruder Finn and Financial Dynamics are ranked among the top international companies in the field of communications, bringing to the Jamaican account outstanding track records among numerous and diverse clients. These agencies are equipped to provide optimum support in our marketing efforts worldwide," said Paul Pennicook, Jamaica Tourist Board director.
                              "As we embark on an exciting era in the development of tourism in Jamaica we are confident that we have acquired the best teams for the job and believe that their dynamism will strengthen the growth that Jamaica has been experiencing so far."
                              Ruder Film is a leading communications, counselling and services agency with more than 55 years' experience. President of the Ruder Finn/Americas is Michael Funess while the Jamaica account is headed by Gail Moaney, Executive Vice President and Director of the Travel and Tourism practice.
                              "Our goal is to help the country maintain and increase its edge as one of theCaribbean's leading tourism destinations. We will also work with the ministries who are substantively addressing the current challenges facing Jamaica," Ms. Moaney said. Ruder Finn served the Jamaica account in the 1980's for six years.
                              In addition to offering full communication services, the account will also see Financial Dynamics implement a range of high impact consumer campaigns in key European territories.
                              "The JTB is an exciting account. Our challenge is to introduce new and alternative issues, broadening the island's appeal and show consumers Jamaica's rich cultural diversity. We will challenge tourists to think again about Jamaica, and drive holiday bookings," said Rebecca Ellis-Owen, account director.
                              Financial Dynamics advises a range of clients spanning a number of disciplines in the tourism sector. These include airline operators, hoteliers, travel companies, travel and information providers, retail and entertainment venues, and operators.
                              Addressing the Forum, the chairman of the JTB, Dennis Morrison, said that efforts to re-organise the JTB were well advanced with certain efficiencies being put in place. He said the aim was to create a leaner body and to broaden the perception of Jamaica's tourism product from one of an all-inclusive/couples only destination to incorporate all that the country has to offer.

More Lead Stories | E-mail this story | Print this